Redington Tempt Fly Fishing Rod with Tube - 4-Piece

Closeouts. Just what serious trout anglers need for a productive day on the water, Redington's Tempt fly fishing rod features a medium-action graphite blank with custom-machined reel seat components, rosewood reel seat insert and titanium-oxide stripping guides.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Reviewed by Troutcatcher from Colorado on Monday, September 29, 2014
    I purchased this rod and the tip broke off the first day I used it. Sent it back to Redington with a check and UPS fee. The rod was returned in about a month and the tip broke off again while threading the line through it. I had to trash the rod. Either I got a defective rod, or it is just not a good purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elcanaan24 from Nashville on Saturday, September 20, 2014
    I live in Tn, so for trout I'm hitting small tail waters and mountain streams and the weight and length of this rod is perfect. I highly recommend it.
  • Reviewed by Hillbilly from Oklahoma on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    Like I said, I would buy another at this price, just because I have fished mine extensively and love it, but I don't want to become a hoarder. It is the best deal on the market for the price, and hard to distinguish in performance from rods costing many times more. I have some of those as well by the sought out high end manufacturers, but this one works just as well. It is a moderate, smooth action which is regaining popularity among those fishing fast rods costing many times as much. Designed by Sage it allows us to have a rod that does not break the bank. If you put a 5 wt WF Rio Gold or Trout LT double taper on a cheap reel you will be surprised how smooth it casts. Smooth action rods costing many times as much do not cast any further. Fish can't read the label. I dare STP to put a 2 or 3 wt on sale.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ready for Spring Angler from Pennsylvania on Friday, July 25, 2014
    Bought the 8.5 ft, 5 wt. I like how it handles and is nice and light in the hand. The butt is stiff enough to go longer distance if need be. Perhaps the close in casts require a little too much effort for a medium action rod but this is a trivial degree of effort.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Asarkozy from Colorado on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    I bought this for friends that want to fish with me when they visit, this is a nice rod for the money. It has good features, a quality reel seat, nice cork handle and the case is a decent one. Casting accuracy is not as crisp as a tip flex rod, but this lays out a WF5F line very well and balances well with a 5 wt reel. For high nymphing this works well and no complaints with casting a dry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dan from California on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
    It's a beautiful rod at an awesome price. It's well constructed and durable and I don't expect any problems with it. At this price, it's hard to beat.
  • Reviewed by Kamper from Chiland on Monday, March 31, 2014
    I wanted this for brookies, it is a bit noodlie but I think it will work on the smaller streams. If I have to shoot it more than 25 feet I am not sure it will have the power.
  • Reviewed by Bikeman from Princeton, NJ on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    I took a risk ordering a fly rod on line without testing it but the price was to tempting. I was surprised at how well it was constructed. It has a nice "whip", is light as a feather, and has tiny white dots to line up the four sections. This rod it worth twice the price.
  • Reviewed by Hillbilly from Oklahoma on Monday, January 20, 2014
    This is my fourth Redington rod, and the third of this family. I bought a 7 ft-6in. 3 wt this time for small perch, etc. Each rod has been of the same build quality, and proportionally scaled. Each is a good representative of what a rod of their particular weight and length ought to be. I would describe the action as moderate. it is delicate but not too slow or noodly.

    I have two Redington Drift reels as well, and they meet my needs for these classically designed rods. It is really a "Classic Trout" with slightly different finish (mostly a different logo) , and the 3/4 click/paul reel works great on this rod.
  • Reviewed by Obie from Texas on Thursday, November 7, 2013
    Just got my new fly rod. Had been using cablales 3 forks rod. This rod is a huge step up for me. Rod has great action, nice finish, and makes my loops look great.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.