Redington CPX Switch Fishing Rod with Tube - 4-Piece, 10'6"

Closeouts. A high-performance fast-action, 4-piece fishing rod, Redington's CPX Switch Rod features a lightweight, durable Toray Graphite blank with a premium Portuguese cork grip.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by Mike from VA on Sunday, February 02, 2014
    I can't wait to test the rod out this spring on steelhead. I own other Redington products and you cant beat the warranty or quality for the money. Switch rod revolucion'

    Keep on passing on the great sales to us STP.
  • Reviewed by Bill W from Chicago on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    Haven't been out on the water with this rod yet, but finish is beautiful and it feels great in hand.
  • Reviewed by mmc from TOKYO on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    It is the best performance to be able to buy at this price.
  • Reviewed by FlyFisher1 from Bend, OR on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    I had used the 8 weight version of this rod and liked it quite well. But, the lighter 7 weight was my preference, so I was pleased to see STP have this model available. These rods are well made, cast like powerfuly and are a pleasure to use. I use them for spey casting; they are a bit much for me to use for very long overhead casting - but I'm scrawny. The reviews for this rod series on the web are strongly positive, and I would certainly agree.
  • Reviewed by Graybeard from Ohio on Monday, December 02, 2013
    Great little rod. I got the 5wt and use it for trout but also for Great Lakes steelhead. A true challenge to get a steelie on a 5 wt but FUN! Nice rod and great price. Service was also very good on delivery.
  • Reviewed by CLSports from Philadelphia on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    This rod is quality from top to bottom. I used it for the first time for steelhead and it enabled me to cast distances of 60-70 feet with ease. I bought the 11'-3" 7 wt rod and I must say it is one of my favorite rods!
  • Reviewed by PickyFlyGuy from West Coast on Thursday, November 07, 2013
    This is a fun little switch rod. Got the 11' 3" 7 weight and tried it with a variety of single hand lines for overhead, and a Wulff Ambush line plus various lengths of sinking heads (T-11 mainly), for roll casting and skagit casting. It is very very versatile. Pretty light in hand compared to the 8w version which I believe is more of a dedicated steelhead stick. Plan to use this for big trout, summer run steelhead, and maybe even smaller saltwater species - thinking about surf perch off the beach, pompano, schoolie stripers. I think I got my money's worth here at STP. Would have picked up the 8w too but my wife might kill me. Minor issue: one or two guides on tip section(s) are slightly misaligned - I mean slightly. Casts fine though.
  • Reviewed by utahpete from UT/WY on Thursday, November 01, 2012
    Didn't really need another rod , but couldn't pass up the price. Noticeably faster, lighter and higher quality than my cheap switch rod at about the same price. Lined with a Beulah 300gr elixir switch line on a Orvis access V make a great casting combination. Single or double spey casts , or overheads are a breeze , and the rod has the backbone to land big trout.
    • Pros: Nice build quality, Really light weight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by FlyFisher1 from Bend OR on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
    After reading so many positive reviews, I had to to give this Redington 8 wt. Switch Rod a try. I would have preferred a 7 wt., but the STP price was too good to pass up. On river test casting only so far, but with an Airflo Rage 420 grain head, this rod is light and easy to spey cast with reasonable distance achieved with minimal effort. I'm eager to see how it handles our Oregon steelhead. Here's hoping!
    • Best Uses: Floating Line Steelhead
    • Pros: Easy to handle, Excellent Value, Fluid Casting, Well Made
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.