Salewa Firetail Hiking Shoes (For Women)

Closeouts. The lightweight, trail-runner design of Salewa's Firetail hiking shoes melds a sturdy, protective upper with the features you'd look for in a climbing shoe.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Denver Mom 1655 from Colorado on Sunday, July 27, 2014
    I liked the shoe alot. Nice color, nice design, but the fit wasn't great. I have a narrow foot, so I thought I'd give it a try even after seeing some reviews talking about the fit being too narrow. Unfortunately, the toe box is just too narrow. I sent them back.
  • Reviewed by Jeff in LA from Los Angeles on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    I'll say it. She's more into fashion than the outdoors, BUT these are so cool that they got her out on the trail again, and there has been no stopping her. She loves them. They look great, and work even better. Form and function. Sizing was not an issue.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by weekend hiker from Auburn CA on Tuesday, June 17, 2014
    These shoes appeared well-made and I liked the appearance. I really hoped they would fit well. Alas, that was not the case. The toe box seemed too small. I thought about going a half size larger but didn't really think that would help, so I had to return them.
  • Reviewed by Blue Ridge Hiker from North Carolina on Thursday, March 06, 2014
    Liked the look of these shoes but they narrow to a pointy end like I've noticed all Salewa shoes do so if your foot is not that shape, then they probably aren't going to be comfortable
  • Reviewed by stones2cut from seattle on Monday, December 31, 2012
    I ordered size 11. The shoes are substantially - nearly an inch - longer than either my Montrail approach shoes or my New Balance running shoes, both of which are size 11.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dirtbag Wannabe from Santa Barbara, CA on Saturday, October 27, 2012
    Got these as a gift for my girlfriend and I was pleasantly pleased when I pulled them out of the box. The design is rugged yet stylish with great colors. They are quite stiff which is great for approach shoes, and the rubber is in all the right spots. I cannot wait for my girlfriend to see these!
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Day hikes, Everyday
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Durable, Great Traction
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by guenthej from Berkeley, CA on Sunday, September 30, 2012
    European sizing appears to be the most accurate on the shoes that I've bought recently.

    Be sure to ask for the EU size before buying shoes online!

    My girlfriend wears a 40.5. These shoes were marked as US women's 9.5, which should correspond to EU 40.5, but the actual EU size printed on the shoes was 41, which is too large.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Day hikes, Everyday
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, No Break-in
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Meow from Abq nm on Thursday, September 27, 2012
    The Firetrail is my new daily shoe.
    I am a monstrous Patagonia shoe fan and these rival
    my Bly's. I love the lacing to the toe and the heel cup is grand.
    They feel and look great on. I bought both colors and eagerly await new additions
    to STP's vast selection.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Everyday
    • Describe Yourself: Environmentalist
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Great Traction, No Break-in
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain girl from New Mexico on Thursday, August 23, 2012
    I read about these hikers in Backpacker magazine - I was looking for hiking shoes that would give me good traction on loose rock. I love these shoes. Wore them right away on short hikes and then on a 6-hour hike up steep terrain. I felt confident coming down hardpack trails with loose pebbles and rock. These shoes are fun to look at and to wear. They have a no blister guarantee! My daughter who rarely likes my clothing liked them and ordered a pair. Nothing not to like about these. I plan to wear these backpacking and climbing 14ers soon as they are lighter and will give me more control climbing up rock fields. Fingers crossed on that, but I'm optimistic.
    • Arch Type: Average Arch
    • Best Uses: Day hikes, Everyday
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Traction, No Break-in
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jend8 from nh on Friday, July 06, 2012
    hiked wihtout issue or break in
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Day hikes
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: No Break-in
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.