Saucony Vortex Soft Shell Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. Saucony's Vortex soft shell jacket offers excellent wind protection and breathability, thanks to Viperlite water-resistant, moisture-wicking fabric.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Reviewed by Chas from South Carolina on Tuesday, January 07, 2014
    I use this jacket daily about 5 months a year in South Carolina and during trips to the Northeast. I do a morning run of about a half-hour and occasionally also use it for brief outings to stores, etc. Outstanding warmth even though its lightweight. If its freezing or below, I'll put a sweatshirt on underneath. The jacket also is somewhat water repellent--at least for light drizzle or quick rain shower. I've washed the jacket a number of times (no dryer) and it still looks and feels good.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New runner from Virginia beach va on Monday, December 31, 2012
    I am really enjoying the jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CORunner from Colorado on Friday, December 28, 2012
    Really warm jacket. Haven't used it in any rain/snow yet, but the material feels like it will work well. I have used it for runs in the mid-teens and it was great, first time I ran I had a long-sleeve layer underneath and I was too warm. The only negative I can say is that it doesn't seem to breath well. Sweat tends to gather around the forearm area, but overall it doesn't detract enough to really bother me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tobor the 8th Man from Smoky Mountains, TN on Thursday, December 13, 2012
    I'm 5'11" 155lbs; Med jacket fit perfect. I'm an avid marathoner/ultra-runner and know my gear. I purchased this jacket because it was initially described as being designed for COLD weather. It is a light weight jacket. It is water/wind resistant; contrary to the description, the jacket does not ventilate well at all. I took it for a 12 mile run in 35F weather and returned completely soaked. The jacket does look nice and can probably be used comfortably under specific circumstances, however do not purchase it and expect it to be a true cold-weather jacket. And remember that the downside to any garment being water & windproof is that it also holds stuff in. If you only train for a few miles at a time--probably not a problem. Endurance athletes should look elsewhere.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pablo from Michigan on Sunday, December 09, 2012
    The cut and design were very unusual. No taper of the arm or jacket area, both are barrel shaped (i.e. the bicep area same size as the wrist and the waist area same size as the chest. The sleeves entirely cover my hands and the waist would fit a 300 hundred pounder. I am 6 foot tall and weigh 165. I ordered a large and it was more like a XXXL.
  • Reviewed by Jason_ROK from Korea on Wednesday, December 05, 2012
    This jacket oversized and BOXY. If it were fitted (V shaped) as I believe a jogging jacket should be...it would fit just fine. An extra large is long in the torso, but otherwise I fill it out. I'm 205lbs with 49 inch shoulders and a 36 inch waist. This jacket shouldn't fit like an over-sized barrel.
    The fit is so poor, I don't want to try the large. The shoulders would be too tight, and the belly still too big. Strange fitment choice for an athletic jacket.
    If you are a size XL with a 40" waist and 48" shoulders with 37" sleeve length, BUY IT! If you are 48" shoulders, 36" waist and 35" sleeves, it fits like a giant garbage bag.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve from Lancaster, PA on Monday, December 03, 2012
    Have only worn it once on a five mile run. Temperatures in the 40s. Wore a short sleeve shirt underneath. I was a little warm. Was hoping this may be a little more light weight than it is. Perhaps some pit zips or back ventilation would help. Should be a good jacket for a little colder weather. I like the sleeve length and cuffs. Nice looking jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bert the Red from Va on Monday, November 12, 2012
    Run in 35 degree weather w tshirt and this jacket. Perfect for those 5am runs.
    • Best Uses: Running
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Dries Quickly, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe G from Brewster, NY on Monday, October 22, 2012
    Great looking jacket. Has enough pockets and is good for those early morning walks, jogs or bike rides. I ordered an XL first under the assumption that Saucony runs small but I was wrong and had to return it for a large.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cycling, Hiking, Running
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Stylish, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by renoskier from Reno, nv on Wednesday, October 10, 2012
    Bought this jacket as a gift, and my boy friend loves it. Originally bought aMed before the reviews said the sizes run small. But we exchanged it far a small (which he usually wears). I would say there is not much difference between the small and medium.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather Running, Hiking, Outdoors Rain Activities
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Bright Color, Water proof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.