Primus Classic Trail Stove

Closeouts. The Primus Classic trail stove is the ideal compact cooking/boiling system for lightweight backpacking.

Average Rating based on 25 reviews 4.720000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-25 of 25 reviews
  • Reviewed by PeteMcC from Raleigh on Thursday, September 05, 2013
    Does not pack down as small as the express or micro models
    boils water fast.
  • Reviewed by avid hiker from Here on Wednesday, September 04, 2013
    For the money, there is no second best. Have had it less than one year, and can't comment on its durability, but so far it's worked every time I have put it to use.
  • Reviewed by rraine from nevada on Thursday, August 01, 2013
    great little stove, a little heavy for backpacking. overall, a great buy..
  • Reviewed by costa buyer from Oklahoma on Monday, July 08, 2013
    Works perfectly. Sturdy packs fairly small. There are smaller ones, but this was stable and cheap. Can't beat it for the price.
  • Reviewed by Colinsdad from Longmeadow Massachusetts on Sunday, July 07, 2013
    I wasn't sure what to expect this product, as manufacturers make all sorts of wild claims about the efficacy lightness and ease of use of their products. But, I had yet to own a Primus product, so, with the clearance price I gave it a shot. I am very glad I did ! I spent the weekend hiking Mount Greylock on the Appalachian Trail , and was pleasantly surprised with the light weight and performance of this product. In fact this will boil 32 ounces of water in just about a minute, and, with one of Primus 32 is pots, it made the perfect camping cooking combo. A nice plus was that the stove nestled perfectly inside the pot for easy packing. One caveat to users is that this thing can eat up isobutane canisters quick, if you're not careful. All in all a very very great price on an excellent product !
  • Reviewed by SB from Ca on Wednesday, July 03, 2013
    Best buy I've made adding to my gear collection. This bad dog rocks. I have an MSR x-gk, and a whisperlite, Performance is similar except ridiculously immediate in terms of firing. Turn knob, light. No priming, sputtering, blah blah. And the $ was a steal.
  • Reviewed by jay from taranaki on Thursday, May 09, 2013
    im so pleased with my primus cooker ,its so compact and light yet when its in action it heats like a gas burner on my large stove,doesnt take a minute too heat up our hommade soup which is consistency thick ,ihave had primus before and the stove lasted 20years plus
  • Reviewed by Outdoorguy from Central US on Wednesday, May 08, 2013
    have a bunch of these, have giv4n them to my kids, and keep some at the mtn house and some in my travel pack at home. Use em all over the world, fuel is readily available. they weigh noting and put out hot fire.
  • Reviewed by blegato from Washington on Tuesday, May 07, 2013
    This thing does what a jet boil can't and that's exactly why I bought it. It has excellent temp. control for all your primal outdoor adventure cooking needs, will boil water almost as quickly as the, I do one job very well, Jet boil, yet at the same time understands you may be a broke college student so it sips the fuel at half throttle or less. It settles somewhere between the light to the moderately light range, though to some 8 ounces might as well be 10 pounds......freaking whiners. My only wish (not complaint) is for it to be a little more compact-able so it could keep my jet boil burner company. (If only it contorted like a Ukranian gymnast). But all in all you can't go wrong. Minimal moving parts=more piece of mind in the " Oh good, it's Fubar, what do I do now?" department. Bottom line: If your on the fence about, just buy it already, you'll be happier than sunshine on John Denver's shoulder.
  • Reviewed by Mawree from Montana on Saturday, April 27, 2013
    I used this stove during a week long camping trip in Moab. We used the stove to cook 1-2 meals per day, plus coffee, and went through 2 canisters of fuel in 8 days. The stove is not "ultralight" by any means, but it is compact and light enough for my needs. I used large pots and skillets with it and they were stable. The stove performed well in moderate winds, and never blew out. Fuel canisters are inexpensive. It is easy to assemble and disassemble, easy to light, and does a great job cooking bacon. Overall, for the price, this is the greatest camping gear purchase I've ever made.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lars from North Carolina on Monday, February 25, 2013
    Use two under a grill/griddle for group cooking on moto- or kayak camping trips.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rayman from Columbus, OH on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    Only one outing so far, but the stove performed flawlessly. Very stable with a 1L pot on it and it boiled quickly and was relatively easy to adjust. It takes a small hit in that the adustment knob could be a little longer to allow easier access. There are lighter and more compact competitors out there, but for the price this is an excellent stove and I look forward to many more outings with it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Leatherneck Nick from NJ & CO on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    great stove. doesn't take up any space great on short or long trips. as with any primus products EXCELLENT quality. used it on two recent trips without a problem and use it occasionally to heat up soup at work off my tailgate. just needs a wind break.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by FlyFloater1 from St. Louis, MO on Sunday, February 03, 2013
    I use this mostly for kayaking overnight. The burner is the size of a range top burner and can simmer. I much prefer this to my Pocket Rocket for cooking.
    I've had no problems with it. In fact I don't believe I've ever seen a negative review for this stove. They just work.

