Sebago Fairhaven Leather Boots (For Men)

Closeouts. A rugged choice for the lakeside cottage, Sebago's Fairhaven boot is light on your feet, comfortably cushioned, and outfitted with a non-marking wet-traction outsole.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Reviewed by Guoster from Flagstaff on Sunday, May 18, 2014
    General Thoughts:

    These boots were definitely made for non-labor/construction use, like if you need to walk through rain or snow when your out and about the town or at (office) work, but this doesn't mean these boots aren't sturdy. Granted, I've only worn them a few miles, and the feel of them is very airy and light. That is as much of a pro as it is a con, depending on what you are looking for and expect. Basically, these will make a great spring/summer boot if it's going to rain a lot during monsoon season, and look great with basically any and all pants. Even the black (which I got) don't require a monochrome palette to be worn because of the contrasting stitching, and slightly lighter tone of black with roughout leather texture, much closer to the Dayton Service Boot. I'd like to point out the leather is rough out and NOT suede, rough out does not require babying and can withstand moisture, mud, what-have-you just like smooth leathers. With rough out, I think treatment is even less strict than smooth leather as you won't see cracking and dryness, but any that does appear just becomes part of the patina and look. My complete list of pros and cons is below.

    Pros:
    - Light but thick leather
    - Rough out is tough and very independent (won't need babying)
    - Versatile
    - Sleek looking, but not like every other boat shoe so your style stands out
    - Contrast stitching with white sole gives a broader range of fits available
    - Welted sole
    - Metal framed eyelets
    - Does NOT crease!! (it's magic...at least after around 10 miles of walking so far)
    - Comfortable insole
    - NO break in!

    Cons:
    - Leather is thick, but I FEEL like (completely gut feel mind you) one swift kick to a rock or jagged edge will tear it due to the light and airy nature (almost feels like styrofoam).
    - Incredibly hard to lace up, hope this isn't petty, but I work in a facility that requires me to change my shoe once or twice a day for about 15 minutes periods prior to re-lacing these boots back up. This makes the process excessively annoying.
    - Leather laces, paired with difficulty lacing up (see above), makes me feel like I'll tear them inevitably. Leather laces also have a higher amount of friction through the eyelets, adding to the difficulty to lace.
    - Insole is comfortable, but if I want to replace it with Superfeet or something later on, I won't be able to due to the weird insole presently fitted (it's got some lego/tetris sort of piece to hold it in place).

    Great boots at a great price though. At one of the steeper discounts on STP, it's definitely worth it!
  • Reviewed by Baller from Terra Firma on Saturday, December 14, 2013
    Nice looking boot, a little more style then a construction boot. Looks like they will last for years, comfortable to wear, are you s true to size.
  • Reviewed by Tuglife from Baltimore, MD on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
    I bought a pair of these in black from another site and wore them Often. The styling is great. Can be worn with anything. I still use them to go to and from my job on a tugboat because they are at home in both worlds. The soles did prove to have some issues. They are held in with a sticky heal cushion insert and have a tendency to move around ending up out of place and deformed after lots of wear. I peal them up and properly relocate them only to move again after a few days. The leather seems a little inconsitant as well. The pieces forming the heal cup are significantly rougher than other sections. I had multiple broken laces as the included leather ones just do not stand up to everyday use.

    All that said they are comfortable and I wear them regularly. I even bought the brown pair from STP because the price with a deal flyer discount was too good to pass up. The brown ones feel noticeably smaller but that may be due to my black ones being well worn in and stretched. Nice shoes overall. Worth the price!

  • Reviewed by kirin from kor on Friday, September 13, 2013
    good quality
    good shape
    good price
    good fit
    good everything
  • Reviewed by Shoed Dude from Phoenixville PA on Sunday, October 14, 2012
    Bought and returned two pair; I WANTED to wear this shoe,but...Sebago's construction seems a little lax. One pair had a wandering back line of stitches, the other had a partially unattached and crooked insole as well as being attached to the sole canted to the inside. Just NOT wonderful work, Sebago.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Reviewed by mroach52 from Dublin, Oh on Thursday, August 16, 2012
    As other reviewers said do not plan on wearing white or light socks with this boot. The boot is mostly unlined and will stain everything the color of the leather quickly. The boot is very soft and seems comfortable. Although not stated in the description this boot feels like a zero or minimal rise shoe i.e. barefoot. I am used to that type of shoe and run that way so its not bad but do not expect to feel any lift they are very flat (heal and toe even). I tried putting in a heal pad since the insole is not very comfortable and it works well. A heal pad such as dr sch** will correct the zero lift issue if you do not like it and add some nice squish inside the boot. I haven't decided which way I like better but since I walk about 5 miles in them at work a day I may stick with the heal pad. Overall nice but different from most boots people are used to.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night, Work
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by @awesometheo from Kentucky on Tuesday, December 13, 2011
    I saw these boots featured on Dappered.com, and I was impressed by them. The contrast stitching and sole really made these stand out, and combined with the pricing, I couldn't pass up this opportunity. So far, they've been great, but with heading to NYC this New Years, they'll be put to the test.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Cons: Bad cushioning
    • Describe Yourself: Stylish, Trendy
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JayBird from Minneapolis, MN on Thursday, September 08, 2011
    This boot is superb for the urban, trendy guy. Versatile, whether you lace the boot fully and tie it snug, lace it partially for a more relaxed look, or fold the ankle down for a unique look.
    Note: darker colored stockings are a good idea as the black leather discolors white socks.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Date Night, Night Out
    • Cons: Discolors socks
    • Describe Yourself: High-end shopper, Stylish, Trendy
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Cushioning, Stable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.