Customer Reviews Of:
Scarpa Techno Climbing Shoes (For Men)

Closeouts. Engineered for hardcore trad climbing, Scarpa's Techno climbing shoes feature a VibramĀ® XS Grip outsole for incredible stick and a Heel Lock System for fantastic fit and reduced Achilles pressure.

Average Rating based on 29 reviews 4.379310 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Saint Richard from Pittsburgh Pennsylvania on Thursday, February 9, 2012
    Tried two pair, first was returned, too small the second fit but the heal cut the back tendon of my leg immediately, very uncomfortable. Best to try these shoes on at the store or shipping will negate any savings on the purchase of the shoes.
    • Best Uses: Climbing
    • Cons: Heal scrapes tendons, Not comfortable, Very tight
    • Pros: Nice looking, Well Made
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by K2 from Boone, NC on Wednesday, February 1, 2012
    I use the Scarpa Technos as an alternate pair of climbing shoes. The shoe is well made with good lacing system and sticky soles; plus it's made in Italy. Toe box is stiff and tight. In addition, Scarpa sizing runs different than other climbing shoes. eg: I also climb in La Sportiva Mythos. I wear a size 40.5 in the Mythos, and a size 41 in the Technos [my street shoe size is 42.5]. The Mythos I can leave on all day; whereas, the Technos I need to take off in between climbs (they are tighter than the Mythos). However, the price is right! These shoes cost the same as a resole; plus they are brand new!!
    • Best Uses: Short technical routes, Sport Climbing, Trad climbing
    • Cons: Toe box a little stiff, Toe box a little tight
    • Pros: Good shoe, Good Soles, Made in Italy, Sticky
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mad Matt from Fort Bragg North Carolina on Sunday, January 29, 2012
    I heard these shoes run a bit small. I went up .5 from my last shoe and it was perfect. Haven't had them out on a trip yet but they feel like they have all day climbing comfort.
    • Best Uses: All day climbs, Gym, Outdoor
    • Pros: Comfortable, price
  • Reviewed by JDog from Boulder, CO on Friday, January 20, 2012
    These are 1/2 size smaller than my other scarpa's, of the same size,that I have been wearing for the last 2 years. They would be great shoes if STP had them in the next size up. Yes, they will stretch, but I have had enough shoes to know they sized these down a hair.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JohnnyTsunami from Denver, Co on Monday, January 9, 2012
    Best fitting sz13 climbing shoes I've experienced.
  • Reviewed by surfstar from Santa Barbara, CA on Thursday, January 5, 2012
    If you read real climber reviews elsewhere, you'll find that these are great shoes and especially at the STP coupon prices! People compare them to the comfort of all-day Mythos, but with better edging ability. Most reviews said that they will stretch roughly a 1/2 size. Mine were painful but have gotten a lot more comfy after just 3 pitches and I feel will be just right in size. I wear 12 street, went with 45.5. Order multiple sizes and return if you're not sure.
    I'm not sure when, but Scarpa has/had changed the rubber from XS grip to XS edge. Depending on what size you order, you may get either from STP. Both are great rubber and you can resole with whatever you like in the future, so it shouldn't make a big difference.
    Finally, out of the box, they just seem like a well-made, high-quality shoe. And please use them on real rock, old worn out shoes are for the gym.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by chaos from los angeles on Friday, December 30, 2011
    The only negative (and the reason I had to return these) is that the sole of size 42 had imprinted text on the sole. The size 42.5 however did not! So, they all don't. If you care about this you may want to ask when ordering.
    • Best Uses: Good for the hobbiest
    • Pros: High Quality, True to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bill from Charlotte, NC on Thursday, December 22, 2011
    Fit my feet like a glove right off the bat!! Looking forward to getting outside and working off a rock face this spring.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by one guy's thoughts from tucson,az on Wednesday, December 21, 2011
    i ordered 4 pairs for four people. everybody had the same comment, one size to small. i know that they are to fit snug. but unless you are trying to bind your feet to make them smaller. get the one U.S. size larger or one full centimeter.
    • Best Uses: Climbing
    • Cons: Sized, Sized too small
    • Pros: Nice fit
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3