    It's on the heavy end of backpacking stoves, but I don't use it for backpacking, so this isn't a concern.
  • Reviewed by Ed Decoppahead from Long Island, NY on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    This is a little heavy for backpacking for those looking to shave ounces, but for car camping or tailgating, it's perfect. Good for emergency use, too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by natureguy247 from Tucson, AZ on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    I have owned a few good compact stoves over the years but this little guy is primo !
    • Best Uses: Backcountry Camping, Day hikes, Day trips, Emergency Home Use
    • Pros: Compact, I Own One, Reliable, Weight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the bike chemist from Wayne, NJ on Monday, September 03, 2012
    This is easy to use. Screws right onto a small propane tank. The cross grate allows for all sizes of pots or pans without it wabbling. Allows for use of smaller egg poacher without falling through.
    • Best Uses: Camping, Power Outage
    • Pros: Compact, Easy to use, For All Pots And Pans
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by scientist from San Jose, CA on Monday, July 09, 2012
    This was my first camp stove to take when camping/backpacking alone or with one other person. So far it has been reliable (and it's so easy to use). It's sturdier than I expected and when on even ground, can handle the weight of a wide fry pan or pot without any trouble, as well as balance a small carafe for coffee oer the burner. So far, I love this stove.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping, Long day hiking
  • Reviewed by The Camper from Seattle WA on Tuesday, June 26, 2012
    I have owned this stove for over five years and it still works great. I use it on 4 or 5 backpacking trips each year. It heats up the food much better than some other, and much more expensive, stoves since the burner is pretty large.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Lightweight, Reliable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Maple City on Wednesday, May 02, 2012
    Great buy.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Motorcycle camping
    • Cons: Could fold smaller
    • Pros: cheap, Light, Small
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by benny9898 from Portland Oregon on Friday, April 13, 2012
    Good Value. Basic gas stove for backpacking or hiking
  • Reviewed by TJ from Southern California on Tuesday, April 03, 2012
    This is another in a long line of examples of why STP is my favorite, and actually only, online shopping site. I was checking out this stove at a brick and mortar outdoor retailer and almost pulled the trigger before I decided to see if it was carried by STP. Not sure about you but if I can pay half the cost for the same product I will.

    This stove delivers on every level. Excellent, powerful flame, super easy set-up and compact. It doesn't have a windscreen but I haven't had a problem with it extinguishing because of gusts yet. And when I do...that's what rocks are for. There are much more expensive stoves out there with all the bells and whistles but if your stove needs fall squarely on the ability to create a strong flame then this is your choice.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Motorcycle camper from Lufkin, TX on Monday, March 12, 2012
    I haven't used this stove yet, but I did light it to see if it would work. It lit instantly. I bought this to take motorcycle camping this May and its relatively small pack size and good flame distribution are what attracted me. I did not want a stove that had a focused, jet-like flame because I was interested in more cooking other than heating water for MRE's. The burner on this stove is similar to that on a propane camp stove.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Light car camping, Motorcycle camping
    • Cons: None so far
    • Pros: Compact, Easy to use, Well-distributed flame
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rick from Connecticut on Friday, March 09, 2012
    I like this stove! Well made and compact and easy to assemble. I am looking forward to using this stove on an 3 day hike in New Hampshire's White Mountains.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Lakewood CO on Thursday, March 01, 2012
    This stove is great for real cooking wide flame allows to cook things without that extra hot center. While it boils water a little slower than some other stoves it is all around a great stove.
    • Cons: Boils water a little slow
    • Pros: Easy to use, Flame very adustable, Light
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-25 of 25 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #