Customer Reviews Of:
Salomon XR Crossmax Neutral CS Trail Running Shoes (For Women)

Closeouts. It's no surprise why Runner's World magazine picked this line for "Best Debut" in April 2011. Salomon's XR Crossmax Neutral CS trail running shoes offer loads of technical performance in a lightweight package, built for all-year wear.

Average Rating based on 25 reviews 4.400000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by Sscordato from Chicagoland on Saturday, July 13, 2013
    and great price. Saw these shoes in Dicks Sporting Goods for over $30 more.
    Look nicer than anticipated. Will get a lot of wear out of these shoes.
  • Reviewed by Irelyn from North Carolina mountains on Thursday, July 4, 2013
    My second pair of these! Love the clima shield in the toe, and the fit is perfect.
  • Reviewed by Allison from Massachusetts on Monday, June 24, 2013
    An outstanding shoe for trail and street running!
  • Reviewed by Irelyn from North Carolina mountains on Saturday, June 1, 2013
    Loved these the minute I put them on--I wear a size 7, and these are a perfect fit. I would recommend these, absolutely. Just hope they will last for awhile, as I usually do about 50 miles a week at least. Usually, the bottoms of my shoes wear down so quickly. We'll see!
  • Reviewed by Ati from Madison on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    I am content with the design, look and the comfort. This is perfect buy with its reduced price.
  • Reviewed by Snow Cat from Minnesota on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    I trail and gravel road run and was looking for a neutral shoe. Reviewed all the options on STP and was drawn to this one because of the Runner's World review and I liked the looks. Almost didn't buy because of the reviews. Glad I did. I wear a size 7 - bought a size 7 - fits perfectly. I have owned other Salomon shoes and they fit me well. Good arch support, wider toe box and narrower heel. I was concerned about the laces being too long based on other comments but they are so easy on and off and are not too long. Super light weight, dry easily when they get wet and I love how they feel. Also just wore them for beach running on a trip to San Diego. Love them.
  • Reviewed by outdoor chick from NC on Saturday, May 18, 2013
    Really like these shoes. Very supportive, yet lite weight. Do run a little big as I have a narrow foot. You'll like them!
  • Reviewed by Lisabrarian from Virginia on Thursday, March 28, 2013
    Salomon's XR Mission for women is my favorite trail shoe, I thought I'd try these, but they're not nearly as comfortable and very stiff. I hope the XR Mission shows up in your catalogue soon. I'll buy one in every color.
  • Reviewed by Leigh-Anna from Agoura Hills, CA on Wednesday, March 6, 2013
    I really like this shoe. At first I was concerned that it would be too bulky (it runs slightly big and has a high profile), but it's not! Springy, comfortable, fairly good breathability.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by active at 60 from Santa Fe, NM on Thursday, February 21, 2013
    These are the most comfortable shoes for working out and hiking. They are also really practical with nice tread and supportive insoles. I typically wear 6 1/2, got the 7 per other people's comments. They're a perfect fit. I have never purchased Salomon shoes before. I am sold. It's the new standard for me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rolo from Boulder, Colorado on Sunday, January 6, 2013
    I am on my feet all day for work and walk my dogs twice a day. This is a great and comfortable shoe, the heel is wide though which causes slippage. I would say if you are a runner with a narrow heel this shoe would take a break in period. I like the lacing system but there is a lot of extra lace that I don't know what to do with.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kim E from littleton co on Monday, December 31, 2012
    Nice traction on dirt & packed snow for winter trail running.
    Toe box is roomie especially since I have a bunion on one foot so any give is much appreciated. 1st run was 7 miler then 2nd run as only 5 miles.
    Shoe is nice & comfortable when wearing a pair ice breaker socks to keep feet warm and dry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Paradise runner from Livingston, MT on Friday, December 14, 2012
    I have used these shoes for wet, snowy trail and road runs. They keep my feet relatively dry for non-Goretex shoes, have good cushioning and fit my wide forefoot well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by annafitgirl from Park City, UT on Tuesday, December 11, 2012
    I got these for winter running and they fit great and have good traction. I'm really glad I got these!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Saratoga Dee from Chardon, OH on Monday, December 10, 2012
    I really liked this trail running shoe. However, the ONLY downfall for me was the fact that the shoe kept slipping off me heel. No matter how tight I had the laces, it didn't seem to matter. I know the size was perfect because if I went a half size down, that would have been too small and my toes would be cramped. The shoe was extremely comfortable. The slipping was not something I could work through because I know that would have caused blisters in the not too distant future. Sadly, I had to return them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wackypenguin from Bothell, WA on Monday, December 10, 2012
    A solid trail shoe that kept my feet dry and stable while going through very muddy conditions. The forefoot is flexible enough considering that the shoe is made for long distances. About the only thing I wish it had which I believe other salomon models have is a pocket on the tongue to tuck the extra lace. I was a little paranoid about the extra lace catching on branches but it didn't happen.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Backyard hiker from Flagstaff, AZ on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    I have another pair of Soloman's and love them. I'm exciting to wear these.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dogcentric Universe from Connecticut on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    I loved the look of these shoes and wished they had fit. I usually wear a but my heel kept slipping when I tried them on. I also wasn't sure about the laces. I was able to make them tight enough (I thought) but there was so much slack that you had to then tuck the excess in. Not sure I would like that. These were kind of expensive, even with a great coupon, so I decided not to try in a smaller size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zekemonster from Paw Paw, MI on Monday, November 5, 2012
    I love these shoes but the right one is a little small (my right foot is slightly larger). I ordered them in my regular size but I should have ordered up a 1/2 size. Unfortunately, by the time I received them, they no longer had the next size up. I'm keeping them because I can't bear to part with them.
    • Cons: run a little small
    • Pros: Comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Train extreme from Boston on Sunday, November 4, 2012
    Great service
    • Best Uses: Cross Train
    • Pros: Comfortable Cross Train, Enough Depth For Orthotic, Good Fit
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lu from Lakewood, Ca on Wednesday, October 31, 2012
    workout, long walks
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by evil-Beth from Denver Co on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
    So far these are great shoes. I'm wearing them from 8 to 12 hours at a time on my feet the entire time. Seem really durable.
    • Best Uses: 13 Hour Shifts
    • Cons: Slightly Hurts My Toes
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good arch support, Sturdy
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lyn from Chicago, IL on Friday, October 19, 2012
    I had purchased these shoes at a chain sporting goods store & came home to realize they were still cheaper ($20 less) at my favorite on-line store, Sierra Trading Post
    • Pros: Good cushioning, Great Fit, Great Support, Love the lacing system
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sherry the herder from Memphis tn on Wednesday, October 17, 2012
    I can use these shoes for any outdoor adventure, lightweight , keep feet dry, and easy to move in as I run up and down the fields.
    • Best Uses: I Use Them For Herding
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Keep Feet Dry And Light
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Leacris from Denver, CO on Friday, September 28, 2012
    I had a pair of theses shoes and wore them out so I bought another pair and was not disappointed. Feel great and my geet feel great after being on them all day. The new colors are jazzy and my students say they are way cool.
    • Best Uses: Hanging out, Running, Walking
    • Pros: heal is just right, Roomy toe box
  • Sort by: