Sage 1880 Fly Fishing Reel - 7-9wt

Closeouts. An outstanding value in a large arbor design, Sage's 1880 fly fishing reel has solid drag strength and a fast retrieve rate. It features lightweight aluminum construction and a non-glare charcoal finish.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by Uncle Dennis from California on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    The Sage 1600, 1800 and 2000 series reels are a great bargain now. They are no longer in production and prices are dropping on existing stock. While these are the entry level Sage products, they have good drags, large arbor design and interchangeable spools. I've used them for years and they work great for normal trout stream and lake fishing.
  • Reviewed by cupojoe from N Carolina on Monday, March 10, 2014
    For $75 bucks this is one heck of a reel. Its on the heavy side and looks like something out of the industrial revolution with a dull coating that looks like truck bed liner. You can have all that polished aluminum though. I like the rugged look. Reel is buttery smooth and picks up alot of line per turn. Somewhere around 9" per crank. My only concern is the way the spool is held on. It pops on and is held in place with an o ring but it seems solid with hardly any play. Sage is still making reels using this design so I guess they haven't had alot of complains or problems with it. Drag is probably the best I've ever seen at this price or on even more expensive reels. At full retail price I would have passed on this reel and probably spent more $$$ and went a little better but for STP's price I'll be buying a few more because it really is that good. If I had to pick a downside it would be the weight but it does balance a 9' 10wt very nicely.
  • Reviewed by MaineFlyFishPK from Maine on Sunday, March 09, 2014
    Sage 1880 fly reel is an excellent reel for an excellent price. The drag is awesome. Just look at the 8 wt fly reel shootout for proof.
  • Reviewed by mark from north port fl on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    nice large arbor fly reel. you cant beat sage quality. Add a super low price its a no brainer.

    great drag system can put the brakes on any fish ( in its weight class )

    smooth reel

    nice line capacity
  • Reviewed by DocFisher from South Carolina on Wednesday, February 05, 2014
    Haven't used yet but taking it to Alaska. Nice drag system
  • Reviewed by Mark on the "fly" from Central Cal on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    Unbeatable price to get a switch rod /large arbor reel for smaller runs. Smooth as Sage always is and it is just plain ugly. Took it to the river full of granite and boulders and was not worried for one second about scratches nicks or rubs. Just fish Just fish, Just fish! Hooked a three pounder and the drag did what needed to be done.....(using wulff ambush 10 weight on a switch rod), so far so good. Oh yes, I only could get on 100 yards of 20 lb backing with that 100 foot line, on this reel.

    For the price, you cannot go wrong for what might be hooked in central calif....
  • Reviewed by R&S fishing from South Texas on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    No frills but it works and the price is good.
  • Reviewed by tinbendrmt from Montana on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    I have a reel just like this that I've been using on my yearly king salmon trips to Kodiak, Ak. I use it with a single arm rod and a spey rod, it does a great job landing the 20 to 40 lb salmon.
    I was givin a 7wt. switch rod for xmas and purchased this reel to use with it for the trips up north
  • Reviewed by Steve-oh from Alabama on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    This reel is great so far. I took it fishing as soon as it arrived. I used it on a St. Croix 8-weight rod/ Cabelas 8-weight line and backing. It performed beautifully. I caught 3 largemouth bass the first day but they were too small to take them to the reel. I can’t wait to hook a large one and see how it does. From my experience with reels, it seems like it’ll do just fine. The drag seems easy and large for quick adjustment if you get a bigger fish on. The only thing I worry about is how the spool comes off; you physically push it off as opposed to a trigger or button release. Oh yea, it looks really cool! I hope it holds out because so far, so good.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.