Scarpa Tornado Pro Alpine Touring Ski Boots - Freeride (For Men and Women)

2nds, barely perceptible blemishes. From steep, windswept alpine ridgeline to choppy resort piste, the Scarpa Tornado freeride boot is ready to conquer any terrain the mountain has to offer.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ro Ho from La Crosse Wi on Monday, September 5, 2011
    Had to send them back just to small. I never had the chance to get them custom heat molded that would be a must to do.
    • Best Uses: Powder
    • Cons: Lacks Adjustability, Need to have them profess, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Easy Entry & Exit, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Reviewed by Last Best Wanderer from Helena, MT on Friday, May 20, 2011
    I ordered these boots in a 27.5 mondo, which is what all of my other ski boots are and which Scarpa listed on Sierra Trading Post as being equivalent to a US Men's 9 1/2. Once they arrived I realized immediately that these were WAY bigger than a 27.5. They were easily a full size or more too big, which was a huge disappointment because they appear to be great boots for a great price. There was just way too much room in the toes, making them unusable for me. The stamp on the sole of the boot said 27.5, but my buddy, who typically wears a 28.5-29 said they fit him great. Thankfully I was able to pass them along to him.

    I suspect if they would have fit properly I would have given the Tornadoes four or five stars. The insoles appear to be very durable and they were easy to enter/exit and are heat-moldable. The buckles were a little hard to engage, but I suspect they would loosen up a bit over time. The Tornadoes appeared to be built with high-quality materials and craftsmanship. The "2nd's" status must come from the yellowish discoloration of the boots. Purely cosmetic and not an eyesore, so that was a non-issue for me. I really wish these boots would have fit!

    Be careful about getting too excited about these boots unless you have already tried them on in a store and are confident you have the right size. They most likely will not match up with the sizing of your old boots. Real bummer, because I was really excited to use these this spring as we still have lots of snow.
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Easy Entry & Exit, Highly Adjustable, Lightweight, Quality Construction
    • Sizing: Feels full size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by McCauley Mt Powder Hound from Old Forge, NY on Monday, May 2, 2011
    Did some back country in the High Peaks of the Dax. Wright Peak, Macomb slid. Were great on the way up and breathless on the way down.
    • Best Uses: Icy Conditions, Moguls, Park, Powder
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Pros: Buckles Easily, Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Highly Adjustable, Lightweight, Quality Construction, Retains Warmth
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chick Patrol from Bessemer, MI on Tuesday, April 26, 2011
    They are very lightweight and very comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Moguls, Park, Powder
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Highly Adjustable, Lightweight, Quality Construction, Retains Warmth
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe Skier from Silver Spring, MD on Monday, February 21, 2011
    Nice, sturdy boots. They are a bit larger than the claimed size 11, but I will work with them. The liners are great.
    • Best Uses: Icy Conditions, Racing
    • Describe Yourself: Expert
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Highly Adjustable, Quality Construction, Retains Warmth
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jammasterJ from ABQ NM on Friday, January 14, 2011
    had to crank to max forward lean to engage but im tall too soooo...the discoloration making them seconds was barely noticable
    • Best Uses: Powder
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cf from chico, ca on Tuesday, January 11, 2011
    great boot, love the performance and features of the boot. Fit is an issue for my feet. Fit and comfort is a very individual thing since no two feet are alike. It will take some custom fitting for my feet but I think the boots will feel awesome when I get the problem areas worked out.
    • Best Uses: Icy Conditions, Moguls, Powder
    • Cons: Lacks Adjustability
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Easy Entry & Exit, Lightweight, Quality Construction, Retains Warmth
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JL from Southern California on Tuesday, December 14, 2010
    Nice features for a one-boot quiver. I found them better at the resort than touring; at least with the stiff black tongues. These boots really should come with the both the DIN alpine and touring soles, which are difficult to find and expensive. The garmont adrenalin and endorphin are similar dual purpose boots and come with both soles.
    Heat moldable liners are a big plus, but I found the liner/tongue/shell would create a painful spot at the top of the foot if not properly overlapped.
    I found the boots stiff enough for both my Black Diamond Stigmas and K2 PE's.
    • Best Uses: Powder, Touring
    • Cons: Difficult to open buckles
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Buckles Easily, Highly Adjustable, Stiff for an AT boot
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by lovemesomesnow from Spokane, WA on Wednesday, April 21, 2010
    Alot of comments here don't tell you of all the capabilities of the boot. First off, you can contact Scarpa and purchase the rally sole. This is a lugged AT sole that is NOT alpine binding compatible, but will work with most AT Bindings with alpine style bindings. (freerides, dukes, silverettas). The sole is interchangeable with screws. It is in plastic, so I would not recommend changing back and forth frequently. Also, there are two lean settings, make sure both boots are in the farthest forward lean! If it's not enough, pull an allen key out and you can adjust lean and cant to your hearts content. After you take a big wipe out, make sure they are still in downhill mode, mine occasionally slip into tour mode when I wipe out. My wide feet are a little cramped in the toe box. Bottomline: if you want a boot to use in your resort skis, and AT skis, this is it. Of course you are always better off getting a specific boot for each.
    • Best Uses: Icy Conditions, Moguls, Park, Powder
    • Cons: NOT Dynafit compatible
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Pros: Buckles Easily, Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Highly Adjustable, Lightweight, Quality Construction, Retains Warmth
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Freddy from Mammoth on Tuesday, January 26, 2010
    Great Boots. Lots of toe room, snug ankles, warm lightweight inner boot. Easy to get into and out of also.
    • Best Uses: All Mountain, Powder
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Traction, Quality Construction, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #