Primus Classic Trail Stove

Closeouts. The Primus Classic trail stove is the ideal compact cooking/boiling system for lightweight backpacking.

Average Rating based on 25 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
  • Reviewed by PeteMcC from Raleigh on Thursday, September 5, 2013
    Does not pack down as small as the express or micro models
    boils water fast.
  • Reviewed by avid hiker from Here on Wednesday, September 4, 2013
    For the money, there is no second best. Have had it less than one year, and can't comment on its durability, but so far it's worked every time I have put it to use.
  • Reviewed by rraine from nevada on Thursday, August 1, 2013
    great little stove, a little heavy for backpacking. overall, a great buy..
  • Reviewed by ktmking from Oklahoma on Monday, July 8, 2013
    Works perfectly. Sturdy packs fairly small. There are smaller ones, but this was stable and cheap. Can't beat it for the price.
  • Reviewed by Colinsdad from Longmeadow Massachusetts on Sunday, July 7, 2013
    I wasn't sure what to expect this product, as manufacturers make all sorts of wild claims about the efficacy lightness and ease of use of their products. But, I had yet to own a Primus product, so, with the clearance price I gave it a shot. I am very glad I did ! I spent the weekend hiking Mount Greylock on the Appalachian Trail , and was pleasantly surprised with the light weight and performance of this product. In fact this will boil 32 ounces of water in just about a minute, and, with one of Primus 32 is pots, it made the perfect camping cooking combo. A nice plus was that the stove nestled perfectly inside the pot for easy packing. One caveat to users is that this thing can eat up isobutane canisters quick, if you're not careful. All in all a very very great price on an excellent product !
  • Reviewed by SB from Ca on Wednesday, July 3, 2013
    Best buy I've made adding to my gear collection. This bad dog rocks. I have an MSR x-gk, and a whisperlite, Performance is similar except ridiculously immediate in terms of firing. Turn knob, light. No priming, sputtering, blah blah. And the $ was a steal.
  • Reviewed by jay from taranaki on Thursday, May 9, 2013
    im so pleased with my primus cooker ,its so compact and light yet when its in action it heats like a gas burner on my large stove,doesnt take a minute too heat up our hommade soup which is consistency thick ,ihave had primus before and the stove lasted 20years plus
  • Reviewed by Outdoorguy from Central US on Wednesday, May 8, 2013
    have a bunch of these, have giv4n them to my kids, and keep some at the mtn house and some in my travel pack at home. Use em all over the world, fuel is readily available. they weigh noting and put out hot fire.
  • Reviewed by blegato from Washington on Tuesday, May 7, 2013
    This thing does what a jet boil can't and that's exactly why I bought it. It has excellent temp. control for all your primal outdoor adventure cooking needs, will boil water almost as quickly as the, I do one job very well, Jet boil, yet at the same time understands you may be a broke college student so it sips the fuel at half throttle or less. It settles somewhere between the light to the moderately light range, though to some 8 ounces might as well be 10 pounds......freaking whiners. My only wish (not complaint) is for it to be a little more compact-able so it could keep my jet boil burner company. (If only it contorted like a Ukranian gymnast). But all in all you can't go wrong. Minimal moving parts=more piece of mind in the " Oh good, it's Fubar, what do I do now?" department. Bottom line: If your on the fence about, just buy it already, you'll be happier than sunshine on John Denver's shoulder.
  • Reviewed by Mawree from Montana on Saturday, April 27, 2013
    I used this stove during a week long camping trip in Moab. We used the stove to cook 1-2 meals per day, plus coffee, and went through 2 canisters of fuel in 8 days. The stove is not "ultralight" by any means, but it is compact and light enough for my needs. I used large pots and skillets with it and they were stable. The stove performed well in moderate winds, and never blew out. Fuel canisters are inexpensive. It is easy to assemble and disassemble, easy to light, and does a great job cooking bacon. Overall, for the price, this is the greatest camping gear purchase I've ever made.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.