Customer Reviews Of:
Redington Surge Fly Fishing Reel - Pre Spooled

Closeouts. Experience the adrenaline surge of striking fish with Redington's Surge fly fishing reel, engineered with an incredibly strong and smooth disc drag for amazing fish stopping power.

Average Rating based on 31 reviews 4.354838 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Reviewed by Mr Fred from Chesterfield MO on Friday, March 14, 2014
    This is a great reel especially for the price. The line alone would cost $40. Great beginner/intermediate reel.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tele636 from Seattle on Thursday, February 7, 2013
    Works well with nice fit and finish for the price! Good reel for intermediate fisher!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Matt O. from Birmingham, AL on Thursday, February 7, 2013
    I have not used this yet, but the fit and finish are very nice. The RIO 6wt line sells for about what I paid for the entire setup. Can't beat STP deals. I was just shopping for a spare spool, but this reel fully setup was actually cheaper.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve R from Seattle on Tuesday, December 18, 2012
    Other than the minor inconvenience of needing to rewind the spool the other way, this is a fantastic reel for the money! Very smooth reeling and great drag. Very simple to switch from left to right hand reel operation.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by iblectric from Thornton Co. on Thursday, September 27, 2012
    The rod has great action. Was on the river and had no problems even in the wind.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, River Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Durable, Easy Casting, Line Doesn't Tangle, Reliable, Smooth Drag System, Smooth Reeling
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JakeJayHawk from KS from Overland Park, KS on Wednesday, September 12, 2012
    I am a beginner Fly Fisherman & this is just what I was looking for. 6wt prespooled with leader ready to fish out of box. Placed on 9' 6wt rod & started casting in yard & very impressed with it. I would buy another reel if available in 3/4wt. Very good price from STP.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, Shore Casting, Wading Streams
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Easy Casting, Reliable, Smooth Drag System, Smooth Reeling
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Willy from South Dakota on Saturday, August 4, 2012
    The real was recommended to me by an friend of mine - who is an avid fly fishermen. Now that I have used the real a few times I am very happy with it. It is smooth and reals well. I have caught crappie, bluegill, bass and trout with it.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Durable, Easy Casting, Line Doesn't Tangle, Reliable, Smooth Drag System, Smooth Reeling
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DT TD from Bay Area, CA on Tuesday, July 24, 2012
    This was perfect for a beginner like me, works just as well as my friends fancier reel and I couldn't tell the difference. If you're just starting out, this is a great deal!
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Durable, Easy Casting, Smooth Drag System, Smooth Reeling
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by JP from Laramie, Wy on Sunday, July 15, 2012
    Put this 5wt on a 4 pc Powell 9' 4wt. rod. A very good combination. Like the drag, line is good, maybe a little too green for my taste. But for less than $200 this is a quality set up.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Cons: Heavy / Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Smooth Drag System, Smooth Reeling
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NC Dan from Durham NC on Friday, July 6, 2012
    Great prespooled reel at a great price. I'm new to fly fishing and very pleased with the value I found.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Durable, Reliable, Smooth Drag System
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4