San York Alpaca Cardigan Sweater - V-Neck (For Men)

Closeouts. The classic V-neck cardigan sweater is a perennial favorite among traditional dressers, and this San York sweater executes the look in silky-soft alpaca wool, known for its warmth and itch-free hand.

  • Alpaca wool is naturally hypoallergenic
  • Length: 26" (based on large)
  • Fabric: Alpaca
  • Care: Dry clean
  • Made in Peru

Average Rating based on 12 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
  • Reviewed by The Merino Marauder from Brooklyn on Monday, February 24, 2014
    I wanted to like this because it's alpaca, but the fit just didn't work for me.
  • Reviewed by mtinnkeeper from Montana on Friday, October 18, 2013
    Only a 4 star rating because the alpaca isn't quite as soft as other alpaca sweaters I have. But it's a good looking sweater & comfortable.
  • Reviewed by Michael from Washington on Friday, June 21, 2013
    Sizing, quality, style and warmth all exceeded my expectations. Throw in a killer price point and "we have a winner".
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by True Bob from the beach, CA on Thursday, February 7, 2013
    Today is the first time I'm wearing it, so I'll reserve judgement on quality until I see how it holds up. It does look well-made -- seams & hems are knit, not sewn. It's a very classic style, and a relatively slender cut -- not super-model skinny, but not roomy or baggy. I have long arms (36" sleeve in a dress shirt) and these sleeves are the right length for me: that may make them a bit long for many.

    Other commenters have said they find this sweater quite warm -- this doesn't meet the expectations those set for me. It's not nearly as warm as my lambswool cardigan, but it would layer better. The knit feels a bit too open for much warmth, but I'm sure with a layer over it, it would hold be quite toasty. It doesn't seem itchy at all, but very nice to touch.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Well-Dressed Euro-Lawyer from New York, NY on Wednesday, January 16, 2013
    I like cardigans. You can leave them open or button them up snugly. They can go under a sport or suit jacket or stand on their own. This cardigan always looks right. I received compliments from the first time I wore it, and continue to receive them. I got the burnt orange, a great color as versatile as rust but with a little bit of 'pop'. This is not a heavy or bulky sweater, but it is deceptive. Alpaca is a good insulator, even for those of us who do not inhabit the Andes. The alpaca wool keeps you toasty without overheating you. The weave makes the sweater look hand-made. Some complain about the sleeve length, but just turn them up once turn, and voilà! And the STP price!!! I gave it 4 rather than 5 stars because it isn't cashmere or a "fine" garment. But it will get the most wear of any sweater I own.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brumby fan from Canberra, Australia. on Saturday, May 26, 2012
    Would suit a seasoned cardigan wearer.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: None to speak of
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dave from Massena NY on Tuesday, January 24, 2012
    This sweater is as warm as my bulky lambs wool, without he bulk.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Super soft, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JCS from Utica, NY on Wednesday, January 4, 2012
    This is a nice cardigan. It has a nice shape and will be a great sweater to wear on its own or under a sports jacket. My only complaint is that the sleeves are a little short. I think they will be okay, but I would have preferred them to be a little longer. Alpaca is thin, but it is a comfortable, warm material!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Formal Events, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stylish, Versatile
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Candyman from Chicago on Wednesday, December 14, 2011
    This is a nice throw on for cold winter days.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pedro P from Southern US on Tuesday, December 6, 2011
    Weave is a little thin - you can see through it. Yarn is a little scratchy.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Itchy Material
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Breathable
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 12 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.