Salomon XA Pro 3D Ultra 2 Trail Running Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Lightweight and breathable, Salomon XA Pro 3D Ultra 2 trail running shoes add a new dimension of performance with a quick-drying mesh upper, rapid lacing system and Contagrip® rubber outsole.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Utah on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    Just finished the Highline Trail in Utah's Uintah Mountains on these. 78 miles, 5 days. Very impressed with these shoes-- very lightweight, excellent grip and tread, lacing system holds the foot securely on uneven terrain, toe cap protects from kicking rocks and roots, rock plate protects the arch from most rock hits. My only suggestion for improvement would be to extend the rock plate forward to the ball of the foot, if this could be done without affecting flex. For what they are, they are near perfect: I became a convert after several friends used them... the only two consistent criticisms I've seen are that they are too beefy for running ( which is a positive from my perspective, as I only use them to hike), and durability issues, which I have not experienced. FWIW, I'm 190 pounds and hiked with a pack that started at 29 pounds, finished at 20.5, and this shoe worked fine. Not just for flyweights...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by machine from Texas on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    I like the overall fit and quality of these shoes. Traditional laces would make the rating 5 stars. The speed lace system works OK, but it is harder to get that "just right" adjustment than with good old laces.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Uetani from Tokyo on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    I'm slow, but I'm nuts, and I run nutty things like from the ocean to the top of Mt. Fuji and back, or on 200km races through the mountains in Bhutan, or other ultra distances that involve lots of slopes -- Hills are the only way that I can make up time in races. These shoes are not the lightest out there, but they are rugged, well-made, come in widths, and have soles that can stand up to lots of rough terrain. I did around 500km in the first pair before they started to fail, and I plan on ruining them completely with another 70km trip up/down Fuji this weekend. The new pair is still sitting in its warm cardboard box and has no idea what awaits it. :-)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by shingolcm from China on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
    Like walking on pillows. Roomy toe box. Great traction. Cradles heel. Love not having to deal with laces. Cool design
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mehul from Ohio on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    Not only do these shoes have great traction and support in mud and snow, they are so comfortable for travel. The quick lacing is great to get through the TSA gropings.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by asmithqueens from queens on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    This is a good stable grippy shoe from Salomon. This is my second pair; bought the first one at full price. The toe box is very sturdy for hiking on rocky stuff versus a regular trail runner. Love that. Also it keeps my feet pretty cool and is fairly light while providing stability. Offered in wide, which I also appreciate.

    However, it will wear pretty fast. After a weeklong backpacking trip it was showing pretty significant signs of wear. Probably good for 2-300 backpacking miles in my book before the rubber, stitching and etc starts to really go.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kayenine from Hood River, OR on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    This is a classic case of a shoe that does everything well but nothing extraordinarily well. This is actually a replacement pair for the originals which tore out a one of the eyelets. The pros are: Comfortable for all day casual wear; good for trail-running and light hiking; speed laces are fast (see cons below); is not aesthetically offensive. The cons are: a little heavy for serious runners without providing significantly more protection than a normal running shoe; speed lace buckle tends to slip over time which is a real pain; speed laces in general are a poor substitute for real laces; mesh ended up tearing in several places at around what I would consider 75% of the life of the shoe; a little pricey unless you can find a great deal; not great for hiking rough terrain, like large broken rock (but then no shoe works well for this). For running the hassle of the speed laces slipping and the lack of adjustment that you get with real laces is a real deal breaker. Fortunately this problem didn't come up until I had retired the shoes to every day use and actually liked how fast the speed laces allowed me to get into them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by motoman from eureka,ca. on Monday, May 19, 2014
    good shoe I would buy again.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve from Florida on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    Comfortable and attractive. Wore them all day yesterday on my feet, and had no problem at all. Really an upgrade from the Columbia's that I was wearing. The only minor thing is the lack of shoelaces. There is a drawstring toggle that you pull, and it does not always work perfectly.
  • Reviewed by Stephen from AL on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    These shoes initially feel like they have a high arch and I ordered a half size larger. They fit amazing and I love the string pull laces -- no more tying!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.