RedRam by Icebreaker Merino Wool Base Layer Top - Lightweight, Long Sleeve (For Women)

Discontinued. Odor resistant, lightweight and able to regulate body temperature year round, RedRam by Icebreaker's merino wool base layer top is a versatile layering option for any season.

Average Rating based on 50 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 50 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Earth Angel from Northern Illinois on Friday, June 13, 2014
    I have a couple of these already but glad I ordered the whirlpool color. It's a very beautiful shade of blue. Good quality, lightweight baselayer. I had heard Red Ram is not the quality of other icebreaker products but I can't tell much difference between them in the lightweight items. Would order this one again and again.
  • Reviewed by Lava girl from Idaho on Wednesday, February 26, 2014
    I am a total convert to the amazing qualities of merino wool. I've never had any merino products before and now have ordered another of this shirt and have 4 other merino products ( RedRam and Icebreaker) on the way. There is no itch, worn it for 4 days straight with no smell, the color ( lobster) is really flattering (and I am not a pink girl). I always have trouble with the arms being too short and this is perfect. This top is long enough to stay tucked in and is really comfy. Great layering piece. STP has great prices and their customer service team is the best!
  • Reviewed by vtskier from Vermont on Tuesday, February 18, 2014
    Love this because it is thin yet warm and truly doesn't get stinky. I work at a ski resort so my base layers get heavily used and this one is my favorite. I usually wear size 8-10 and I bought a large because I don't like my base layers too tight and this didn't disappoint. I bought the RedRam everyday camisole in size M and they layer perfectly together. It has a lot of stretch to it as well, so it moves easily with you. After several consecutive days of wear, it does get a little loose, but I just wash it and it gets its snug fit back again. I would recommend covering this layer with a vest or wearing the camisole underneath because it is slightly sheer, but not see through.
  • Reviewed by the walker from Maryland on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    I love Icebreaker wool base layer because it truly does not itch. I'm very sensitive to wool, and these I can wear.
  • Reviewed by Laurie from Boston from Massachusetts on Tuesday, February 4, 2014
    I nomally wear a medium in Icebreaker clothes but got the large since I tend to toss things in the dryer. It's the perfect fit and it is long enough to tuck down my jeans and keep my tush warm!.
  • Reviewed by Adriana from New Jersey on Saturday, February 1, 2014
    Comfortable, I used it under my clothing in -44 temps in Alaska and it was great. Never smelled, didn't make me hot when I was in a warm room.
  • Reviewed by 7ofnine from Seattle on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    I'm a rower, and use a 3 layer system when working out on cold mornings. Bottom layer is a lightweight, long sleeve polyester tech shirt. Middle layer is wool. Top layer is a blend. This Icebreaker is perfect for that middle layer! What I like in particular is that the neck is a tad bigger than some of my other wool crew necks (smart wool, Patagonia), which makes it easy to pull off when I'm in the boat. I'm a size 8 (135 lbs, 5'7") and got the large. Some of the comments seemed to suggest this top runs small. The medium would probably be a better fit, but I'm happy with the large as it's easy to get off. The price was good. RedRam may be Icebreaker's less expensive line, but I didn't' notice a difference in quality.
  • Reviewed by Brenda from Nevada on Friday, January 24, 2014
    Love RedRam products, especially this Merino Wool Base Layer Top. It is lightweight, and does keep you warm on chilly nights. I highly recommend
    this. I am also getting the leggings to go with this product.
  • Reviewed by organic from Kamuela, Hawaii on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    Nice, soft, not itchy, warm and gentle on this skin. Great underlayer, or by itself as a simple top over jeans, etc. Love it.
  • Reviewed by seasonalshopper from New York, New York on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    I was concerned about the wool being itchy, but it wasn't. Even in the coldest NYC weather, this base layer kept me warm. It was so good I bought two more.
  • Reviewed by Earth Angel from Northern Illinois on Monday, January 13, 2014
    I bought this in XL which is one size larger than what I usually wear in tops and sweaters but am very pleased I did. It fits nicely but not too tight anywhere. I loved it so much I bought another one a few days later. I honestly can't tell the difference between this RedRam and a regular Icebreaker I bought a couple months ago. The lobster color is a beautiful shade of deep pink...not at all peachy.
  • Reviewed by PCPeople from Utah on Monday, January 13, 2014
    I am addicted to merino wool. I have thrown out all of my synthetic shirts and will replace them with natural fibers.
  • Reviewed by kja999 from Arizona on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    Warm and light weight base layer. I wear it a lot in the winter since the building I work in has many cold spots.
    Great purchase!
  • Reviewed by Mafam from Chicago on Saturday, January 11, 2014
    Great product I love the feel of the soft wool
  • Reviewed by Sarah from Boston on Friday, January 3, 2014
    Good quality, I love products of Icebreaker. I like wool as material for an underlayer, especially in winter. The only thing is that the neck opening is quite small. I bought a medium size, it fits but the neck is really tight. But still good enough to feel comfortable in it.
  • Reviewed by Kathy from Tennessee on Thursday, January 2, 2014
    This base layer is just what I needed for work. It's freezing today, but I'm comfortable in my new wool. It is lightweight, fits great, and is not in the least bit irritating or itchy


