• Sea To Summit Reviews

The idea behind Sea to Summit started back in 1990 when an ambitious Aussie named Tim Macartney-Snape hiked solo from India’s Bay of Bengal all the way to the top of Mount Everest -- without oxygen. Tim’s expedition, the first-ever sea-to-summit ascent of Everest (8,848 meters of elevation gain), took four months. After returning to Australia, Tim and friend Roland Tyson launched the Sea to Summit brand with the intent to produce innovative, lightweight and well-made outdoor gear for fellow adventurers. Today, Sea to Summit dry bags, sleeping ... Learn more about Sea To Summitbags, multi-purpose tarps and paddling accessories are sold all over the world. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 14 »
  • 1-10 of 138 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Karenodie from Ca on Sunday, July 5, 2015
    Didn't fit my 1.4 cockpit but well made
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kendall Adams from South Carolina on Friday, June 19, 2015
    The quality of the product is good..bu the fit is below average. THe flexibility of the materials at the point of contact with the cockpit is very stiff which cretaes a loose fit. The cover cam loose several times and the only real way to secure it in the cockpit was to use additional ratchet straps for holding it in place.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yue from Pittsburgh on Monday, May 25, 2015
    Although this is a small size, I use it for my Arc'teryx altra 48 backpack. It is perfect. It helps a lot during my travelling in Mexico for 3 weeks. It is water-repellent.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kmills from Oregon on Tuesday, March 24, 2015
    This container is great for stashing in kayak holds & packs, is easy to hang for convenience at a camp site.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Roadstar from Ohio on Monday, March 23, 2015
    I just took this on a weekend backpack trip. It carries a surprising amount of water for the actual size. I used it to fill up my Nalgene bottle after drinking my first liter of water. When emptied, it folded up nicely and stowed away in my pack. I like that there is multiple ways to attach it to my backpack. It has a unique fill spout that works well. It seems like quality that will last for many trips. A bargain at the sale price.
  • Reviewed by RetroBug from Sacramento, California on Thursday, January 22, 2015
    I have the 4L (paid full price elsewhere), and have used it backpacking for a number of years - lots of trips. I started packing (years ago) with 4 1qt nalgene bottles, migrated to large bladders, then platypus bottles, and have now settled on one 1qt nalgene bottle to drink from, and the pack tap as my main water hauler. I went this route because I can't mix gatorade in a bladder, and this setup saves considerable weight over carrying 4 or 5 nalgene bottles. I keep the pack tap in the pack until I get to camp. I don't fear freezing as a source of damage, but do want water, not a frozen block of ice in a bag, so I keep it in the tent/shelter with me at night. It has never leaked.

    The pack tap is essentially in three parts: a bag, a cover, and a plug/tap. The bag is a mylar water container, and is like the mylar bags you get in a bulk wine box. Replacement mylar bags can be ordered from Sea to Summit, but I've never needed one. The nylon cover protects the mylar just fine. The tap fills from a removeable rubbery (I don't know the material) plug with a simple tap in it. You use your fingers to pull out the plug to fill it. A black plastic cover protects the plug/tap.

    I wouldn't carry this outside the pack where it could be poked by sharp branches or banged against granite. It might hold up fine, but I don't care or need to find out. Carried inside the pack, it's well protected. Most people who look at this fear the weak point is the plug/tap, which looks like it could pop out under pressure or drip-leak from the tap. I thought it would when I bought it, and expected to use a customer satisfaction guarantee to return it. But it has never leaked or popped out. In fact, I carry it on top of the rest of my gear in the pack (including a view camera), and from experience know not to fear leakage. (I do keep everything damageable by water in ultralight dry bags, but not for fear of this product leaking.)

    The only other thing some fear is that your fingers will contaminate the plug when you pull it out - that's where the drinking water flows out. I personally simply keep that in mind when filling, and wash my hands before pulling the plug if I need to. That's worked fine for me.

    Hike your own hike, do what works for you. For me, this is an excellent product which works very well. At STP's price, this thing is a steal. If the size is right for you, go for it. Then test it before you send it back. It's way stronger and better designed than it looks or feels.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sarah from skamser on Wednesday, December 31, 2014
    Loved the idea, but I agree with the reviewer who thought it was a sort of flimsy lining. I am not sure it would last very long. Otherwise the design is a great idea!
  • Reviewed by Charlie Milton from Pennsylvania on Sunday, November 23, 2014
    I usually cram a spare pair of socks, a 100 weight fleece, my raincoat, nd maybe a fleece cap into it without any problems. It then fits everything nicely and doesn't take up too much space in my 22L daypack since it compacts to about half of the space. Great price with a deal flyer coupon from STP.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by smoovOperator from Cincinnati on Saturday, November 22, 2014
    This works well. We got drenched, and this cover kept my pack bice and dry. I have a 46 liter pack, and thus covers it well. It us a bit snug, but nothing too troublesome. Simple, yet, effective design.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sarah from Massachusetts on Sunday, November 16, 2014
    Exactly what I was looking for and half the price. I am thrilled.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 14 »
  • 1-10 of 138 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #