Ross Reels Essence FW Fly Fishing Rod - 4-piece, 3-6wt

Closeouts. Ross Reels' Essence FW fly fishing rod delivers precision casts at short range and has plenty of power to cast big, wind-resistant flies to land that monster.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Reviewed by Shrimpman from British Columbia on Tuesday, December 03, 2013
    The 3wt. 8.5 ft. FW is exactly the action I was expecting to best handle a 4DT line for small streams. Perfectly balanced, a soft tip and progressive bend for close range accuracy and feel, plus lots of power lower down to launch 60 foot casts with a smart double haul. The slender grip with swell farther back (Ross knows how to design universally comfy grips) best fits a large range of hand sizes, including my big mitts.
    Unfortunately, this was one of those sold out items that mysteriously came back as "almost gone", which in this case meant a rod very much used bu somebody else before being returned. The scratched, dented, tube with bottom almost completely bashed off, dinged rod butt, sweat-darkened cork, and missing warranty card sure put a damper on my new rod excitement! If you are going to buy one of these "almost gone" FWs, make darned sure to include instructions for the shipper to inspect it carefully. This is my only negative STP experience, out of many, so I will still happily shop here.
    Now, to utilize that pre-printed UPS return sticker...
  • Reviewed by Dick Fish from Colorado on Saturday, September 28, 2013
    Stiff enough to get some distance-- flexible enough to protect small tippetts with big fish.
  • Reviewed by Duncan from Maine on Wednesday, August 21, 2013
    I bought the Ross Essence FW in the 8'6" 3wt as a backup to the same rod I already own. It took a while to find the right line for it but ultimately I ended up with a DT 3. Despite being a 3wt, the 8'6" blank requires a fair amount of line beyond the tip before it comes to life. It's a great rod for those "far and fine" presentations and would probably perform well at shorter distances with a WF 4 line.
  • Reviewed by henrysfisher from idaho on Thursday, August 15, 2013
    Fun and accurate 3 weight with plenty of backbone to throw a nyphm rig.
  • Reviewed by mau the fisher from diepenbeek on Wednesday, July 31, 2013
    nice rod from ross reels, ideal for trout fishing in streams, love the action of this rod, it is one of my favorites..
  • Reviewed by Globug from Matsu, AK on Monday, July 08, 2013
    The RWW Essence line of rods provides consistent durability and dependability. This 3 weight is another strong example. It has not-too-fast action when paired with a weight forward line and can handle sink tips well. I found it plenty stout handling both big and small trout, but the tip is slow and I missed several light takes. This is my 3rd Essence and I think it will be the funnest of the bunch once I master the ultra light end of the spectrum. Great deal for a great rod!
  • Reviewed by june from nc on Wednesday, March 13, 2013
    Rod is strong and powerful. Got the 3 weight and it has a great feel, prefer it to the redington cps 3 weight I had been using. I own many Ross products, love their reels, very high quality and this rod is no exception. The aluminium rod tube is also nicely constructed and will last a lifetime.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Randyman from VA on Monday, February 04, 2013
    The price was right. just not what I was looking for.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RJ from FL on Saturday, July 07, 2012
    I purchased the rod for trout in GA, TN and NC. It has performed admirably. It casts very good and has a nice presentation.
    • Pros: price, Quality
  • Reviewed by Mr. Satisfied from British Columbia on Saturday, June 23, 2012
    To say I love these FW rods- even if they weren't so heavily discounted- would be an understatement. I just added the 6wt. to the 8 and 9wts which I purchased earlier. This 6wt. has a well designed action which covers a lot of fishing types (dries, weighted nymphs, etc.), which is hard to find in this age of specialized actions. Good sensitivity for short casts and lots of power to throw the whole line.
    • Best Uses: Versatile action
    • Pros: Excellent workmanship
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.