Sage DXL Typhoon Waist Pack - Large

Closeouts. Sage's DXL Typhoon waist pack features a durable, watertight construction, multiple organizing pockets and an internal "work station" so everything you'll need for a day on the water is easily within reach.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
  • Reviewed by Kyle from Utah on Sunday, March 24, 2013
    Got this pack for day use around the rivers and lakes in MT and UT. I've only used it one time but it was a pretty good experience. I feel that all the straps are solid and in the right places. I didnt use the the shoulder strap and just let it hang on my hips. I didnt have a ton of stuff in the bag but it wasnt terribly noticeable for the 5 hours I was out and about. The only reason I'm giving it a 4 star is because the main waterproof pouch is very stiff (which might loosen up after time) and it was very hard to get things in and out of. Also that pouch is also narrow. Other than that the pockets are good and the main compartment is pretty large. Definitely worth it if you get it on sale on STP
  • Reviewed by rewader from ca on Tuesday, March 5, 2013
    Haven't used it yet, but it should be good. It is roomy but can be cinched down as well. I hope it sheds water in the rain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Trapper John from Southwest Missouri on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    This is a great solution if you need a pack that will hold large fly boxes and light raincoat, along with many of the other small tools and necessities.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fly Guy from Cody, WY on Thursday, February 7, 2013
    The Sage fishing pack is top flight in every way. This is an excellent product. Very well made. Durable and tough. Built to withstand on the stream real world situations.

    My only complaint is the magnetic snap closure system on the top flap is far too weak to stay closed. This is a big deal if you want your fly boxes, gloves, tippet spools to stay in your pack and not fall out and float away down the river.

    I was able to fix this by adding an additional magnetic snap closure to the top flap. These are available at any fabric store for a couple bucks and fixed the problem. A small price to pay for such a quality pack. Two thumbs up on this Sage fishing pack. Truely a great product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PNWsteelheader from Washington on Sunday, February 3, 2013
    Perfect for anyone in the PNW. I fish in the rain a lot, this pack keeps everything dry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JR from Cheyenne on Sunday, December 16, 2012
    Works well for fishing, the magnetic closure is not strong enough for Wyoming wind
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by salt_fly from Houston, TX on Saturday, December 15, 2012
    Like everything Sage makes, this is a very high-quality product. The design and construction are top notch. It is pretty big, but that's what I usually need for a full day of fishing. Lots of pockets and truly waterproof zipper. Room for multiple fly boxes, tippet, tools, snacks, water bottles, and even more. Great deal at the STP sale price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by William from Southern Missouri on Tuesday, December 4, 2012
    Tried other great packs, but none waterproof.
    Was tired of getting bottom of my other packs wet when wading a little deep.
    This will be my go to pack in all weather and wading conditions.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ken from MI on Sunday, November 25, 2012
    Sage makes great technical gear. I use it for flyfishing on foot wearing waders. Closeout price less Sierra discount makes a great deal.
    Ken
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ranger Ken from Denver, Colorado on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
    Always wanted one of these bags but full retail was too much to pay. To get such a top quality item for a STP price is hard to beat.
    • Best Uses: Fly fishing
    • Cons: Not many pockets
    • Pros: Roomy, Waterproof, Well Made
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-10 of 10 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.