Customer Reviews Of:
Royal Robbins Zip ‘N Go Convertible Pants (For Women)

Closeouts. The two-in-one design of Royal Robbins' Zip ‘N Go convertible pants is perfect for all-day hikes, backpacking and minimalist traveling. The lightweight nylon construction packs down small, dries quickly, and features tons of pockets for the essentials.

Average Rating based on 27 reviews 4.259259 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Walkabout from California on Monday, March 9, 2015
    I really wanted to like these pants, but my pair came with legs of 2 different lengths (when zipped off).

    First, the good stuff: These pants are super lightweight and packable. They would be great for warm weather travel. They are long, like other posters noted, but they fastened fine at my ankles so I wouldn't be walking on the pant leg. Pockets were sufficient, although not bulky.

    Needs improvements: One short leg was at least 1/2" longer than the other. It was very visible, and the only reason I am sending them back. When the legs were zipped on, it was harder to tell the shorts were different lengths.

    On smaller issues, I could use more volume in the pockets, since I wanted these for field work where lots of pockets are sooo helpful. Also, I might prefer somewhat heavier weight pants for greater durability, although I'm getting pretty picky here.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Montana hiker from NW Montana on Thursday, March 5, 2015
    Very nice and fit perfectly in my usual size. Can't wait to wear them!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lyn preparing for HI from Michigan on Monday, February 23, 2015
    These are lightweight, probably quick drying (haven't tried yet) and will work for my purpose. The waist is a true waist, and I had hoped for one that was a tad lower and more comfortable. I can wear an 8 in a stretch pant, but these are not "stretch" (just a bit of elastic in the waistband) so ordered a size 10 and the fit works. The shorts are shorter than a lot of convertible pants, which is to my personal satisfaction. I like the velcro closures at the bottom of the leg which opens for a wider leg access with shoes.
  • Reviewed by Mandy from So Cal on Monday, February 2, 2015
    I am glad I was able to track these down, they are my favorite hiking pants. The have been with me for literally hundreds of miles. The fit is good, the pockets aren't too big and when the bottom of the pants are zipped off, they are just the right length.

    My only complaint is that they need 2 more belt loops, one at the side seam on both sides. It was and easy fix.
  • Reviewed by Cait from Pennsylvania on Monday, October 27, 2014
    I really like these. i just wore them recently hiking around Shenandoah National Park. The weather was alternately warm and chilly and it was easy to convert them to shorts without taking my shoes off. they dry quickly and they have a nice fit/cut so i really like the look of them too. they are on the long side and i could've used a short length rather than a regular, but the pants have a feature for you to cinch them at the bottom so they don't drag on the ground.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Traveler from Connecticut on Sunday, September 28, 2014
    These pants fit true to size but are long. I am 5'4" and they were quite a few inches long. I can still wear them because they have buttons on the bottom that you can make the bottom tighter and they won't drag on the floor. I like that feature along with the pockets. They are nice and light so I think they will dry very fast when I wash them on my safari.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HikesWithDogs from Tucson, AZ on Friday, August 8, 2014
    These are great pants. They are lightweight which makes them great for hiking even when it's hot but I still feel protected from sun and scratchy shrubbery on the trail. They were a little long but they're fine with shoes on. I'm 5'7" and about 150lbs.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Carmel Hiker from Indiana on Tuesday, August 5, 2014
    I loved these pants for my 12-day, 70-mile hike. I wish I had purchased two pair so I could have alternated them daily. The side pockets were large enough for basic essentials. the fabric repelled water, was quick drying, and had a slight give to them. I purchased two sizes up, which worked out fine. I think the 12 would have been better, but time was limited and I needed to make sure they would work. I'm 5'5, 145 lbs, pear shaped, and typically wear a 10. Other reviews stated these ran small so I ordered up two sizes given my pear shape. A 12 would have worked great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SMF from North Carolina on Sunday, May 11, 2014
    Most functional brand & best-fitting pants, at least, for me. I travel constantly with work, & these are my 'go-to' pants. Have worn RR pants for 8 years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cckiger from Mariposa, CA on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    These pants are super for summer hiking. What I wanted to point out is that I bought a nylon zip 'n go Royal Robbins pant from STP a couple months ago that look exactly like these, other than where the label is sewn. I liked them so much I wanted to re-order but my size was sold out. So I ordered these. They look the same but run much bigger. In the original pants I bought the size 4 which fit perfectly and is my normal size. In these, the size 2 fit like the 4 did of the other pair. So if in doubt, size down. There is no way I'd ever consider myself a size 2. They are fantastic pants.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3