Royal Robbins Field Guide Vest (For Men)

Closeouts. Made of soft, cotton-like Supplex nylon, Royal Robbins' Field Guide vest provides 14 different pockets and other cool features that make it a great accessory for outdoor and travel wear.

Average Rating based on 35 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 35 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by FSYMP from IL on Monday, June 16, 2014
    Many pockets are located in the same area so it is easy feel like the Michelin tire man when use this vest. When I lean forward, my cell phone frequently falls off despite a velcro strap across the pocket. On the plus side, with this vest you may not need a money belt. To be on the safe side, I wear it partially zipped up. The material (Supplex) is indeed soft and lightweight. There are 2 water bottle pockets and a large pocket in the back for maps or even a tablet. Just wish the pockets were better distributed and with full-length velcro straps.
  • Reviewed by Country rancher from Tehachapi on Saturday, October 12, 2013
    The fit matches the size listing, very functional item, plenty of room without being bulky.
  • Reviewed by Extradish from Michigan on Friday, October 11, 2013
    I could not find a women's vest at a price I wanted, so thought I would try this. I got the men's large. It fits ok...fairly snug around my size 14/16 hips, and too big at the shoulders, but I guess I expected that. I needed a vest to wear while birding. My binoculars fit comfortably in one of the main outer pockets, but my camera is kind of crowded in the other. I wish these particular front pockets were a bit deeper and had Velcro instead of snaps at each end. My ipad mini in case fits fine in another of the front zippered pockets. You can put a water bottle in the side rear pockets.
    The first day I wore it it was the 70's and I discovered that the vest does not breathe and heats you up. That will be nice in cooler weather, but not good news in temps over 75. I'm using the vest, and for the price it was decent, but I can't say I love it. I'll probably keep my eye out for another one at some point.
  • Reviewed by Camping Monkey from Illinois on Tuesday, October 8, 2013
    Very comfortable; and with this14 pocket vest you can toss that day pack. Plenty of pockets to stash all those extras you think you need but never use.
  • Reviewed by Steven from Chicago on Monday, October 7, 2013
    It is ugly as heck. A drab neutral non-color that makes my wife frown. I love this vest. It is comfortable from day one. Light weight and soft. There's a place for everything, assuming you can find your way to that important item you stowed away safely. But that's a part of the adventure of this vest. You can feel the item but it may take a few seconds to find the right pocket. Over time you memorize its geography. Some pockets have snaps, some velcro, some zippers. Some are top entry, some side, some on the diagonal., A great cell phone pocket precisely outside your shirt pocket so that you can feel the vibration right over your heart. This thing's pockets even have pockets. I bought this vest because I am on crutches following a tumble from my bike. Now I can get things from here to there--a file folder in the map pocket, an orange in an external mesh pouch at the waist, cell phone over my heart, a sealed travel cup of coffee in a side flap pocket. It has saved me a lot of time and prevented me from doing some stupid things. When I am out and around again, I will never travel or go hiking without it. Albeit with a light windbreaker for the top layer if my wife has anything to say about it.
  • Reviewed by Anita from Columbus, Oh on Sunday, October 6, 2013
    My husband loves this vest. It runs true to size, is constructed with quality materials, and it has pockets for nearly everything.
  • Reviewed by photojon from Chicago suburbs on Saturday, October 5, 2013
    Plenty of pockets, and I like that it is not too long as some vests of this type are. I can wear it with a photo waist belt and not have the the vest and belt interfering with each other. Another nice feature is the drop in water bottle pockets on the sides of the back. These are also handy as quick change lens pockets.
  • Reviewed by Little Timmy from Arlington, Texas (DFW area) on Tuesday, October 1, 2013
    Will become ultra-handy for people like me, who often need a lot of little Items by their side. I'll use it for fishing, hiking, survival--will be perfect for what I call a "second-tier" kit, tier one is the sardine-can-sized first tier. I don't hunt, but it has a game pocket. Men or women can wear it without a purse or backpack.

    Dad can wear it for a day out with baby: spare clean diaper, teething thingies, toys, medicine, baby powder and lotion . . . you get the picture. I can see it for all sorts of field work. . . . with notebooks, magnifying glass, cell phone, walkie talkie, signal flares

    I don't know how well the stitching will hold up, but it looks like it was carefully stiched. These kind of vests are usually expensive because of all the labor it takes to build and attach the pockets.

    When I saw it at a sale price, I bought it without thinking through all the uses, but fishing and hiking will be my main use.
  • Reviewed by bill from sacramento on Tuesday, October 1, 2013
    wife likes it also. worth the money
  • Reviewed by CREDTO from Montesano, Wa. on Monday, September 30, 2013
    I look forward to wearing this vest next summer. A very nice fitting light weight vest.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 35 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #