Salomon Synapse CS Trail Shoes - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Salomon's Synapse CS trail shoes are ready for a fast-paced hike over any trail, with a waterproof breathable Climashield® membrane to keep feet dry, a durable mesh upper with stability-enhancing overlays, moisture-wicking mesh lining and an OS Tendon on the Contagrip® outsole that helps create an efficient gait.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
  • Reviewed by Micah from Washington on Thursday, September 18, 2014
    This was a decent shoe overall, although they were too warm for my liking-- Comfortable, easy break-in period, and convenient to be able to slip them on, but I had worried the bungee would be a weak point. It was! I wear these daily, but not OK that they didn't even survive 6 months.

    The waterproofing is decent, but not great. They work fine in the rain with small puddles, but expect wet socks if it's really coming down or if you cross a stream. The padding is nice, the arch support isn't too bad (I hate arch support-- these were ok, but it's definitely there)

    I wouldn't purchase these again or refer them to a friend. They aren't terrible, but between the short bungee life and how warm they are, I don't see a good market for them. If I want warm hikers, I'd probably want boots. For being waterproof, they really lacked waterproof-ness.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Daddy-O from Colorado on Tuesday, September 9, 2014
    I take size 8.5 (usually a 8 or 8.5 in Salomon) - these fit and performed well out of the box. no need to break-in lace-up system is convenient and secure - easy to adjust and keep as tight as needed while still comfortable. good traction on rocky and wet surfaces. feet stayed dry. great for short to long day hikes in variable weather.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by emgred from NYC on Thursday, August 28, 2014
    As described. I have worn Salomon hiking boots for years so thought I would give the trail shoes a try. They are all you said the would be. Glad you mentioned that they run small. I ordered 1/2 size larger than normal and they fit great. Would like to rate them 4 1/2 stars for two reasons: 1- way too early to tell anything about wear & 2- NOTHING is perfect!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by timreviewsky from 92211 on Monday, August 18, 2014
    Comfortable waterproof shoe, those who need support love this shoe. Really great looking shoe too if that matters. Goofy laces are easy to use after a while. I have large hands and it took me some work to manipulate them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker leon from Philadelphia on Thursday, August 14, 2014
    I wear this hiking shoe everyday. Good air flow inside and waterproof!
  • Reviewed by Rovin' Geezer from Da UP, eh! on Thursday, June 12, 2014
    I bought these needing lightweight waterproof footwear with good traction and good support. I golf, walking and carrying; my course waters early and lacks "Hogan's Walks: (a mowed strip from tee box to fairway), has poor drainage on several holes with squishy turf, puddles, even transient streams. Today was the baptism under fire. It had rained, then came a 15" cloudburst after the first hole. My feet stayed dry and I didn't need to even worry about walking through wet grass or puddles. The fit is right (1/2 size larger than my normal), foot support just fine and traction very good, even on steep slopes with wet grass. 9 holes, no hot spots no blisters, no sore feet! I like the uber quick speed lacing, too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wilderness Child from Northern California on Tuesday, June 3, 2014
    These shoes appear well made and are comfortable out of the box. I like the quick lace system and the wide toe box but decided to return them because the color didn't quite work for me plus I'm looking for more of a trail runner whereas the Synapse is more suitable for hiking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JonnyJeanshorts from Virginia on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    Calling these my festival shoes. Very comfortable to change into from my flip flops once it gets dark and I am more prone to stumble.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cutter from D.C. on Monday, May 26, 2014
    Well made and good fitting shoes.
  • Reviewed by Mark M from Boulder, CO on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    This is my second pair of Salomon shoes with the lacing system. The lacing system is key in two areas:
    Waterproofness - The lacing allows Salomon to have continuous coverage across the top of the foot without a conventional tongue that leaks.
    Fit - This system applies even pressure across the whole of the foot. I have a narrow foot and struggle with many shoes to get the lacing tight enough without excessive pressure on one portion of the foot. The speed lacing system fixes that. I get it tight for support and fit but the pressure is evenly distributed.

  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.