  • Reviewed by kate from illinois on Thursday, January 2, 2014
    So soft and warm, not to mention they kept me snug all day. Also great for layering.
  • Reviewed by Alaskan Mom of 3 from Alaska on Wednesday, January 1, 2014
    Fabulous product at great price! Not itchy, great fit! Awesome base if you are very active downhill or XC skier, snowshoer, etc. Trust me, go wool you won't regret it!
  • Reviewed by Anna from St. Louis on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    NIce and warm, but I have to exchange the size to L. I am size S.
  • Reviewed by midwestern teacher from midwest on Wednesday, December 25, 2013
    This is a perfect lightweight first layer for cold weather-- the medium fits me -- a classic size 6-8 -- perfectly.
  • Reviewed by chandler lady from Arizona on Tuesday, December 24, 2013
    If you plan on wearing this as an outer garment with levi's etc... size way up. i normally wear a small... but ordered a medium. I wish I had ordered a large. It is thin and see through.. I am thinking of returning it. Of all the things I have ordered from STP... this is one of few I am disappointed in.
  • Reviewed by sue from idaho on Monday, December 23, 2013
    I wore this on a run the day I got it; winter run with snow on the ground. Was warm even when damp. I ordered size large; would not have wanted to have it fit any tighter; I am 5'6", 135 lbs.
  • Reviewed by CarolS from Dallas, TX on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    Good quality shirt. Can't beat the price with Sierra's discounts.
  • Reviewed by mountain girl from lake tahoe, ca on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    the shirt is light weight and warm, it's a great layer for skiing and doesn't feel itchy to me. i got a medium, but i think a small would have worked as well. the blue color is nice
  • Reviewed by disappointed from NY on Monday, December 16, 2013
    This is a very thin base layer so plan on putting more wool on.
    I was Disappointed to find the same product at TJ Maxx for only $20 after I paid $35 on ST
  • Reviewed by Ski Bum in the Flatlands from Nebraska on Thursday, December 12, 2013
    Too bad this shirt is discontinued - it is awesome! Plenty of stretch to it, moving and stretching as needed for coverage for active movement of your body. I work outside in a garden nursery so I am bending, reaching out, and flexing my arms a LOT. Sleeves are long enough for my long arms (do not feel like a knuckle dragging ape like some too short "long" sleeved). The neck open is right up to the base of your neck which nice if you are using this as a liner for cold weather activities.

    Nice shirt, I will keep look out for my RedRam products

  • Reviewed by Marian in the frozen Northh from New Jersey on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    I bought the top to stay warm while riding a horse on cold winter days. Warm, nice on the skin.
  • Reviewed by sdrbn from maine on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    This is an ok baselayer, the material is thin, which is to be expected being "lightweight." I have a long torso and it is not quite long enough for me, additionally it is VERY form fitting, so if you don't want it to be skin tight, size up.
  • Reviewed by Active Gal from Temple, PA on Friday, December 6, 2013
    This was my first purchase of a merino wool base layer product. I am extremely pleased with the feel of the fabric on my skin and the warmth and breathability. I love the fit with one exception; it could be longer in the torso.
  • Reviewed by GrabYerHorse from Oregon on Tuesday, December 3, 2013
    Still, very warm
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 50 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.