RedRam by Icebreaker Merino Wool Base Layer Top - Lightweight, Short Sleeve (For Women)

Discontinued. Odor resistant, lightweight and able to regulate body temperature year round, RedRam by Icebreaker's merino wool base layer top will easily be one of your most versatile layering options for any season.

Average Rating based on 58 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 58 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Earth Angel from Northern Illinois on Saturday, July 12, 2014
    After receiving my first one from STP, I bought 2 more. Perfect weight for moderate temp summer days. Nice styling and fabric. Washes well. Long enough for women who are tall or have long torsos. Light but also thick enough fabric to be flattering and not sheer or clingy. Works well as a sleeping shirt, also. Very happy to have found these at such a GREAT price. Will buy again and again.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by curiousc from NYC on Sunday, June 01, 2014
    cute, comfy, warm, nicely-fitting basic, classic black T.
    I will probably wear it as a base-layer under sweaters in the fall & winter.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by akhiker from Alaska on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    Works well as a base layer and as a standalone exercise shirt. I ordered the x-small and it fits well, just a little tight but that's how I like my base layers; I'm 5'2" 105 lbs, 25" waist. Just the tiniest bit itchy but that was expected since its wool, and the itchiness is not noticeable once active.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SkiVT from Vermont on Wednesday, April 23, 2014
    I have several lightweight (150) Icebreaker & Smartwool shirts. The material on this shirt is a shade rougher than those, but not itchy for me. 4 stars because of the material, otherwise great shirt.

    I'm 30 yrs old, 5'6, 150, 36B, not sure about other measurements, but I look smaller than I weigh. I usually buy M for shirts, but I got an L for this one and the fit was fine for me. Form fitting, but I expect that from a base layer. There's a bit of stretch to it so it doesn't feel tight to me. Good length, hit right at my hips, not so long to be scrunched at the bottom, not so short that my back will be exposed if I bend over.

