Customer Reviews Of:
Scarpa Omega Mountaineering Boots - Pebax® (For Men)

Closeouts. The Scarpa Omega technical mountaineering boot is specially designed to stand up to the most demanding summits and extreme conditions, from McKinley to the Matterhorn.

Average Rating based on 19 reviews 4.263157 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by Gear junkie from New Jersey on Thursday, October 17, 2013
    I really wanted to love these boots. They look tough, well made, were easy to walk in, unfortunately they were also too small. I have numerous Asolo and Vasque hiking/mountaineering boots and my size in all of them is US 10. There are mixed reviews about these running small. I agree with the reviews that say this runs 1/2 a size small for men but I haven't been able to try a 1/2 size larger to confirm. I ordered these in UK 9 = US 10. So if you are a size US 9.5 I suggest you snag this pair up when it comes back in stock. My girlfriend will also be returning hers, for her, we think 1 size too small. She normally wears a US women's size 7. We bought her UK 5.5 = US women's 7.5. For both of us the boot was a little short (toes easily touching front of boot) and tight around the foot. I tested with/without the liner; started with 2 pairs of socks(one light one heavy); then moved down to just one heavyweight sock; loosened laces; no good; just too small. Again, great looking boot, small sizing. Make sure you get the foot bed liner in your box; mine came with them but my girlfriend's did not. Without them the arch was uncomfortable; with them the feel was much better.
  • Reviewed by Jim from Michigan on Saturday, September 28, 2013
    I bought them for a Rocky Mountain Elk Hunting trip. Despite a little bit of teasing for having the candy apple red boots they are fantastic for climbing and descending steep mountains with a pack and rifle. Very warm. Incidentally i have normal feet and do not have any problem with the "narrow" issue so often cited, The liners do get thermally molded after all.
  • Reviewed by Somewhere from MD on Wednesday, February 6, 2013
    I am a woman rock climber starting to get into mountaineering and ice climbing and decided to give these a try since most people say it runs narrow. I rented Scarpa Inverno size 6 when I climbed Mt. Rainier last year and they were a tag big for me. So I ordered size 6 here too. At first the toe area felt a little too tight for me with my Smartwool mountaineering socks. But I decided to test them out during a 2 day ice climbing trip since the price is pretty good in STP. A few minute into the approach hike they felt just right and no hot spots whatsoever during the whole trip. During the vertical climbing (W4-)I felt my heel lifted inside the boots and had some issues with kicking, which I didn't experience last time wearing rented La Sportiva Nepal. But I think they still climb pretty well for plastics and they kept my feet toasty in the teens. The biggest concern I have with them is that they are not waterproof. On my hike back to the car I accidentally stepped into some keen high water after the thin ice broke, and water went into my boots right away despite that I was wearing OR Crocodile gaiters. Maybe I didn't tighten the gaiters well enough but still, my partner stepped his foot into water as well but his leather GTX boot didn't leak a bit. I am still debating whether to keep them.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by givius from Georgia on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    I have US size 10 and I bought UK size 10 and was narrow but not small.
  • Reviewed by rhy from San Jose, CA on Monday, January 14, 2013
    This year's model has Intuition liners, not the Scarpa liners mentioned in the product listing and the reviews from 2010. I bought these to replace a pair of Scarpa Alphas that I fitted with Intuition liners about 6 years ago.

    Boot size is the same as the alphas -- if those fit you with the intuitions, then these will too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jeff the snowmaker from pa on Friday, December 10, 2010
    boot is narrow - order size up - not true to size
    • Best Uses: Outdoor
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Rugged, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New England winter hiker from Boston on Saturday, November 20, 2010
    These boots are tough to find at any discount and the price here was amazing. These are great quality plastic double mountaineering boots. Watch the sizing, as UK+1 = US and they can run narrow. I'm looking forward to getting a lot of mileage out of these.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Long Climbs
    • Describe Yourself: Getting Started
    • Pros: Bulky, Rugged, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ski Boy from Tignes, France on Monday, October 25, 2010
    Perfect for big peaks and winter mountaineering.
    • Best Uses: Long Climbs, Outdoor
    • Cons: Quite specfic
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Rugged, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Zebber the Dreamer from Duluth, MN on Monday, April 19, 2010
    inner liner wears in areas need to be patched and reinforced in spots...good boots though!
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Rugged, Versatile, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Treehugger1955 from Leominster,Ma on Sunday, March 14, 2010
    I found them to fit slightly narrow when I walked around the house but when I started to go uphill on a trail then they bothered me. I took them to a place with an oven and they heated the liners so I was able to form them somewhat and now the fit is acceptable. I also had to get my feet used to the boots.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2