Rugged Shark Approach Mid Hiking Boots - Waterproof, Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. A waterproof, breathable light hiker with plentiful padding, Rugged Shark Approach Mid hiking boots have 200g Thinsulate® insulation so you stay warm even in wet conditions.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dan from San Diego, CA on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    Used these for a trail day hike (5.5 hours) and got blisters afterwards. Pretty sturdy, needs aftermarket insoles. Could be ok.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mojo from Colorado on Thursday, November 15, 2012
    I bought these as casual everyday shoes I could wear to the barn or through mild snow falls and slushy conditions. I took them hunting as 'car/travel' shoes. Ended up wearing them during mostly warm (mid 50-60's day time, mid 20's night) when my regualr all condition boots needed insoles. These worked well in all but the most snowy/muddy conditions. Those are the conditions that only 'round nipple' soles work well in (the kind that the better hunting and pack boots have). Very impressed as the price is good. They may need some corn starch in them occasionally, as they seemed to smell up a bit after a few days of full day wear and hiking in a row.

    I have only worn them a few weeks, so can't comment on wear. They seemed wide in the toe box, and I have high instep. All was well. I have narrow heels, so no issues there for me. Plenty roomy. Light on the legs after wearing all day hiking with a medium pack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by E.H. from Lake Tahoe, Ca. on Monday, October 22, 2012
    Hard to find a mid hiker in this price range that is both insulated and waterproof. These boots are comfortable from the beginning.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Drugcop4 from Murphysboro, Illinois on Wednesday, October 17, 2012
    Seems like it will be a good hiker for trail and winter walker. The traction is good and the boot is warm. It may be to warm for the summer not sure yet. Good fit from the box, I like 10.5 for hiker, all they had was 10 and it was good. Only complaint so far is when I pulled on the tounge pull strap it came right off clean. My guess is a manufacture stitch point was missed, not enough to go through sending them back ... yet.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: Not Durable/ Wears Easily, Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Traction, No Break-in, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ByronAlpha from Pooler, ga on Monday, October 1, 2012
    Took a chance with these budget hiking boots after reading the reviews. These things are great. They feel like a cloud on your feet buy provide plenty of support.
    • Arch Type: Low Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PAK MAN from NY NY on Friday, September 28, 2012
    i have not really used all that much, but i like already. AEvery year i buy a new balance, merrill or other waterproof hiker and this seems to be made about the same. Seems like a great value, fingers crossed they hold up for the fall/winter seasons.
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by an outdoor enthusiast from Montana on Monday, September 17, 2012
    I bought these for my son. He wore them on a 5 day backpacking trip and came home with seams splitting open on both boots! These are not well made and not worth the savings.
    • Cons: Not Durable/ Wears Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Cheap
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by HangGlider from Copiague, NY on Tuesday, August 21, 2012
    I bought these at a steal for 33 bucks. We needed hiking boots with high ankle support for our hang gliding trip. Great deal for the money. No complaints.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Good Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mom from Connecticut on Thursday, August 16, 2012
    I purchased these for my son, who's going on a backpacking trip. While he hasn't yet given these boots their full work-out, his initial experience with them is that they are extremely comfortable, and likely not in need of much break-in at all. After a few walks locally he reports that they have been comfortable from the start. It always seems a little risky buying shoes on line, but these were very true to size and an easy fit. Interestingly, my husband and two sons all wear the same size, they each tried on the boots and all said that they were comfortable. I can't yet speak to their durability or waterproof-ness, but if these had been tried on in a store they would have been purchased.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, No Break-in, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Desert dweller from Mesa, AZ on Sunday, August 5, 2012
    These boots are light and comfortable on easy trails or aroung town. On rocky uneven trails I could feel the rock through the sole. The boot twists on steep traverses and my toes pushed foward on steep descents. These will work for easy trails with few rocks.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday, Light Loads
    • Cons: Not Durable/ Wears Easily
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Traction, No Break-in, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.