Customer Reviews Of:
Scarpa Thunder Climbing Shoes (For Women)

Closeouts. Scarpa Thunder climbing shoes will help you conquer those tough routes thanks to the sticking power of a Vibram® XSgrip outsole.

  • Ideal first climbing shoe
  • Perforated suede upper for breathability
  • Moisture-wicking Taibrelle® lining
  • Vibram® XSgrip high-friction rubber outsole
  • Dual pull-on loops
  • Weight: 14.8 oz. pr.
  • By Scarpa of Italy
  • Made in Italy
  • Climbing and other related activities are inherently dangerous; anyone purchasing or using equipment for this purpose is personally responsible for getting proper instruction on its correct and safe use
  • Visit our Climbing Gear Guide

Average Rating based on 37 reviews 4.027027 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Itchycow from Nagano, Japan on Thursday, May 8, 2014
    Good quality shoe for a first climbing shoe. My daughter had been using the shoes provided by the gym so I got her these and she loves them. I think she feels more confident wearing them as well so is challenging more (not sure if that's such a good thing though)!
  • Reviewed by jordan peters from IN/soon to be CO on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    I bought these shoes for my wife, who is a brand new climber. I was very impressed with them. They are very rigid, have vibram soles, and have an awesome edge to grab those tiny holds. Sizing chart is good, quality is outrageous for the price. I would put these up against any shoe out there. Would recommend for any skill level climber.
  • Reviewed by Arik from Israel on Tuesday, April 23, 2013
    great price , good for beginners a bit slippery , good point , good heel
  • Reviewed by Bucky from Santa Rosa, California on Saturday, August 11, 2012
    I bought these shoes because they were the cheapest ones at Sierratradigpost.com so that I could start getting into climbing in March of 2012. 5 months later they have helped me summit several places in the Cathedral Spires, Durrance Crack up Devil's Tower, Owen Spalding up the Grand Teton and the Southwest buttress of Pingora in the Wind River range. I have done some bouldering as well as indoor climbing. They have never slipped on me and I never have to think about my feet when I am focusing on my next move. These shoes hold great! I also have never had a problem with them hurting my toes. Most other people are always taking their shoes off between pitches, but I have found these to be comfortable enough to leave on for all day climbs. For the beginner and adventurous climber these are an incredible deal for a reliable shoe. Now you just need to buy them and go out there and climb!
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor, Long Climbs, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Sticky rubber, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Steve from Maine from Maine on Thursday, January 12, 2012
    Seems to run slightly small. Not much stretch.
    • Best Uses: Any
    • Describe Yourself: Competitive Climber
    • Pros: Good fit, Sticky rubber
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Olivis from Sacramento CA on Thursday, December 22, 2011
    When I first opened my package, I was ecstatic! The color and overall appearance looked great. From the photos online I was nervous they'd be a little ugly. I usually wear 5.5, I recommend trying this particular brand in a store first.
    At the beginning they were tight then loosened up about an hour later. I wore the shoes for an hour before taking them off. 1 or 2 blisters at the end of the day. But that's apart of breaking new shoes in. No major complaints!
    I have never purchased anything from this website, I'm so happy with how quickly delivery came through.
    4/5 shoe
    5/5 service!!!
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor
    • Cons: Small, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Cute, Lightweight, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mini climber from Bloomington, Indiana on Wednesday, September 28, 2011
    I use them for bouldering. They grip great. Climbing time in them is about an hour, otherwise feet might get sore.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering
    • Cons: Might get a few blisters
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Great first pair of shoes
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JEPP from Salt Lake City on Friday, September 16, 2011
    I needed to get my son shoes for his recreation bouldering team. These arrived quickly and fit him well. I appreciated the quality show for the reasonable price.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor
    • Describe Yourself: Getting Started
    • Pros: Price was right
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RaDragon from Los Angeles, CA on Thursday, September 1, 2011
    Two weeks (at three times a week!) after getting into indoor climbing, I decided that renting shoes was too unhygienic and I wanted something that really fit my feet and something that wasn't too worn/stretched-out. Enter the Scarpa Thunder. For the price of this model, the shoes fit the bill nicely. I wear a 5.5 (dressy pumps) to 6.5 (Running Shoes) and wore rental Mad Rock climbing shoes at 5.5. Climbing shoe sizes differ from company-to-company but went by the other reviews here and got a match: Scarpa's size 36 (5.5).

    I can already tell that this shoe will stretch because it was tight when I first wore it (and had to undo the laces in-between climbs) but after only after 3 sessions (an hour each) of indoor bouldering, it's beginning to feel like they were custom-made for my feet. I'm glad I didn't go a half-size up!

    The toe isn't turned down and the shoe not quite asymmetrical, so once I advance (maybe past V3?) I reckon will probably need a more aggressive pair. Still, I don't mind this slightly thick/wider edge toe for now. I only do indoor climbing/bouldering, too, so these shoes meet my needs and skill level. With my slightly wider feet, I tend to order men's running shoes because of the wider toe box, but in these, my toes fit snugly but not curled.

    Before breaking in, the back of the shoe (top of the heel) was rubbing the back of my ankle but I put some moleskin tape on there until the back of the shoe softened a bit (or my ankle just got used to it).

    The Vibram XS soles were slightly slippery at first but after the second use, I felt like I had more "traction" and I was more comfortable on those under-hang foot holds.

    Finally, like a majority of climbing shoes, the interior is unlined which I like because it's less material to air-out after each session, but if you don't like the feeling of the seams/thread on your bare feet, you might want to add a thin-layer of insole lining (just keep in mind that it may make your shoes tighter).

    Overall, it's a step up from renting and for those beginners that are just getting into climbing. Because it's not too expensive, it's a great investment to get you to enjoy the sport.
    • Best Uses: Bouldering, Indoor
    • Cons: Unlined Interior, Wide Edge
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Lightweight, Perforated Upper for Vent
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by oggieinc from fallbrook, ca on Tuesday, August 16, 2011
    Purchased for my daughter as a second shoe and have become her first choice
    • Best Uses: Indoor, Long Climbs, Outdoor
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Climber
    • Pros: Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4