    I bike commute, alpine ski, and hike, and plan to use this shirt for all those activities. It also looks fine worn with a pair of jeans.
  • Reviewed by Kim the backpacker from Alamo, CA on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    I love this fabric. I bought this one, and a long sleeve one, as my baselayer for a backpackng trip. I love them both. I have worn both of these shirts nonstop since receiving them. Highly recommend owning Merino wool anything!
  • Reviewed by Merino Lover from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    This is a great top for both athletics and more- it is soft, stretchy, warm, light enough in warmer weather. You can wear it hiking, or under a blazer. Really, it's that nice. And because it doesn't have labels, and stamps all over the exterior no one knows you are wearing an athletic top under your blazer. I love merino wool for everything. I live in it. Get these in every colour if you can. They run a bit small, so you may want to size up. I like snug myself, although I don't like cap sleeves - these are not cap sleeves, but they aren't too long either. I just hope Icebreaker doesn't change this and make it like their own icebreaker stuff which has labels all over, and the fabric not as nice and stretchy.
  • Reviewed by Bluebird from KY on Friday, December 06, 2013
    I have had this shirt for almost a year, and it is holding strong, despite many many days of use. Mostly wear it as underlayer, as it is on the thin side. Love it!
  • Reviewed by stefanie from Olympia, wa on Friday, October 18, 2013
    I didn't find this at all scratchy, and I'm pretty sensitive. Fit is perfect - slim but not tight.
  • Reviewed by TEZZA THE BUSH-WALKER from WYOMING - NSW - AUSTRALIA on Thursday, October 17, 2013
    I bought this item for my partner , she loves the fit and feel as well as the practicality .
  • Reviewed by Megan the cyclist from KCMO on Monday, September 30, 2013
    Exactly what I wanted it to be. Wore it on a bike tour across Missouri and it was comfortable, lightweight, and free of odor. I highly recommend it.
  • Reviewed by Mia from Salt Lake City, UT on Monday, June 17, 2013
    Overall, very happy with this shirt. The fabric isn't quite as nice as some of the other Icebreaker stuff and almost has a ribbed texture, but its still a cute, functional top and a great value. I've worn it both as a baselayer hiking and as a shell underneath business casual outfits. Cut is very fitted so size up if you don't want a body contouring fit. My only gripe is that the fabric is pretty see through. Oh well.
  • Reviewed by GreenWoman from Western WA on Tuesday, June 11, 2013
    I love this already. Wore it on a day hike in early June and it kept me feeling just right when the sun was out and then when the cooling clouds came on. Light weight, so will be an easy base for layering. Thin material, so not sure how it will endure, but thick enough that it can be worn close to the skin without concern of showthrough. Meant to be worn as a second skin, so probably get a size larger than usual if you want a bit less of that. Long tuck-in to keep lower back protected. Be aware: This is a RedRam product designed and sold through IceBreaker [New Zealand], which means they outsourced their manufacturing to a Chinese factory which they say meets all their criteria for environmental and employee concerns.
  • Reviewed by Suzie Q from Alaska on Sunday, June 02, 2013
    Great for a warm lightweight base layer.
    Very tight fitting.
    Order one size larger than you normally would.
  • Reviewed by a fire medic from alaska on Thursday, May 30, 2013
    great shirts wear up well during fire season and dont get stinky to bad their discontinuing them
  • Reviewed by Morgana from Philadelphia on Wednesday, May 29, 2013
    This shirt is functional, but not as nice as the Icebreaker Siren Bodyfit. It runs on the small side, the cut is not as flattering as the other shirts in the Icebreaker line, and the fabric is totally see-through. That's fine if you're intending it for a baselayer. The fabric is soft, though, and it breathes well, like all merino. I will be using mine for summer hiking, but probably won't order more of this particular shirt.
  • Reviewed by J from San Francisco on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    This is my second order of Icebreaker Base Layer Tops. I really like them and they help to ward off the chill in summer weather of this city. The sale price on these were amazing.
  • Reviewed by Colorado Athlete from Denver, Colorado on Thursday, May 09, 2013
    Like any Icebreaker product, the RedRam short sleeve shirt is a jewel. The fabric is very soft and stretchy good for a base layer or as a summer weight shirt. I have both the black and the white and the black is better as a stand alone shirt. The white is slightly see-through so I choose not to wear it as a shirt, only as a base layer. These shirts are very form fitting, the length is long. I am 5'6" around 110 and I ordered a small. That size works well for my frame. The shirts launder well and are lightweight for travel. All in all, worth the money.
  • Reviewed by Em from Nashville, TN on Friday, May 03, 2013
    My measurements: 5'7", 127 lbs, 37" hips, 29" waist, 36C chest. Based on the reviews, I ordered a medium, but I sent it back and got a large and it's perfect. These are somewhat thin, but still do the job. Love wearing them around the house, as well....
  • Reviewed by HD Rider from Illinois on Friday, May 03, 2013
    This top is outstanding. It is so light I can hardly tell that I have it on and very comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jetmom from USA on Monday, February 04, 2013
    This is the under layer I have been looking for! I purchased a couple of similar tank tops on a previous clearance, but I have been looking for a t-shirt style because I love that merino does not retain body odor. I wear it under a 200 merino long-sleeved layer for cross country skiing and snowshoeing. Wish I had ordered more than one because they are no longer available.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cencibel from Philadelphia, PA on Monday, January 07, 2013
    Love the lightweight of this t-shirt, perfect under everything to keep body temp regulated. Soft, stretchy but doesn't lose its shape. Nice and long so it tucks in. Smooth fitting so it doesn't show lines. Awesome - I bought 3 others in long-sleeve.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Josse from Norway on Monday, December 24, 2012
    This top is very soft. its light. I love to wear it under my working clothes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Agilityi Dog Enthusiast from WV on Friday, December 14, 2012
    So I kept this because is white and was a bit more soft than the long sleeve. This is not the same quality as the 150 Icebreaker. If you struggle with scratchy this might not work too well for you. Maybe it will soften up in wash?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tree Hugger from Outside in NJ on Sunday, December 02, 2012
    I work in landscaping and this shirt works great at keeping me warm on cold days. It's also machine washable, which is great. I did find it to run a bit on the small side so I ordered one size larger than normal and it worked out perfectly.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JJ from Bethlehem, Pa on Wednesday, November 28, 2012
    It is good as a base layer under a sweater
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sally Alleyseed from Denver, CO on Wednesday, October 31, 2012
    I am a cold person, so the warmth this provides (the most of any warming camisole I have)is very welcome. Someone else might find it too warm for indoor use. I was surprised at how truly soft and comfortable next to my skin it is. True to size. I like camisoles with short sleeves to cover the whole underarm area and shoulders. It came out of the washer just fine and I hung it to dry (don't put in dryer!). This will be used quite a bit all winter, and I might buy more.
    • Best Uses: Anytime, On The Mountain, Under Clothes
    • Cons: Not Stylish
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Pros: Durable, Packs Well, Retains Body Heat, Soft
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bucky from Petaluma, CA on Tuesday, October 16, 2012
    I can ride and sweat and cool down without getting the chills. Mysteriously, I can get more than one wear out of this garment. The antimicrobial factor is for real! I could use six more of these. Extrememly versatile as the shape is feminine and trim - not some ugly man-cut T.
    • Pros: Durable, Packs Well, Retains Body Heat, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Xin from San Francisco, CA on Monday, October 01, 2012
    This is a good deal for an Icebreaker item. I was looking for a base layer with natural properties and this is the one. I wanted to order some more, but they're out of stock at the moment.
    • Best Uses: Under Clothes
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer
    • Pros: Durable, Retains Body Heat, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DesertBoundinWool from Louisville, KY on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    I really enjoy wearing this shirt. It looks great (although a bit tight) and doesn't stink after a work-out. I bought it for a trip to the desert in the winter when it is hot (and I will be sweaty) during the day but chilly at night. The black shirt should be perfect for any occasion- hiking, dining out, travel of any kind. For now I use it mountain biking and just as a casual shirt. It is a small bit itchy though, but hey, it's Merino wool so that was expected. I'm 5'3" 130 lbs and bought the Small (knowing it would be very form-fitting) since there were no Mediums left...but I would be preferred a medium. Still looks good...just no wiggle room...at all.
    • Best Uses: Anytime, On The Mountain, Travel, Under Clothes
    • Cons: A Bit Itchy
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer, Outdoorsman, Snowboarder/Skier, Traveler Outdoorsey
    • Pros: Durable, Packs Well, Prevents Odors, Retains Body Heat, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Petie from Bend, OR on Thursday, September 06, 2012
    I love merino wool. This is thin and needs another layer over it for modesty. Large size is binding under the arms.
    • Best Uses: Under Clothes
    • Cons: Poor Fit, See-through, Size Large Was Very Tight, Under Layer Only
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Wearer, Outdoorsman
    • Pros: Good Lightweight Wool, Packs Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 58 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.