Salomon is a true pioneer in the ski industry. Their innovative technologies - like the first self-releasing ski binding in 1966 - gave an edge to Salomon's product line that enabled them to dominate the market over the last fifty years. Riding the momentum of their huge snow sport success, Salomon diversified into action sport equipment, apparel and footwear - outfitting outdoor enthusiasts of all persuasions and passions with products to enhance their lifestyles... whether they're mountaineering, adventure racing or river running. Signature ... Learn more about Salomoninnovations like QuickFit® lacing and Contagrip® outsoles stomped their way into Salomon's world-class trekking and adventure running footwear, with performance apparel following closely behind. Always true to their vision, Salomon strives to create authentic, progressive gear that could easily qualify for best in class - whatever the season, whatever the sport. ... Less
Average Rating based on 5126 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 513 »
  • 21-30 of 5124 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Utah on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    Just finished the Highline Trail in Utah's Uintah Mountains on these. 78 miles, 5 days. Very impressed with these shoes-- very lightweight, excellent grip and tread, lacing system holds the foot securely on uneven terrain, toe cap protects from kicking rocks and roots, rock plate protects the arch from most rock hits. My only suggestion for improvement would be to extend the rock plate forward to the ball of the foot, if this could be done without affecting flex. For what they are, they are near perfect: I became a convert after several friends used them... the only two consistent criticisms I've seen are that they are too beefy for running ( which is a positive from my perspective, as I only use them to hike), and durability issues, which I have not experienced. FWIW, I'm 190 pounds and hiked with a pack that started at 29 pounds, finished at 20.5, and this shoe worked fine. Not just for flyweights...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by machine from Texas on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    I like the overall fit and quality of these shoes. Traditional laces would make the rating 5 stars. The speed lace system works OK, but it is harder to get that "just right" adjustment than with good old laces.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Glen from Illinois on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    This was the first time I bought Salomon shoes. Excellent fit....snug but not too tight, excellent cushioning as well (6'4 240). Liked these so much I just ordered three more.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fractals Rule from Nevada on Monday, July 21, 2014
    I've grown to love the Saloman trail runners-they are stability shoes but lightweight. I can wear men's shoes too and sometimes prefer them because they are wide where my foot is wide. The last for the XR shift is, however, gender specific by design. I'm not exactly sure if that makes a difference, but these shoes fit me well in all the right places so there's no reason to doubt. Good looking, good support, good protection, good fit, good price=great shoes.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bj from Hi Rocky Mtns.CO on Monday, July 21, 2014
    Definitely an athletic fit.I am normally a large,outerware in Xl with layers.This was still too small for me but I am 230 ils.5'11''.Just a wind break no insulation as per description.Sent it back
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jacqui the Coloradan from Colorado on Monday, July 21, 2014
    I went into an REI recently and, after much discussion with a self-proclaimed running rockstar, I decided that I saw a lot of potential in these shoes. In the store, I got another color. Also, I have flat feet so I also bought some inserts. After using them for a few days, I wanted to go ahead and look into getting another pair so that I could switch them out. Lucky for me, STP sent me an email coupon and they had the exact pair that I wanted. So, for a much cheaper price, I got my second pair and they are just as good. I really like the color, too. They are a dark charcoal color with only a pop of neon pink around the ankle. (The ones I bought in store were a mint-ish color all over). I've been running and hiking with these shoes and they've held up great and the large toe box make sure that my toes don't have blisters at the end of the day.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AT from Duluth, MN on Monday, July 21, 2014
    Pros:
    Looks - The majority of trail running shoes are covered in retina-burning neon colors, these however are nice and easy on the eyes.
    Comfort - They come with equipped with some orthopedic inserts and now that I'm 30 I care about things like that.
    Water resistance - I don't advise submerging your entire foot into a river, but small puddle splashing here and there isn't a bother.
    Traction - Mountain lion grip!

    Cons:
    Fit - I had to reorder a half size bigger, now they're perfect.
    Breathability - I've had better, but I've definitely had worse.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hikealongmike from california on Monday, July 21, 2014
    Great fitting shoe but I did have to go half a size smaller. Normally wear 9 but got 8.5. It does squeak on concrete but whatever. Comfy shoe but I wouldn't recommend for people with wide feet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Colorado runner girl from Colorado on Monday, July 21, 2014
    Although they looked and felt good on my foot I thought the upper part of the shoe was too big. I like a snugger fitting shoe for running. Had to return..
  • Reviewed by Laurie in the Sierra from Pollock Pines on Saturday, July 19, 2014
    I have really high arches, so I was surprised how high this arch felt. It was downright uncomfortable. I really wanted this to work for me as a door to trail shoe. I am looking for something with some bite in the pavement in the winter in slushy conditions and traction on the trail. It appears that the problem with this shoe's arch has to do with a flange that surrounds the upper part of the EVA as it joins the upper. I would have preferred these to the XR Missions, because I have tried that speed lacing system with other Salomon shoes and found it to not hold my foot in properly. Laces need to be wide, not skinny. Sadly, these shoes are on their way back. I did not experience this problem when I tried on the XR Missions down in the city, so I will try them and see. I don't know why it is so hard to find a hybrid shoe that is truly neutral, and the heel is balanced from the start (not in preworn condition).
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • « 1 ... 3 ... 513 »
  • 21-30 of 5124 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;