Raichle Mountain Crest Gore-Tex® Hiking Boots - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Whether you’re schlepping through the mud or skirting the mountain peak, Raichle’s Mountain Crest waterproof hiking boots keep your feet dry and totally protected from outside conditions with a waterproof breathable Gore-Tex® membrane. Integrated Motion Control system ensures great flexibility and strong lateral support to keep you moving.

  • Nubuck upper
  • Removable insole
  • Rubber toe cap
  • Vibram® rubber outsole
  • Heel: 1-½”
  • Height: 5-¼”
  • Weight: 3 lb. 12 oz. pr.
  • Medium width
  • Closeouts. Romania.
  • Sizing is UK see conversion chart below.
  • Size UK(US): 6(7) (7½) 7(8) (8½) 8(9) (9½) 9(10) (10½) 10(11) 10½(11½) 11(12) 11½(12½) 12(13) 13(14) 14(15)
  • Runs small, order ½ size larger.
  • Visit our Hiking Footwear Guide
  • Visit our Shoe Sizing Guide

Average Rating based on 20 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by none from Ohio on Saturday, December 04, 2010
    This is a great hiking boot. No break in period and very comfortable. I wish all OEM hiking boots upgraded the laces so that stay tied and did not need double knotting. This is not a complaint for this boot but all boots.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, No Break-in, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ddude from Benton City, Wa on Monday, July 19, 2010
    My first hike with these right out of the box was 14 miles with 45 pounds. Foot beds were less than desired and I did get a couple of blisters. Since this hike I changed the foot beds and have been wearing them around to help break them in. Much more comfortable with the new foot beds. I like the way the feel and am looking forward to my next hike with them.
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rosie from Suquamish, WA on Monday, May 24, 2010
    Required some break in. Have high arch, so needed some added height. Wide toe box for wonderful freedom of the little piggies. Use everyday in landscaping. Love the fact my feet are comfy, cozy, & dry after slogging through the mud, rocks, and wet grass throughout the day! Tounge gussets are a wee bit too short to keep out all the weed & dirt debris. Really like how shoe design & laces can lock down my heels, which are narrow, yet let the tops open up & relax.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Everyday, Heavy Loads, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: True to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by thunder thighs 1 from Aims, Oregon on Wednesday, December 09, 2009
    I'm a female, usually a size 8, and the men's 6.5 fits me perfectly. I've used these hiking and snowshoeing and had nice warm dry feet at the end of ten miles. Even stepped in the water doing a river crossing. Lots of room in the toe box and instep. No heel rise. I'm trying another pair with the glove leather lining. Buy these boots!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small, Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Day hiker from Western Massachusetts on Tuesday, December 08, 2009
    No break in needed with these boots. I've had other Raichle boots that came apart after a year, but these look like they have paid attention to an apparent design flaw--the outer sides are one piece now instead of several layers glued together.

    I just wish they'd put a little more thought into a better insert.
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Light Loads, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Lackluster inserts
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Reviewed by Lev from East Lansing, MI on Tuesday, October 27, 2009
    I have bought one pair almost a month ago. I fell in love with them when I firs saw a pair in Romania (country of manufacturing). Provides lots of support (I have ankle problems and it really helps), it is not too heavy and very warm even with light socks (can't wait to try them out in real winter conditions). Overall I am satisfied with the purchase and I hope that they will last long and serve me well. The only thing that is not so great about it is the color: light gray.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather
    • Cons: Squeak
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Arch Support, Great Traction, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Geologist&Mom from South Central Indiana on Thursday, October 15, 2009
    These are heavy duty boots - stiff, but big on support. I have weak ankles and low arches and need the stiff soles and a lot of ankle support. They are roomy enough to accommodate my orthotics if I take out the existing foot bed. I like the leather lining - it is very soft and it took very little time to break them in. They do squeak a little, but this has diminished during the breaking-in process. This is my second pair of Raichle boots. My first pair lasted 8 years and this second pair seems to be as comfortable and well made as the first. I am very pleased.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Squeak
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational, Environmentalist
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by newtrout from Ellensburg, WA on Monday, October 05, 2009
    I was a huge fan of the original REI Spirit. The newer versions never fit the same, and now they've stopped making them altogether. The Raichle Mountain Crest seems to be the same boot as the second version of the REI Spirit. They are one of the few boots that I can wear right out of the box. They are extremely comfortable, fairly durable, and a 'do it all' boot for me. I've used them with crampons, on 20-mile day hikes, and trips with a 40 lb pack.
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable/No Break-In, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sasquatch from Sault Ste. Marie Canada on Sunday, September 27, 2009
    My second hike with the new books was down a path of sharp rocks and uneven terrain. I felt total confidence in the boots and the sharp stones were not a problem on the feet. Walking later on a rocky shoreline, the boots preformed well giving me lateral support and less fatigue when walking on loose rock. At the end of the 4 hour hike over a variety of terrain my feet felt great. Time will tell on longevity...
    • Best Uses: Great on uneven terrain, Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational, Environmentalist, Like to go wherever
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Arch Support, Comfortable/No Break-In, Flexible, Good fitgreat on rocks, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hiker Burt from Rochester, New York on Thursday, September 24, 2009
    As I said, these are very well made boots. Stiff, but after break in they should be great. I am happy with my choice.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Heavy, Long Break-in, Too Stiff/Not Flexible
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 20 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.