Redington Tempt Fly Fishing Rod with Tube - 4-Piece

Closeouts. Just what serious trout anglers need for a productive day on the water, Redington's Tempt fly fishing rod features a medium-action graphite blank with custom-machined reel seat components, rosewood reel seat insert and titanium-oxide stripping guides.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jane from Wyoming on Friday, August 22, 2014
    The rod is light and easy to setup and the case is nice protection. Since I've yet to fish with the rod, it would be misleading to rate the rod, I only chose three starts because of the appearance, style, case and prompt delivery!
  • Reviewed by Hillbilly from Oklahoma on Saturday, August 16, 2014
    Like I said, I would buy another at this price, just because I have fished mine extensively and love it, but I don't want to become a hoarder. It is the best deal on the market for the price, and hard to distinguish in performance from rods costing many times more. I have some of those as well by the sought out high end manufacturers, but this one works just as well. It is a moderate, smooth action which is regaining popularity among those fishing fast rods costing many times as much. Designed by Sage it allows us to have a rod that does not break the bank. If you put a 5 wt WF Rio Gold or Trout LT double taper on a cheap reel you will be surprised how smooth it casts. Smooth action rods costing many times as much do not cast any further. Fish can't read the label. I dare STP to put a 2 or 3 wt on sale.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ready for Spring Angler from Pennsylvania on Friday, July 25, 2014
    Bought the 8.5 ft, 5 wt. I like how it handles and is nice and light in the hand. The butt is stiff enough to go longer distance if need be. Perhaps the close in casts require a little too much effort for a medium action rod but this is a trivial degree of effort.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by asarkozy from Colorado on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    I bought this for friends that want to fish with me when they visit, this is a nice rod for the money. It has good features, a quality reel seat, nice cork handle and the case is a decent one. Casting accuracy is not as crisp as a tip flex rod, but this lays out a WF5F line very well and balances well with a 5 wt reel. For high nymphing this works well and no complaints with casting a dry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dan from California on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
    It's a beautiful rod at an awesome price. It's well constructed and durable and I don't expect any problems with it. At this price, it's hard to beat.
  • Reviewed by Kamper from Chiland on Monday, March 31, 2014
    I wanted this for brookies, it is a bit noodlie but I think it will work on the smaller streams. If I have to shoot it more than 25 feet I am not sure it will have the power.
  • Reviewed by Bikeman from Princeton, NJ on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    I took a risk ordering a fly rod on line without testing it but the price was to tempting. I was surprised at how well it was constructed. It has a nice "whip", is light as a feather, and has tiny white dots to line up the four sections. This rod it worth twice the price.
  • Reviewed by Hillbilly from Oklahoma on Monday, January 20, 2014
    This is my fourth Redington rod, and the third of this family. I bought a 7 ft-6in. 3 wt this time for small perch, etc. Each rod has been of the same build quality, and proportionally scaled. Each is a good representative of what a rod of their particular weight and length ought to be. I would describe the action as moderate. it is delicate but not too slow or noodly.

    I have two Redington Drift reels as well, and they meet my needs for these classically designed rods. It is really a "Classic Trout" with slightly different finish (mostly a different logo) , and the 3/4 click/paul reel works great on this rod.
  • Reviewed by Obie from Texas on Thursday, November 07, 2013
    Just got my new fly rod. Had been using cablales 3 forks rod. This rod is a huge step up for me. Rod has great action, nice finish, and makes my loops look great.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.