Salomon XA Pro 3D Ultra 2 Trail Running Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Lightweight and breathable, Salomon XA Pro 3D Ultra 2 trail running shoes add a new dimension of performance with a quick-drying mesh upper, rapid lacing system and Contagrip® rubber outsole.

Average Rating based on 24 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 24 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bundoker from Washington on Friday, September 19, 2014
    These Trail runners have a great fit and the rapid lacing system works great for travelling through airports! The firm outsoles and ample arch support made four days of city walking in Europe a pleasure -- especially important for me as I've had plantar's fasciaitis in the past. Now I'm looking forward to using them for mountain biking and some real trail-running. I highly recommend these shoes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jeannie from North Carolina on Thursday, September 4, 2014
    These shoes are so great that my boyfriend wont wear anything else. I bought them for him when his other pair were just so worn out, I appreciate Sierra Trading Post for having these shoes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flanders from Tampa on Saturday, August 23, 2014
    This is the second pair of Salomon shoes that I have owned and unfortunately these fit considerably more snug (width-wise) than the first. I was hoping they would loosen up a bit after breaking them in but not the case thus far. They appear to be well built and they are extremely light weight but I would recommend looking for a different model if you have a normal width foot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by WV Shopper from Morgantown, WV on Sunday, August 10, 2014
    I thought these would be like another pair of these same shoes from Salomon but the laces are cut very short and barely leave room to put your foot in the shoe. I guess since these are made in China, they are like snowflakes - no two alike. Maybe yours will be better.
  • Reviewed by colorado mountain boy from Colorado on Sunday, August 3, 2014
    As the other reviewer pointed out the wide is not wider. I don't understand this either. My other NOT wide Salomon's are wider. I am going to keep the shoes and hope for the best because I love all of my other Salomon shoes/boots. Otherwise these shoes are awesome and I'd give them a full five star rating except for the width issue. Hopefully this will help those of you hoping for a wider shoe to not expect these to work out for you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tommy walker from Wisconsin on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    Second pair of Ultra 2's. The top's and bottoms wear like iron.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Climbhigh from NJ on Thursday, July 31, 2014
    I've been wearing the ultras long before it became the ultra 2. I have run a lot of mountain trails with this shoe and find it to fit perfectly and give me all the support and traction that I need. In almost every case the insole wears out fairly quickly and I use a shock doctor insole instead. This insole also lessens the cushioning but provides much more stability on Rocky and Rooty trails. The shoe almost goes on forever and takes a long time to wear out.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Utah on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    Just finished the Highline Trail in Utah's Uintah Mountains on these. 78 miles, 5 days. Very impressed with these shoes-- very lightweight, excellent grip and tread, lacing system holds the foot securely on uneven terrain, toe cap protects from kicking rocks and roots, rock plate protects the arch from most rock hits. My only suggestion for improvement would be to extend the rock plate forward to the ball of the foot, if this could be done without affecting flex. For what they are, they are near perfect: I became a convert after several friends used them... the only two consistent criticisms I've seen are that they are too beefy for running ( which is a positive from my perspective, as I only use them to hike), and durability issues, which I have not experienced. FWIW, I'm 190 pounds and hiked with a pack that started at 29 pounds, finished at 20.5, and this shoe worked fine. Not just for flyweights...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by machine from Texas on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    I like the overall fit and quality of these shoes. Traditional laces would make the rating 5 stars. The speed lace system works OK, but it is harder to get that "just right" adjustment than with good old laces.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Uetani from Tokyo on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    I'm slow, but I'm nuts, and I run nutty things like from the ocean to the top of Mt. Fuji and back, or on 200km races through the mountains in Bhutan, or other ultra distances that involve lots of slopes -- Hills are the only way that I can make up time in races. These shoes are not the lightest out there, but they are rugged, well-made, come in widths, and have soles that can stand up to lots of rough terrain. I did around 500km in the first pair before they started to fail, and I plan on ruining them completely with another 70km trip up/down Fuji this weekend. The new pair is still sitting in its warm cardboard box and has no idea what awaits it. :-)
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 24 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.