Customer Reviews Of:
Scarpa Techno Climbing Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Engineered for hardcore trad climbing, Scarpa's Techno climbing shoes feature a Vibram® XS Grip outsole for incredible stick and a Heel Lock System for fantastic fit and reduced Achilles pressure.

Average Rating based on 29 reviews 4.379310 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by floridaputz from Florida on Thursday, June 28, 2012
    I bought them at my actual street shoe size, great edging, friction, kind of a sporty trad kind of shoe. I really like them.
    • Best Uses: Indoor, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight, Rugged
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fotine from Tbilisi, Georgia on Tuesday, June 12, 2012
    Wonderful shoe, that fits like a glove they are fairly comfortable. The Scarpa Techno are amazing, definitely worth the price
    • Best Uses: Outdoor, Sprint Climbs
    • Describe Yourself: Competitive Climber
    • Pros: Lightweight, Versatile, Weather Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by climber dude from Minnestota on Friday, April 20, 2012
    This is my second pair of these. The first pair have been resoled twice and are still but its time to start breaking in a new pair.
    Get them small since they do stretch.
    The heal cup is less agressive and does not put pressure on the achilles tendon like some others. but the heal does feel looser.
    • Best Uses: Indoor, Long Climbs, Outdoor
    • Cons: Stretches a Lot
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Fits good, Good edging, Good in the cracks, Not to soft not to stiff
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by applewood from way out west on Saturday, April 14, 2012
    Wonderful shoe, that fits like a glove (the pull-tight heel strap really works). (Order a half size smaller than your street shoes as this is all-leather and will stretch some. I wear size 12 regular shoes and am happy with my size 45 Technos) I got this shoe for all day trad climbs, but find I use it for everything (except the routes I need the extra psychup on - when I use my extra-tight size 44 Scarpa Visons). Edges and frictions well, beautifully crafted and looks like they'll last me years.
    • Best Uses: Long Climbs, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Rugged, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by banana slipper from Sleezattle on Friday, April 13, 2012
    I am fairly new to climbing and have only done indoor bouldering. I've had two pairs of used 5.10s on which the soles wore through and was looking for a relatively inexpensive replacement with laces. These were a great deal and fit me well, with the laces giving me extra control toward the toe area where my velcro 5.10s were loose and sloppy (I must have a thin foot).
    I do notice the soles aren't quite as grippy as the 5.10s and I have lost a bit of feel with them, but I expect them to last much longer, which is a tradeoff I can live with right now. I may consider a more high performance pair for special problems but these are a great day to day shoe and I would recommend them.
    Btw, I wear 10-10.5 in street shoes and went with the 42.5. Fit is confortable; I may have been possible to go down another half size w/o too much trouble.
    • Best Uses: Long Climbs, Outdoor
    • Cons: Could be stickier
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Fit nicely, Good looks, Lacing system works, Well constructed
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jefe from Where the climbing is great on Thursday, March 15, 2012
    I sized the shoe one size less than my street shoe size and it fits great. I should note that I have a low volume foot. I'm impressed with the craftsmanship and features of the shoe. I'd purchase this show for the thin toe profile alone. It will be stellar for crack climbs.
    • Pros: Comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by maineclimber from portland, maine on Wednesday, March 14, 2012
    great shoe at a great price
    • Best Uses: Trad
    • Pros: Great all day climber
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Vdub from Seattle, WA on Tuesday, March 13, 2012
    Good alround shoes, comfortable enough to wear all day on a long climb.
    • Best Uses: Multi pitch routes
    • Pros: Comfortable
  • Reviewed by quick release Kelly from Hyattville wy on Monday, March 12, 2012
    Tried this on at the store,,just the right foot..was 1/2 size to small.bought the next size up and was happy untill I got home and put the left one on.OUCH! heel cup/tendon support was just bad.price was right,so took a razor blade and scarfed the shoe to fit. all good!
    • Cons: SIZE
  • Reviewed by Andy from Atlanta, GA on Tuesday, February 14, 2012
    I purchased this shoe as a backup while my others were being resoled. After a couple of weeks of gym climbing (10-12 hours/week), I've been very pleased with them. They are not aggressive but they do edge pretty well and they allow reasonable sensitivity. I've yet to try them outdoors but have good expectations.

    After a few days of break in, they are comfortable enough to wear for several hours without having to take them off. The back of the shoe is cut fairly high and initially rubbed uncomfortably on my Achilles tendon but that issue went away once the shoes broke in a bit and their backs became a little softer. I normally wear size 42.5 Mythos and find these to run a full size smaller (42.5 Mythos = 43.5 Techno) after break in and stretching. I have a fairly wide foot and find that they also seem to run a bit narrower than the Mythos, but not uncomfortably so.

    All in all, I'm very pleased with these shoes -- Especially at STP's bargain price.
    • Best Uses: Moderate Sport Climbing, Trad climbing
    • Cons: High-Cut Heel, Non-Aggressive
    • Pros: Comfortable, Inexpensive, Well constructed
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 3