Scarpa SL M3 Hiking Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. Take your day hikes to the next level with Scarpa backpacking boots. Water-resistant, full-grain sherpa leather upper is extra thick and durable to resist scuffs. Stiff nylon midsole gives support to the whole foot while walking with a pack on rough ground or steep hillsides, and has a short break-in time.

  • Comfortably padded ankle
  • Fully gusseted tongue and padded collar resist debris
  • Deep-lugged Vibram® outsole grabs almost any trail surface
  • Breathable and moisture-managing Cambrelle® lining
  • Height: 5”
  • Weight: 3 lb. pr.
  • Closeouts Italy.
  • Size Euro(US): 36(4½) 36.5(4½-5) 37(5) 37.5(5½) 38(6) 38.5(6-6½) 39(6½) 39.5(7) 40(7½) 40.5(7½-8) 41(8) 41.5(8½) 42(9) 43(9½-10) 43.5(10) 45(11½) 49(14½)

Average Rating based on 14 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by KB from MT on Wednesday, December 31, 2008
    I (a woman) buy men's footwear when I want it to be built to take weight (up to twice mine) and serious use (and not be pastel colored). I prefer leather because, properly cared for, it lasts decades and conforms without weakening. So I was excited to see a one-piece full-grain leather boot for such a price. It fit like a glove (with heavy sock + liner sock) out of the box. Which means it'll have just the right give after wearing around for awhile. The padded, well-gusseted tongue contributes to the ankle support and is easy on my high instep. I also like the position of the locking lacing cords above the d-rings (another instep issue). I worried I had ordered too small (38.5, when I usually wear 38-39), reading the description, but I went with the euro equiv. of my actual foot measurement in mm. The tread tends to hold snow, but not rocks, and is shaped to allow a little rocking on flat surfaces, so it's not too blocky while breaking in around town. It's a good stiffness for most things short of ice climbing. As with all such boots, it needs lacing and sock adjustments according to pack weight and while breaking in. I use Obenauf's Heavy Duty Leather Preservative exclusively. Well-greased, these are warm enough to wear in the snow, but maybe not for -30 plus windchill. I'm used to cold toes, and these stay warm longer than I expected.
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads
    • Describe Yourself: Female, Kid Carrier, Mountain Person, Pack Sled Puller, Water Hauler
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Full Grain Leather, One Piece Leather, Wicking Lining
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Reviewed by MoH2o from Tahoe on Thursday, October 23, 2008
    This is the way Boots used to be made. There would not be so many Hurrah, Yay! Compliments about this boot if most of the stuff sold to us here in the US wasn't such Junk! It used to be that Raichle, Vasque and many others had Boots that where hand made in Italy. Like the Raichle $pir!t made in Italy for that Co-op I'm a member of called R3! It was just like this boot almost exactly, only Lighter. Now that once great boot is made in Romania or some place and it is junk, they sold their souls for money.
    Folks I work, in the Mountains for the Forest service and I am a rock climber too, I live for the outdoors and I will tell you this is about as good a boot as you can get now. The Italian boot makers are still the best. I have compared them all.
    You can also get this boot in widths, got the wide size and it feels great.
    I wish all the other boot companies would repent of their ways and regain the contracts with the Italian craftsman instead of selling us cheap junk from china and former soviet block countries.
    And I DON'T want GORE TEX!! Why does everything have Gore tex in it now days? The Boots Breath better without it!
    THIS IS THE WAY BOOTS USED TO BE MADE!!!
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Environmentalist, Professional/Guide, Rock Climber
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nevada Hiker from Elko Nevada on Wednesday, July 23, 2008
    My girlfriend and I both have a pair of SL M3 boots we love them. They take a little break in time and a few short hikes will do the trick. Between the two of us we hike 60 to 80 miles a week in rugged terrain, and no problems at all. These boots hold up to anything we can dish out. I’ve been wearing Scarpa boots for years and recommend them to anyone looking for a true hiking boot. Not some department store look-alikes.
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Harsh Terrain, Heavy Loads, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Cons: I have no cons
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Arch Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
  • Reviewed by oregondave from portland, or on Monday, June 23, 2008
    these are nice looking boots, full grain leather italian made all things i prefer. they seemed to fit perfectly. regardless, i've had nothing but problems with them. first 3 trips in them required the inclusion of trail runners in my pack because my heels were toast. That got better but then my feet felt crushed when used in combination with the green superfeet. got normal insoles only to start getting a fun blister on my toe and still feeling some hot heel spots. just haven't worked for me. bummer.
    • Cons: Do not protect feet, Long break in, Not Comfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Great Traction, Sturdy/Durable
  • Reviewed by Mo from Angwin California on Monday, June 09, 2008
    One of the best boots available today. In a world where good boots are hard to find any more.
    In the old days 80's and 90's . Good hand made Italian boots where not that hard to find.
    Raichle, Vasque, Lowa , Zamberlan La Sportiva, and Scarpa all had boot models made in Italy , at least some of their models.
    Now days the pickings are real thin and Scarpa is one of the only boot company's still making a good well made boot.
    These SL M3's remind me of the the good old REI Spirit boot (which used to be made in Italy for Raichle, who in turn distributed them to REI) , but not anymore.

    It is very similar , but a bit more heavy duty . But it is still a real good boot.
    What I really want Scarpa to make is a boot identical to this one but about 15% to 20% lighter. But not compromise quality, I want it made in Italy and one piece leather, no gore tex.
    But yeah this boot rocks, I would say this boot is half way between a mid- weight hiker and a heavy duty hiker.
    For me it is too heavy just for day hiking. But it would be ideal for multi day , rough terrain hiking with a pack. Good work boot for what I do, I am a tree trimmer/climber.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Multi day back packing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Durable, Great Traction
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nora from Middlebury, VT on Wednesday, May 14, 2008
    Excellent quality boot. You can't beat Scarpa's quality craftsmanship.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Day hikes
    • Describe Yourself: Professional Guide
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by GFBiker from Asheville, NC on Thursday, May 08, 2008
    Undetermind until new pair arives
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: waiting on larger size
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
  • Reviewed by lorenzopelle from amsterdam on Tuesday, May 06, 2008
    The inner sole is too thin and does not give you ankle support, after a while they are not waterproof anymore. they are really heavy and stiff.
    • Best Uses: Cold weather
    • Cons: Heavy, Squeaks
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Non-slip sole
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Jim the rock sniffer from If I'm luck, in the field on Saturday, March 08, 2008
    I have had a lot of trouble finding boots that will last and are actually available in my size. Although now long gone, I bought a pair in 49 (~14.5) last year. They have been a greatly pair of boots. My previous two pair of boots, from another manufacturer, did not have near the durability of these. To put this in to perspective, my previous pair of boots (heavy back packing boot) wore out in less than 20 hard days of geology field work. Although I can't say who the manufacturer was, they are a major supplier to STP. I expect these to last for years!
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Day hikes, Field work
    • Cons: Squeaks
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LPC from Raleigh, NC on Monday, December 17, 2007
    Right out of the box, these boots are comfortable. I know it says "men" but I thought I would take my chances as a woman. They fit fine, but are a little snug across the widest part of my foot. However, the more I wear them, the more comfortable they get. I don't have any places that slip, and the boots are absolutely beautiful!
    • Best Uses: Cold weather, Day hikes, Everyday
    • Cons: Slightly narrow
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great Traction, Non-slip sole, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 14 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.