• Ross Reels Reviews

Ross Reels
Ross Reels 4.500000 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 42
  • Reviewed by mirabelasunshine from VT on Tuesday, June 20, 2017
    I bought two of these for my kids to learn on. They're actually quite a bit better than my own LL Bean 5wt -- I'm a little envious. They're well made, they cast with authority, and they've got enough backbone to work with conehead streamers or turn around big smallmouths. Especially at the price, these were an exceptional buy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rxflyfisher from Delaware on Monday, December 19, 2016
    Not sure how helpful this will be since I ordered 2 and was reduced to the last one available. It is definitely a quality built reel even though it is a starter reel. It is great for 7 - 8 weight lines and will make a great reel for someone getting started in saltwater fly fishing. Someone with the Saltwater Anglers of Delaware club in Lewes, DE is going to get a real bargain on this reel. It will be added to our annual fund-raiser raffle.
  • Reviewed by Mr. John Day from Oregon on Saturday, October 22, 2016
    The second time out using this rod it snapped the end piece on a back cast... I don't think this speaks for the rods in general, I think I may have had a defect. However, Ross charges a $50 fee on anything you send back to have warrantied... Which is more than I paid for the rod to begin with. I really did enjoy the way if felt and could lay line down in pocket water and along runs in tight streams. I'll definitely be giving it another shot if they come back in stock and go on sale again. It would have been 5 stars for sure had it not broke, and I run into issues trying to warranty it. Just thought I'd give a heads up on that end!

    Side note - it pairs well with the lower end Ross reels that STP carries. They're light and durable, after the rod broke I threw the reel on another rod and it has been great!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lawrence Flyaker from San Mateo, CA on Friday, October 14, 2016
    This is a basic, no frills, cast reel. Drag is offset disk type. Weak drag, but you can always Palm for additional drag. Easy rinse out maintenance. Slight click. I wish it were louder.
    Finish is a dull, matte finish.
    Basic reel billed as saltwater capable.
    Ross is a good reel company, but reason I bought this.
    For the sale price, it can't be beat. I bought 2 so I could change out spools and have a backup.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mistert from Missouri on Thursday, September 15, 2016
    Bought one of these reels 3 years ago in Michigan as a backup reel for the fall salmon fishing. Buddy later on in Wisconsin had a cheap reel blow up on his first king of the day. Allowed him to use the CLA#5 and he was impressed. Picked up a second one at STP at a great price and am thinking maybe give him the reel as a Christmas gift. I used the original reel 2 years ago and was impressed with how well the reel preformed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by flyfishorgolf from Idaho on Sunday, September 11, 2016
    Great product, high quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NMFLYGUY from New Mexico on Friday, September 9, 2016
    The Ross F1 is one of my favorite reels of all time- Every time I went to my local fly shop I would pick it up to play with it. Once it went on sale I had to buy it. The reel has a very smooth drag and great modern look with the carbon fiber. Don't hesitate this reel wont last long.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kab Kid from Minnesota on Sunday, August 14, 2016
    Wow, slightly shocked by the quality of this beginning fly rod to introduce my son to fly fishing. Great price, good flex and the "package" deal with reel, line, rod, and case is unbeatable! Thank you!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave from Virginia on Sunday, August 14, 2016
    Great little reel. Smooth operation. Easy drag set. Holds the line.
  • Reviewed by Lifetime fly fisherman, career wildlife biologist from Yuba City, CA on Tuesday, July 5, 2016
    For 40$ you get a hellva rod. I have bought many as gifts for friends and family. Easy to cast, and casts smooth, far and soft. I have had 600$ sage, Scott, and G. Loomis rods so I know what quality is and have been fly fishing Northern California streams and Rivers since 10 years old. It has no glue drips, and nice little details like dots at the rod piece joints to easily line up the sections quickly and correctly the first time. This is the cheapest in their line, but still works great. By far the best fly rod bargain going and a rod worth having by any fly fisherman no matter what the experience level. It may have been made in China, but the Chinese factory and skilled workers who made it clearly know how to make rods. If you fly fish, or are interested in getting into the hobby, this is well worth buying.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 42
;