Ross Worldwide Diamond Series Fly Fishing Rod - 4-Piece, 3-6wt (For Women and Youth)

Closeouts. Soft, lightweight and perfectly balanced, the Ross Worldwide Diamond Series fly fishing rod has a smaller-diameter cork handle to better fit women and youth.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by moosaki from MD/WV/PA on Sunday, May 4, 2014
    I purchased this 6 wt. to go on top of a Ross Cimarron III Reel. It casts fine and is a good looking rod and reel combination. You cannot get better in this price range. I also picked up the 2 rod and reel travel case by Ross.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Duncan from Maine...on weekends after ice out. on Monday, April 28, 2014
    I just picked up two six weights for my wife and son to use during our upcoming trip to Labrador. For lawn casting, I strung one of them with a Wulff TT6 and the other with a Wulff TT5....what a difference! With the 6 weight, the rod loaded deeply and easily with only 20 to 30 feet of line in the air. However, as I started hauling more line, the action became quite sluggish. After switching to the 5 weight line, I found the Diamond still loaded easily at short distances, but was much more at home keeping 50 to 60 feet of line in the air. Just for kicks, I tried a Wulff TT4. No problem! This setup would be great for far and fine presentations on windless days.
    In a nutshell, use a six-weight line for novice anglers working shorter lines and a five-weight (or even a four-weight) for hauling more line.
    Fit and finish way above the paltry sale price. Only low point would be the "diamond" inlay in the blank, but then again, that's probably why these are on closeout.
  • Reviewed by moosaki from WV, MD, PA on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    I strapped this on to my Ross Cimeron Reel and it balances well. I bought the 6 weight and it feels good in the hand. I do not find the handle specifically made to a small hand. The action is medium and it is a light weight well made instrument. I will use this for bigger trout and maybe bass. The cosmetics are attractive and it is well made. Great price point. Check out the tandem travel case by Ross. I have my Ross 6wt side by side with my Hardy Greys 6 wt and ready to travel. You can check or carry this on.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ed from Northern New York on Wednesday, April 9, 2014
    This is my third Ross rod... and the first in the light trout rod category. It's a comfortable, easy casting, and accurate rod.. Best suited for those who want a pleasant day on the water without the constant strain of pushing a true "fast" action rod. This one is more of a blend of fast and progressive- meaning it tends to flex deeper into the butt section when pushed to long distances.
    Highly recommend for those fishing short to medium distances, meaning from just off the end of the rod out to the 40'-50' distances with a bit in reserve. (Remember! The further out you cast the less likely you can control your fly properly- especially drys. This rod does a great job for the distances above and the design parameters it appears to be made for.
  • Reviewed by stripergal from New England on Friday, April 4, 2014
    This has become my new, favorite trout rod. It's light, loads easily and the grip is very comfortable. I have large hands and find the handle just right, my hand does not feel as tired at the end of the day. This is made on a Ross RX blank, guys, don't let the diamond scare you away, it's hardly noticeable . I bought a 6 wt. and like it so much I just ordered another one, with the discount, it's a great rod for the money.
  • Reviewed by SavageLawyer from New York CIty on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    Last summer I took my three nephews and one niece for a camping and fishing trip out to Yellowstone National Park and had to outfit them all in advance (even though they were all in their mid-20's and supposedly young adults, it really was an exercise in herding cats, but this in not the place for those stories). I got this rod in a 6 wt for my niece. I lawn-cast it for about a half hour before our trip to make sure it would work (and also to give her some pre-trip instruction) and was very pleased with it, and I had little difficulty with handling 50'-60' casts (which is approaching my limit with any of my other rods, including Orvis, Sage, Scott and Winston). And my niece, who had never fly fished before this trip, managed to catch quite a few fish on the trip with this rod, a couple in the 15"-16" range, without mishap, and I don't know that you can ask much more of a rod than that. I note the other reviews that refer to it as being a noodle, soft or whimpy, but that was certainly not my experience, but I would concur that if you are double-hauling and looking for a stiff, fast action rod, this will rod will not be at the top of your list. I am not really sure if there is much advantage to having the slimmer grip that makes this a woman's rod, but my guess is that is certainly does not hurt. P.S. I also got from STP a Redington Classic Trout Fly Fishing Rod - 6-Piece 9Ft 5Wt for each of my nephews, and that rod also worked like a charm for each of them. STP came through big time again (hate to think how much it would have cost me to outfit all of them for the trip without STP)
  • Reviewed by Tenkarale from Asia on Saturday, August 31, 2013
    Tip is too stiff.
  • Reviewed by mau the fisher from belgium on Wednesday, August 14, 2013
    great action, beautiful finish, already caught several trout on it, love it.
  • Reviewed by mau the fisher from diepenbeek on Wednesday, July 31, 2013
    I love this rod, it's great for small trout rivers. nice action, and I love the smaller cork handle. I use it with a ross rhythm 1.5 reel. this is my prefered combination.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by johnny from washington on Sunday, January 29, 2012
    nice finish but rod is so soft that most fishers will not like
    • Best Uses: Fishing small streams
    • Cons: No hook keeper, TOO SOFT
    • Pros: Good appearance, Good Detail
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #