Salomon XR Mission Trail Running Shoes (For Women)

Closeouts. A follow up to the Crossmax model, Salomon's XR Mission trail running shoes are a moderate mileage trainer built with a gender-specific design. Underfoot, the combination of Contagrip® LT and HA outsole compounds and aggressive treads provide maximum traction over a variety of surfaces.

Average Rating based on 70 reviews 4.471428 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7
  • 1-10 of 70 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PamKY from Kentucky on Monday, August 10, 2015
    My main source of exercise is walking my dog(s). Over the last ten years, I've probably bought at least one model from all the "name brand" athletic shoes out there. Some would be pretty good, some would be tolerable, and a few were no-go's from the very first step.

    Tired of shelling out $$$$ for "pretty good" shoes, I turned to Sierra Trading Post and their wonderful reviewers and ended up trying a total unknown - the Salomon XR Mission Trail Running shoe. I was skeptical of the "quick lace" thing, but the price was terrific and the reviews were good.

    Out of the box, this is an attractive shoe with impressive tread. On the foot, it has a WIDE toe box, for which my moderate bunions are most grateful. Arch support is average, if you want more, go with some orthotics. The quick-lace system has a short learning curve and I now love it.

    On the road, the broad forefoot gives me the best stability of ANY shoe I have ever used. The ankle rides a bit high on my small foot and at first I was a bit bothered by the cuff hitting my ankle bones, but that seems to be lessening as I break the shoes in. These shoes do not have the pillowy-soft insole that you find in other shoes, which is not a problem for me. Again, if this were an issue, I would just put in a pair of Dr. Scholl's and go on my merry way.

    The final grade, based on complete lack of pain in my feet after a pretty long walk... A+

    Great shoe. My feet love it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Juli from Los Angeles on Monday, July 27, 2015
    I have only worn these shoes a couple of times since they arrived, they are my weekend walkers. I use them mainly for walking on pavement. I do some hiking but haven't yet worn these on the trail. So far, they are a good support for my feet and ankles (due to the stronger support around the heel). I'm having some trouble figuring out the quick tie or release and the little picture that came with the shoe was not much help. It is some consolation that if I get too frustrated with it, I can just buy some laces.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lee Glenna from Arizona on Wednesday, July 15, 2015
    My very first pair of Salomon trail shoes. Very light and fit is great. Thank you STP.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by UP Trail Runner from michigan on Wednesday, July 8, 2015
    I have never tried Solomon trail running shoes before and I can say with confidence that I will buy them every time. I have a very neutral foot so these fit wonderfully. They literally envelope your feet to offer support on the rocky and root terrain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Holli from Missouri on Tuesday, July 7, 2015
    Fits great. Toe box is nice and wide, shoe holds up well
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by roma2010 from Virginia on Wednesday, July 1, 2015
    I am not a trail runner , but was looking for comfortable walking shoes to wear everyday. I have osteoarthritis in one knee and was wearing Dansko clogs a lot, but my knee would hurt. With the Salomon shoes, I have no knee issues and enjoy walking a lot more.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rose from Eastern mts. on Monday, June 29, 2015
    I bought this trail running shoe to replace heavier Merrell hiking shoes. Now I will probably wear them for even more than hiking and walking trails. They are very light. The toe box is wide but there is great arch support and they can be worn with the lace cinched snugly or a little loose. I normally wear a 7 in street shoes but 7.5-8 in running shoes. I bought 7 and it fits perfectly with a thin sock.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by shorebird8 from Connecticut on Monday, June 22, 2015
    First time out, total comfort. Second time a little less. The toggle laces are not as easy or quick to adjust on the fly as one would imagine. (Used to Timberlands with a speed dial at the heel) Getting them off is another chapter in a continuing saga! The locking mechanism is very challenging and difficult to disengage. Looked online to see what I was doing wrong, but apparently nothing. I hope the laces hold up to the extreme tugging that is required to release them. Kind of a pain in the neck and no easier than old fashioned ties. Bummer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Adrian from Michigan on Thursday, June 11, 2015
    Great fit shoe. Love the way they tie, makes easy while getting kids shoes on too. I wear sized 7 in regular shoes and 7.5 in running shoes, and the is true with these shoes as well. They also have great amount of support. I wear them for running on the road or gravel. Love them!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cj the perfectionist from nw MT on Wednesday, June 10, 2015
    not the same shoe i first purchased from STP, this pair says something about ortho? in the insole? much stiffer then my first pair, giving them the old zumba class trial! only time will tell, these r really well made shoes though. have to take them on the trail to see.....
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7
  • 1-10 of 70 reviews