Scarpa Sphinx Climbing Shoes (For Women)

Closeouts. Scarpa's aggressive Sphinx climbing shoes are designed for the advanced to expert climber. Vibram® XSgrip outsole dishes out some serious friction for edging, smearing and jamming.

  • Suede upper
  • Synthetic lining
  • Weight: 1 lb. pr.
  • By Scarpa of Italy
  • Made in Italy
  • Climbing and other related activities are inherently dangerous; anyone purchasing or using equipment for this purpose is personally responsible for getting proper instruction on its correct and safe use
  • Visit our Climbing Gear Guide

Average Rating based on 11 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by snowgirl from New Hampshire on Wednesday, June 29, 2011
    Never even got these on my feet, also very, vary narrow. I returned them.
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nate from Bremerton, WA on Tuesday, October 12, 2010
    Great shoes. I'm always impressed with the quality of Scarpa shoes. Unfortunately these were sized too small (I wear the exact same size in other Scarpa shoes) so I had to return them. I wouldn't hesitate to buy these again in a larger size.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Overhanging
    • Cons: Sized too small
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Agressve, Great Quality
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by hoagie from new jersey on Thursday, September 16, 2010
    they are nice, lightweight and tight in the heel. only problem i see so far is the nasty glue stains or something on the toe part of the shoe...and it does not have the rubber piece covering the toe like they show in he pictures. other than that seem nice. cant wait till they break in a little.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor
    • Cons: Nasty stains
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ClimberCat from Canmore, Alberta (Canada) on Wednesday, September 15, 2010
    The Sphinx shoes are agressive and down-turned, but still very comfortable. They are my favourite shoes, both at the gym and outdoors.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Competitive Climber
    • Pros: Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Climb On from Melbourne, FL on Monday, November 16, 2009
    I little small for me. Ordering next 1/2 size up.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Rugged
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by Lauren from Washington, DC on Monday, October 19, 2009
    First off, I am glad I read the reviews about size before I bought these. I usually wear a 38 (US 7.5) and ordered at 38.5 instead, which Scarpa considers a US 7 1/3. Scarpa has a conversion chart that should guide you to the right size. That said...

    I love these shoes. Very tight at first, but after a week they were comfortable enough to wear on a 4-day climbing trip at Rumney. I've already noticed a huge improvement in my climbing, and I find I'm praying for heel hooks on any climb because they're just so easy to nail in this shoe. My only complaint is that I don't like lace-ups but I'm willing to overlook that detail based on the great performance of this shoe.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Long Climbs, Outdoor
    • Cons: Runs small
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DJ from Azerbaijan on Thursday, October 15, 2009
    They look different on the picture, actually they are much more curved. Bought them for long routes. But they are definitely not desined for that. Great for bouldering. Good performance, I like the fit. For this kind of shoes every 1/5 size does matter, and sierratradinpost is not very exact with sizing for those shoes. Instead go to [...], find your european size, then buy them at sierratrading. I'm size 7,5, ordered 38,5 (at [...] my european should be 39). They are very tight for me, started wearing in, but at the cost of few paifull weeks. Not gonna return.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering
    • Describe Yourself: Competitive Climber
    • Pros: Rugged
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mary from Alabama on Sunday, October 11, 2009
    I understand that climbing shoes should fit snugly, but these are sized extrememly small. I wear a 6W in street shoe so going by other comments, I ordered several sizes - the largest size I tried was a 38.5 and even then the shoe painfully dug into my achilles tendon, and my toes were severely curled under to the point of toe-knuckle bruising. Finally went with the Scarpa Veloce - a much more comfortable fit - in a size 37.
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Getting Started
    • Pros: Rugged
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cll from wv on Monday, September 14, 2009
    Ordered full size larger and shoes were still too small.
    • Describe Yourself: Getting Started
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by librarywurm from Los Angeles on Monday, June 29, 2009
    Unbelievably small. Order up at least a full size, if not more. I couldn't even unbend my big toe. I wear an 8, and ordered size 39. Had to return them.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 11 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.