RedRam by Icebreaker Merino Wool Base Layer Top - Lightweight, Short Sleeve (For Women)

Discontinued. Odor resistant, lightweight and able to regulate body temperature year round, RedRam by Icebreaker's merino wool base layer top will easily be one of your most versatile layering options for any season.

Average Rating based on 59 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 31-59 of 59 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Petie from Bend, OR on Thursday, September 06, 2012
    I love merino wool. This is thin and needs another layer over it for modesty. Large size is binding under the arms.
    • Best Uses: Under Clothes
    • Cons: Poor Fit, See-through, Size Large Was Very Tight, Under Layer Only
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer, Outdoorsman
    • Pros: Good Lightweight Wool, Packs Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wool Fan from Indiana on Thursday, August 02, 2012
    This tee will be worn UNDER clothes this winter. I have other icebreaker shirts that can be worn as shirts...not this one as it is too transparent. The size L fits snug against my torso (I am a M or L usually).

    Believe what they say about odor resistant! 12 days on the trail in a single Icebreaker, no shower, no washer and the shirt never smelled. Multiple days sweating in a gym and the shirt just doesn't pick up body odor.
    • Best Uses: Under Clothes
    • Cons: Too Transparent
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer, Outdoorsman
    • Pros: Never Smells Bad, Packs Well, Soft
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kelly Kelly from Union City, CA on Thursday, August 02, 2012
    I bought this to wear under sweaters in the winter. I tend to sweat a lot and my clothes get very smelly. I'm hoping this will protect my sweaters and I'll be able to wear them more than once before washing. I own other Icebreaker items and can wear them multiple times before washing. Also, this shirt has a nice low neckline so I can wear it under almost anything.
    • Best Uses: Anytime, On The Mountain, Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Pros: Durable, Odor-repellent, Packs Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happi from Happiness Castle, San Jose on Wednesday, July 25, 2012
    My sister recommended that I get some icebreaker for layering in cold weather. As advertised, there is no itch, just soft, thin fabric that breathes and retain body heat. Perfection! I came back and bought 3 more icebreaker items.
    • Best Uses: On The Mountain, Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Pros: Durable, Packs Well, Retains Body Heat
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Frontier Girl from WA on Friday, July 06, 2012
    Short sleeve wool underwear is very comfortable and practical. I hope I will be as pleased with it's durability over time.
    • Best Uses: Anytime, Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Pros: Great everyday wear, Retains Body Heat
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AET from Baltimore, MD on Thursday, June 07, 2012
    I am almost ALWAYS too cold in air-conditioned offices in the summer. These shirts are perfect under button downs to both keep warm when inside, and not stink or ruin shirts with pit-stains if I do manage to escape outside during work. I'm sure they'll become essential in the winter too.
    • Best Uses: Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Pros: Retains Body Heat
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by care from carepearce[@] on Thursday, June 07, 2012
    wonderfully smooth fabric, simple but elegant. should be good for tennis in chilly seattle
    • Best Uses: Anytime
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer, Outdoorsman
    • Pros: Packs Well, Retains Body Heat, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by K9 from California on Tuesday, May 22, 2012
    Wearing this in hot weather to keep cool. Does not show sweat during workouts. Previous experience with Icebreaker merino shirts has taught me to hand wash or to avoid pairing with zippered clothing in the washing machine.
    • Best Uses: Anytime, On The Mountain, Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer, Outdoorsman
    • Pros: Durable, Packs Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colorado Athlete from Littleton, CO on Tuesday, May 15, 2012
    This was my first purchase of Red Ram but figured since it was an Icebreaker product and the price was good, I couldn't miss. The shirt was very soft right out of the package. However, the fabric was thinner than I expected. The white shirt is probably not one that I'll wear as a single layer because it's "see through", although will be great for layering. The fit is tight but the fabric has a bit of stretch to it so it's not been a problem. I'm 5'6", 110 lbs and the small fit. Sleeves and length are good. It launders well, no shrinkage.
    • Best Uses: Anytime, On The Mountain, Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer, Outdoorsman, Snowboarder/Skier
    • Pros: Durable, Packs Well, Retains Body Heat, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sailor/lawyer from Washington DC on Saturday, May 05, 2012
    Great on its own for casual. Great for work under a blazer.
    • Best Uses: Anytime
    • Pros: Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DancerLee from San Jose, CA on Thursday, May 03, 2012
    I'm a petite active Merino Wool lover. I sweat quite a bit throughout the day, because I run around a lot chasing kids around. The fabric is soft and actually repels odors!!! I like the black, because it isn't see through and I can throw a blazer over it for dinner dates in the evening.
    • Best Uses: Anytime
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Pros: Durable, Packs Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lkis from Southington CT on Wednesday, April 25, 2012
    use this as a base layer and the fit and comfort is great. Wish it wasn't as "see through" but can deal with that. Good price point and will definitely use this a lot hiking and biking.
    • Best Uses: Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Pros: Retains Body Heat
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chilly me from Northern California on Tuesday, April 03, 2012
    As under layer, but the short sleeves bind a little unless I wear it over something with longer sleeves.
    • Best Uses: Under Clothes
    • Cons: Too sheer to wear alone
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Pros: Packs Well, Retains Body Heat
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by skyangel_k1 from Sydney, Australia on Tuesday, March 20, 2012
    Great to wear on its own or as a base layer. I wear it with a mid layer fleece top in the autumn in Sydney Australia when the weather is really unpredictable. And if the weather gets too warm, I just wear it on its own. It looks good. I'm a 5'3" 54kg and I got myself an M size and it fits well. I would get another one anytime!
    • Best Uses: Anytime, On The Mountain, Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer, Outdoorsman
    • Pros: Durable, Light, Packs Well, Retains Body Heat, Soft, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AD from Seattle area on Thursday, March 08, 2012
    This is a really good base layer, and I know I'll wear it often all year. It is slightly too transparent to wear alone as a T-shirt, but a camisole or dark underclothing (I have the black shirt) will fix it.
    • Best Uses: Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Pros: Durable, Packs Well, Retains Body Heat
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by willo from Boston's north shore on Thursday, March 08, 2012
    Icebreaker makes great stuff, and this is a lovely wool undershirt. With the right bra, I would wear it as a t-shirt, too.

