Quantum Catalyst PTiC Spinning Reel

Closeouts. With a smooth-casting design, dependable drag and outstanding cranking power, Quantum Catalyst's PTiC spinning reel offers tournament caliber technologies and a long list of quality components at an affordable price.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Polar Pinoy from ND on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    Been using the 20 this spring! Can't say nothing but goo reviews in the quality and durability of this reel. My only gripe would be the weight, but the quality, price, and durability exceeds the later!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Buckeye4x4 from Central Ohio on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    I have bought two of these reels as they are a great deal. They are smooth as silk, have excellent
    gearing, and an extra spool.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pete of P'town from Mass. on Friday, April 4, 2014
    This reel of high quality was a steal at about $65 from STP. This is a serious fisherman's, solid reel





  • Reviewed by Ridge Runner from Knoxville, TN on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    Nice reel. A little heavy for the price, but reels smoothly.
  • Reviewed by Beagle Man from TN on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    Great Reel, Great price as always. Thanks Sierra
  • Reviewed by Live2Fish68 from PA on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    Well made and smooth, right size for many applications.
  • Reviewed by BT from California on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    Smooth reel and with 2 spools it is a great deal. I have had a few other Quantum and this is a better reel than them all.
  • Reviewed by Bluegrass Shopper from Bluegrass Country, Kentucky on Tuesday, February 11, 2014

    I purchased one of these to go with the Temple Fork Outfitters Gary Loomis Saltwater Spinning Rod- 1-Piece (on sale at STP). I now have a perfectly balanced combo. This is a great reel and with the additional discount, is a great value.
  • Reviewed by jperrewe from fenwick on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    I purchased 2 of the #30 size reels to handle some heavier fishing duties. I already own 2 #20 size and 5 #10 size Quantum Catalyst reels (older models) so I was confident in the construction and quality - the PTiC was last years model and did not disappoint. Well designed and solid build. FYI - the #30 size does not have an anti reverse switch, it is always in anti reverse so there is no back reeling. Improved drag over past models and the #30 gives me more drag power than the #20's as well as more line capacity which is what I was looking for. Currently spooled the reels with 30lb. power pro with 10# fluorocarbon leader. This reel handles the line extremely well and could easily handle 50 to 60 lb braided line. The physical size of the reel is marginally bigger than my older #20 size but is equal if not lighter in weight. Paired on a 6'6" Fenwick rod the balance is very good. I am able to fish 1/8 ounce jigs to 5/8 ounce with ease and could go up to 3/4 ounce if needed. Overall a great reel at a great close out price from Sierra Trading Post. Better Hurry....
  • Reviewed by FlyfishUT from Vernal, UT on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    Feels like a good real. I have fished Quantum's before and they have all been great.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.