Sierra Designs Zia 3 Tent with Footprint and Gear Loft - 3-Person, 3-Season

Closeouts. Camp comfortably in thunderstorms with the durable construction and airy interior of Sierra Designs' Zia 2 tent. The included gear loft and footprint provide added storage space and protect the tent's floor.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by owl from Colorado on Saturday, June 7, 2014
    We are modest users of this tent, 2 or 3 times per season, and like it. While too heavy for backpacking it's a compact and light basic tent. Held up well in moderate rain. A bit noisy in heavy wind but stood up well without collapse.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by erinkay from Vancouver on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    I used this tent for the first time last weekend. My only concern is the footprint that was shipped with the tent is too small so where the bottom of the tent touched the damp ground, it soaked right through the tent floor. Aside from that, the tent was very easy to set up and i was impressed with its overall quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pine Cone from Western Washington on Wednesday, May 7, 2014
    Like any backpacking tent, take the stated number of persons, subtract one or two and that is the sleep number for your tent.

    I have been using Sierra Design products for more than 40 years and I like their design philosopy and quality construction. This tent is no exception. Set it up once at home before you need to, find vague instructions and figure out what they mean. Not your standard tent for setup, but good once you figure it out.

    This tent must be used with tent and guylines staked down. Not a big deal, but you need to stake the fly for it to hold the tent down and make the vestibules useable.

    Nice quality materials, includes a footprint and gear loft. You might want some more guylines and stakes in a heavy wind. Like the doors and vestibules on each end. Not incredibly light, but light enough, and having watched gear self-destruct on longer backpacking trips I'll take higher quality and reasonable weight over minimal weight and minimal durability. The real world has sticks, rocks, strong winds, and careless people. All take their toll on your gear.

    This tent is a keeper!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bioburger from pennsylvania on Monday, April 28, 2014
    The weight and quality of this tent seems very good for the price (which from STP was really great!). What I especially like is the unusual pole layout, which gives plenty of headroom near the doors. I do recommend practicing putting up the tent at least once before your first camp-out, but once you've done it you'll find it easy afterwards. I'm very pleased with this purchase!
  • Reviewed by rainy day hiker from North cascades on Sunday, April 20, 2014
    Just went out with this tent last night. As we went to bed it started to rain very hard. I kept waking up all night just waiting for it so start leaking and soak our down blankets. Woke up completely dry!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by aceman0001 from colorado on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    Tent was everything I expected from Sierra Designs. It was very well thought out and extremely roomy. Only problem I have is that only give you 5 Stakes and 4 guy out ropes. Tent could actually use 12 stakes. Tent looks great,but put it up at home once before you go out just to get familiar with the pole attachments.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bear Lover from Arizona on Sunday, April 13, 2014
    I bought this tent to use on a trip to Katmai National Park in Alaska in September to see the bears. I set it up for the first time in my backyard within 15 minutes. A friend of mine lent me his older Sierra Designs 3 person 3 season tent to try out and I noticed right away that this tent was a little heavier but sturdy. There is plenty of room for two people and gear. A plus is that it comes with the footprint where a lot of tents do not. It took me awhile to make up my mind between the 2 person and the 3 person tent because I'm limited on weight for the flight. I decided on the roomier 3 person tent, because it weights only about one and 1/2 pounds more than the two person tent and I'll get more use out of it. I'm hoping it protects against any rain and wind at Brooks camp. It probably will not protect against bears, (though it does have two doors.) I'm giving it only a four-star rating because I haven't tried it out yet in the rain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from California on Tuesday, April 8, 2014
    Poles are designed to fit into the tent with small hard plastic fasteners that fit into each other in a way that allows movement in all directions. It will be interesting to see how this holds up under strong winds. This is a tent you definitely want to set up at home in a controlled environment first to learn how the poles and fasteners fit together. The idea of the design and poles seem to work but I have yet to face the harsh elements. I'll have to update this when I do.
  • Reviewed by Vladimir from Quebec on Tuesday, April 1, 2014
    I used this tent over two seasons and recommend it. My only complain is that it is a bit short: having 6 feet, I often touch walls either by head or by foot.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.