    The neckline is a fairly low (not shocking) scoop, so not all of my bras are compatible with it. This matters less if worn strictly as long underwear.

    The cream does allow some show-through, but it is not a fundamentally immodest garment. I've got thinner woolies that show more than this does. It's comparable to a thin cotton t-shirt for show-through. Modern American standards would not find it shocking worn on the street with an opaque bra underneath.
    • Best Uses: Anytime, Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Pros: Packs Well, Retains Body Heat
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by min from Bellingham, WA on Monday, February 27, 2012
    This is a great lightweight wool shirt for the price!
    • Best Uses: On The Mountain, Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Outdoorsman
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by little skier from sebastopol,ca on Wednesday, February 22, 2012
    this is a great all around under top for keeping warm. comfortable, lightweight, and stylish.
    • Best Uses: Anytime
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer, Outdoorsman, Snowboarder/Skier
    • Pros: Durable, Packs Well, Retains Body Heat, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor Lady from Durango, CO on Wednesday, February 15, 2012
    Kept me warm without adding bulk. Great product would purchase again.
    • Best Uses: On The Mountain, Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Snowboarder/Skier
    • Pros: Great base layer, Packs Well, Retains Body Heat
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Canadian Extremes from Northern Ontario on Saturday, February 11, 2012
    Good base layer top if you're out and about at around -5. Seeing as it gets down to around -30 plus wind chill here they don't quite do what I wanted them to.

    My fault though. They were a third of the price of Icebreaker200 tops and I thought that they were around the same weight. They are not!

    I should have got the Icebreaker200s. But they will make awesome pjs when I get my 200s.
    • Best Uses: Moderate weather layering
    • Cons: Very Light Weight
    • Pros: breathable, Itchless, Stinkless, Warm
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alaskan CRNA from Anchorage, AK on Sunday, January 29, 2012
    I work in a cold operating room. This garment is great for added warmth under scrubs.
    • Pros: Great price
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Firebug from Carrboro, NC on Thursday, January 26, 2012
    This is a soft, stretchy, not at all scratchy lightweight T-shirt, ideal for layering as a base layer or with cardigans and jackets as a T-shirt. You could also wear it on its own with jeans (the black is opaque, and colored underwear will not show under it). Wool breathes, stays warm even if you get damp, and does not hold odors. If you don't have any already, get some before winter ends and try for yourself!
    • Best Uses: Base layer, Outdoor activities, Wear alone, Work rest play
    • Pros: Comfortable, Layers well, True to size, Warm, Wear alone
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by At the Beac h from Santa Barbara, CA on Tuesday, January 17, 2012
    My 90 year old mother is always cold and she weighs 85 pounds at barely 5 feet. An xs was too small for her. The garment was well made and very soft which would not irritate delicate skin.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by karen from Maine on Tuesday, January 17, 2012
    I wear this under everything.
    Wish they had it in more colors.
    • Best Uses: Everyday
    • Pros: Comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by layla from minneapolis mn on Tuesday, January 17, 2012
    I live in Minnesota and wear this under sweaters and jackets in the winter, also sleep in it sometimes. Light and attractive enough to wear on its own in warmer weather. No itch, no smell
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Lightweight, True to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Polarbird from Michigan on Saturday, January 14, 2012
    This lightweight tee provides a nice extra layer without bulk.
    • Best Uses: Layering
    • Cons: thin
    • Pros: Lightweight, Soft
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ConcreteJungler from NYC on Friday, January 13, 2012
    This is a great, affordable merino top. I especially like its shape and neckline--it's cut more like a regular top, with a much lower neckline than all my other merino baselayers, so great for regular wear too. It's really soft and flattering, and fits true to size. It's very lightweight also--but maybe a little too sheer for everyday wear without a camisole on. I got the long-sleeve version as well (both in black) and I've been wearing it with a merino camisole underneath, which solves the sheerness problem nicely. And the quality of this is typical Icebreaker, too. Definitely a worthy purchase.
    • Best Uses: Bike commuting, Everyday use, Gym, Running
    • Cons: A bit sheer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Soft, Washes well, Wicking
  • Reviewed by Wear wool undershirts all the time from Chicago IL on Friday, January 13, 2012
    Before wearing new purchases, I always wash them. I hand washed this shirt in a bucket of cool water and noticed the surface of the water coated with tiny black wool fibers--obviously, a marker of less than top quality, long-fiber merino. (I also washed a similar undershirt from Medima--made in Germany--no wool lint fibers came off). Interestingly, this shirt in Large, fit me the same as the Medima in Medium. I have been wearing this shirt with no complaints: no itch, good stretch and fit, warm and breathable. Durability is yet to be determined. RedRam seems to be subsidiary of Icebreaker from New Zealand, so I have faith that they know sheep.
    • Best Uses: Everyday underlayer
    • Cons: Wool quality only good
    • Pros: Nice stretch, No itch
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by messy mary from Fort Collins, CO on Monday, November 07, 2011
    I wear it for cool weather workouts. I also wear it when I'm not working out, but just want to feel cozy.
    • Best Uses: Base layer, Worn as a t-shirt
    • Pros: Can be dressed up, Well priced
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 31-59 of 59 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.