Customer Reviews Of:
Scarpa Epic Trail Running Shoes - Recycled Materials (For Women)

Closeouts. Epic trail endeavours call for Scarpa's Epic trail running approach shoes. These lightweight, hybrid shoes live up to their name by combining trail running technology with an approach shoe design.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews 4.500000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Katie Stewart from California on Thursday, May 7, 2015
    I ordered these shoes specifically because their construction was described as "recycled synthetic leather". Nowhere in the product description was real leather included. When the shoes arrived, I discovered that the uppers were made of a combination of real leather, polyester mesh, and some synthetic leather. The content label inside the shoe clearly shows animal hide as a component. If you are looking for a cruelty-free trail shoe, keep looking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Girlocelot from Kitchen on Thursday, April 2, 2015
    This one really works for me. Lots of room in the toe box, but it doesn't look bulky. Pretty stiff sole, but not so much that the whole foot feels like it's on a board. Subdued colors, good materials, and the construction lets my feet function normally. Sole is comfortable on all surfaces. Light but not flimsy. A very good day hiker, or shoe to wear running around doing multiple activities.

    I am not a trail runner, but they would seem to be great for running on rocky terrain.

    Laces lace up comfortably and stay there. After two days of wearing around, they feel good.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by amy t from oregon on Wednesday, February 25, 2015
    These shoes have held up nicely and performed well. The fit is great for me and the toe box plenty wide. Hiked numerous rocky trails in these, not sure I would run in them due to less cushioning but they are ideal for hiking. Traction is excellent and my feet don't get too hot in these!
  • Reviewed by Sable from California on Friday, January 30, 2015
    I'm a big fan of Scarpas. They tend to fit me really well and are well constructed shoes. I had a pair of Galactic Lady Scarpa trail runners. I used them primarily as an approach shoe and they were wonderful. After much use and abuse, it's time to replace them. I ordered several pairs of Scarpas to try. The Epic Trail Runners feel, well, like a trail runner: flexible and close fitting. Unfortunately, in just a short stroll around my house my feet were heating up beyond reason. In contrast, my Lady Galactics felt like they were air conditioned. The Epics feel like they are ultra-heated. If you're looking for a shoe for cold weather, these might be perfect. For me, they were just too hot. I'll be sending them back.
  • Reviewed by Baltimoron from Baltimore, MD on Friday, May 24, 2013
    I bought these to wear to work as a nurse. The colors are a lot more subtle than many athletic shoes on the market, so they seemed more suitable for a professional setting. They were comfortable right out of the box, fit perfectly (I ordered 1/2 size larger than my base of 8 1/2), and have good support and traction. The styling is kind of dorky in a way that works for me - doesn't look all hyperstyled like many contemporary sneakers. Although I meant to preserve them for work only, since I figure I get some unsavory spills on them or on their soles, I have not been able to abide by the plan, and have worn them very happily to the gym, where they were comfortable running on a treadmill and on the bike.
  • Reviewed by Iowa girl from Iowa on Friday, May 10, 2013
    I needed a new pair of workout (circuit and weight training) shoes that had more stability than the running shoes I was using. I think I would have loved these shoes except they seemed to run small and tight--I would have need a whole size bigger. They felt like a ski boot encasing my foot. Also worried they would get hot. Had to return them due to sizing issues but they looked great.
  • Reviewed by Bargain shopper from Va on Saturday, March 23, 2013
    Perfect fit, great traction, true to size.
  • Reviewed by Intheonion from Chicago on Sunday, March 3, 2013
    I haven't gotten to take these on serious trails yet, but they've been tremendously comfortable and efficient (and kinda cute, too) for light hikes, getting through snow, and being happy on my feet all day. They fit brilliantly from the first time I put them on: I often have trouble with shoes that are too wide in the heel, but these cinch up perfectly whether I'm wearing hiking socks or throwing them over nylons to get to work on an icy day. A gear review I read promises these have extra-sticky soles on the trail, so I'm looking forward to putting them to more use this summer. They've been perfectly waterproof as promised, but I confess mine did get a coat of Scotch-gard before they made their first trip into the snow. Simply my favorite shoes--and at a great price on Sierra.
  • Sort by: