Primus EtaPacklite Stove - 1.2L Pot

Closeouts. Enjoy hot meals fast when you're miles from the nearest takeout with Primus' EtaPacklite stove. It earns its name with a lightweight, easily collapsible design, a fuel-efficient pot and a reliable piezo igniter.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by Rick from Jordan, MN on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    This is a great stove. All of the components supplied appear sturdy and built to last. The plastic bowls seem a little less robust but what can you expect from plastic. Unfortunately when the stove arrived I noticed the peizo lighter was bent to the point that it touched the burner. No problem I though, I just bent it out a little so that it would spark. Yes, I got a spark but it would not light the stove. Not a big deal as I had planned on always having a lighter with me anyway. Its just disappointing to get a defective product(- 1 star). I may have returned it on STPs dime for a new one but they are out of stock and, like I said, it is not a deal breaker. And, this is a stove I will want to keep. I have not camped with it yet but a trial in my backyard heated up a liter of water in about 2 minutes. I like the fact that everything nests inside the pot and then into the supplied net bag. One last thing. Having not used or considered a butane canister stove before I had no idea how expensive and hard to find these canisters are. Yes, you can find them on the internet but you are gouged on price. I finally found the standard sized Coleman canister at Walmart for half the internet price.
  • Reviewed by Alabama hiker from Alabama on Sunday, June 02, 2013
    Just came back from a 4-day trip in the Smokys with this stove. Used it for boiling water to rehydrate meals for 4 hikers at breakfast and dinner each day. Also used it to simmer some desserts (side note...Backcountry Pantry Hot Apple Cobbler is amazing). This stove performed flawlessly except for one evening when the piezo igniter would not work. i got a spark but no flame...weird. Other than that it would light right up every time, but bring matches along (as you should anyways). the windscreen worked great and really did a good job in some gusty wind conditions typical on the AT in the Smokys. In fact I was able to simmer at extremely low heat in windy conditions with no problems at all. The pot with the heat exchanger works as advertised...boils very quickly which is great for saving the fuel. If you get the 2L Eta pot (as I did) note that the base of the 2L pot is too large a diameter to fit on this stove with the windscreen in place. Works fine without the windscreen. The stove packs up very nicely and everything stays put. No problems with getting the windscreen inside the plastic bowl that fits inside the pot. I am extremely satisfied with this purchase and with a coupon you will get a super bargain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mr. Rotch from Durango, co on Tuesday, February 05, 2013
    This thing melts snow way faster than a jetboil, and can simmer your Alfredo without burning it. Combine that with a preheat coil for cold weather inverted cannister use, and a base that gives a low center of gravity, and you have a very versatile piece of gear. Highly recomended
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adam from Bay Area, CA on Tuesday, December 18, 2012
    I have not used this particular stove outside yet, as Yosemite has been drenched on weekends, but it has an apparent hardy structure and compactedness that is very important for something on which I depend so much. The only part I can currently identify as prone to casual breaking are the pot holders - but TLC should solve that problem.

    The only downside is that the stove does not work well in higher altitudes. The highest I go on a regular basis is Tuolumne, and would doubtfully ever need to boil on the top of a peak, so this stove is perfect for me. It is also slightly bulky, but you can shave off a lot of pot components if you're looking for something taking up less space. Regardless, it weighs next to nothing.
  • Reviewed by Hammond Beans from Riverside, CA on Saturday, December 08, 2012
    Backpacking stoves are notorious for scorching the center of pans in a blowtorch-like fashion. This may do if your aim is to boil water, but I prefer to cook fresh foods when on short weekend trips. To this end, the Primus performed adequately, if not better than most. While there was a noticeable hot spot, I was still able to prepare a respectable meal of pancakes and eggs in skillet I'd purchased separately. Precise flame adjustment can be a bit tricky however, as the valve does have some play in it. On the downside, there is no skillet in the kit, and the plastic lid is impractical to use while cooking. As far as stowage is concerned, the aluminum wind screen adds some annoying extra bulk. While it is possible to partially coil the screen so that it fits compactly into the bowl along with the stove, great care must be exercised to avoid damaging it. In the end, I found it easier to leave it outside the bowl. Overall however, the Eta Packlite is a good practical stove at a great price, offering performance equaling or exceeding that of higher priced competing models.
  • Reviewed by Ranger Rick from Nevada on Monday, October 22, 2012
    I own two of these units with one having received considerable use, and they are very efficient and reasonable weight. It is a good design but as is so often the case with this type igniter unit the igniter failed on both. One failed the very first time the button was pressed; it stuck and can't be released. So don't count on the igniter working for any real length of time. Other than that I'd highly recommend the unit. It is expensive at retail or even STPs discount price so best to wait for a coupon sale.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping
    • Cons: Expensive At Retail Price, Heavy For Single Packing, Igniter Fails
    • Pros: Perfect for two, Very Efficient, Works Well In High Winds
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Catman from Ky on Friday, October 19, 2012
    backpacking
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ridgerunner from Knoxville, TN on Wednesday, August 01, 2012
    Cooking System works great. Very packable and functional. Why pay more for the Jet Broil, when this one gets the job done. Quality of construction is excellent. Highly Recommended.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Kayaking Camping
    • Pros: Lightweight, packable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ridgerunner from Knoxville, TN on Wednesday, August 01, 2012
    Very nice stove system. Quality construction and functional for the backcountry. Packs well. Also simmers. Pot size at 1.2 Liters in convenient, can have enough water for two dehydrated camp meals and coffee or tea. Highly recommended.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Kayak camping
    • Pros: Functional, Lightweight, Quality construction
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.