Sage 1850 Fly Fishing Reel - 5-6wt

Closeouts. An outstanding value in a large arbor design, Sage's 1850 fly fishing reel has solid drag strength and a fast retrieve rate. It features lightweight aluminum construction and a non-glare charcoal finish.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by YakFisher from VA on Thursday, April 17, 2014
    For the price you can get this reel at there isn't anything better on the market right now. Is it as nice as a Lamson, of course not but for a spare reel or on a rod that gets beat around or for having multiple lines set up and ready to go for the same price as a spool you can get an entire reel.

    It is a little on the heavy side but the drag is super smooth and has held up to a few carp I have caught. All in all a great reel and i might pick up a few more.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Federal from North Eastern Pennsylvania on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    Just received my Sage 1850 5 wt reel, to replace an old Sage fly reel (not sure of model, but at least 15 years old). The reel seems well built, with nice drag. Will be a few weeks before I am able to try it out, especially with snow in the forecast for tonight (April 15, 2014).
  • Reviewed by SurfFlyCaster from Central Coast, California on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    I read about this real... I can't remember where... but it was ranked fourth out of twenty plus saltwater reels and it was less than a third the price of the reel above it or below it ( that was at retail). This reel does not disappoint. I cast in the surf of California's central coast which means I'm in rocks mud sandy water and natural oil leaks. At $75 this reel seemed like a great opportunity for a stress test. .I take care of initial dry line drag by dunking it in the surf before I casting. if i have to drop it to manage a fish no worries, a swirl in the surf cleans it up we're ready to go. at the end of the day i hit it with the garden hose and leave it on the porch to dry. the sealed drag is smooth as could be... the finish seems bullet proof and all the tolerances are wide enough to ignore sand but not so wide as to allow line fouling...I've probably got about a hundred hours on this reel it hasn't shown a glitch.

    My only (minor gripe is that the clicker is not so aggressive as the one on my Lamson reel so I occasionally reel in a couple feet of line when i hit it while I'm stripping to race a wave. I bought a few more in each size for myself and to but on the rods I build for friends.
  • Reviewed by 1parshutr from Md on Tuesday, March 25, 2014
    Can't beat the price. Even though it's the entry level reel it is very well made. You can throw an extra one in your tackle box for when you need it.
  • Reviewed by G D from Park City on Saturday, March 22, 2014
    This Sage reel is well constructed, smooth, and it has an excellent drag control. It far exceeds the reel that it is replacing. The only reason for not giving it a 5/5 rating is that it was pretty difficult to switch the retrieve from left to right. Even my guy at the fly shop had a lot of trouble, but we got it done after some struggle. So, if you like a right-hand retrieve, prepare to do some battle.
  • Reviewed by Scotty65 from Columbia, MO on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    I bought this Sage reel because of the price. I was needing a backup reel but it has become my regular reel now. Finish is not the best, weight is average, smooth when reeling and one of the best drags I have had on a reel. Reel holds lots of line because of it's size. No real complaints other than the finish.
  • Reviewed by MJAinKY from Burlington, KY on Wednesday, February 05, 2014
    If you're looking for a really nice reel for 5-to-7-weight fly lines, this discontinued Sage reel is a winner. Smooth drag, great backing and line capacity and a decent price. Extra spools can be found online (try FRA first).
  • Reviewed by Sheriffdad from CA on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    Sage makes quality products, and this reel is no exception. The drag is smooth, and the large arbor is very efficient.
  • Reviewed by itchmesir from Minnesota on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    Picked up the 5/6 for my 7wt set up... Very nice looking reel. Drag seems to be very smooth.
  • Reviewed by MTSharc from Arizona on Sunday, January 05, 2014
    Very nice. Very well made. I look forward to many years of use.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.