Customer Reviews Of:
Sierra Designs Zinger Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Sierra Designs' Zinger jacket is a lightweight, waterproof breathable shell with an adjustable hood that lets you keep moving fast in wet, windy weather without overheating.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews 3.384615 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by Mikeywo from Connecticut on Saturday, August 13, 2016
    I really wanted to like this jacket, it looked good, and felt good on. It was lighter weight than the other Gore-Tex jacket I normally wear. But now, less than a year after purchase, the waterproof coating is coming off in a BIG way. Wonder if it is too late to return?
  • Reviewed by John Bozeman from Bozeman, Montana on Friday, December 20, 2013
    I've had this parka for about 2 years.The zippers are bad news and very delicate. Left pocket zipper failed on mine (teeth separated from the zipper tape). I doubt I cycled the zipper 50 times before it came apart. Here's what SD says on their warranty page: "Sierra Designs guarantees that the materials and workmanship in every product we make will stand up to the use for which it was designed." Seems like they should replace the zipper, but they claim that they literally cannot do it because of the zipper and pocket design and I'm just out of luck. They offered me 50% of 3 more SD products instead. Yeah right, spend more money on their products. Come on, build good stuff and honor your warranty SD.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ken from London, ONT. on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    this product will be returned
  • Reviewed by unhappy from norge on Thursday, August 30, 2012
    I really wanted to like this shell. First, pros: the cut is good albeit a tad short in torso. The color was good and overall styling nice. Weight was super light.

    That is where the fun ended.
    After less than a year and only a few rain outings the waterproofing has completely given out and appears to be reacting to the water (not good for a rain coat) and actually crumbles and came off on my hands when I took the coat off the last time after a 6 minute walk in a heavy shower. The waterproofing went on the hood, back, shoulders and front. Next the zippers albeit waterproof were next to impossible to get to slide while on, especially the pit zips. As I had to wear it as it is my only shell, today I went to open the pit zip and the entire zipper ripped free of the arm. Now I have permanent ventilation!!. The stitching was bad on many areas (loose threads etc). In general, the poorest quality build and components I have seen. Do not buy this jacket expecting a technical shell that will hold up to anything.
    • Cons: Poor Quality, Zipper Catches
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Lightweight
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lili from Boston, MA on Tuesday, August 28, 2012
    I purchased this jacket for my boyfriend for rainy days when he needs to do errands around town and for hiking. It fits well and looks good. It's light enough to stuff into a day pack. He likes the numerous pockets where he can stash things.
    • Best Uses: Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Trendy/Stylish Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design, Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Duluth Doc from Duluth mn on Tuesday, August 7, 2012
    Lightwieght and packable
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Classic Dresser
    • Pros: Attractive Design
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by seattleclick from Seattle, WA on Tuesday, May 15, 2012
    I really like this jacket from an urban standpoint. However, it runs large so I recommend downsizing. I normally wear a large jacket but medium fits fine (42R jacket size normally). I dropped a couple of stars due to the sizing as well as the liner. If you wear a backpack [including a day pack (light weight)] or a laptop shoulder bag, it will damage the lining as it is rather fragile. It looks nice and I ended up exchanging the jacket (STP has great return/exchange policies) for another but knowing I can't wear it for my original intention - hiking, backpacking, snowshoeing, etc. Since I live in Seattle, I just wear it as a stylish urban jacket and do not use any packs, etc.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NJ Steve from Eatontown, NJ on Monday, April 30, 2012
    This is just what I was expecting, i.e., a good, lightweight, raincoat that can also be used as a windbreaker (either alone or over a base layer).
    • Best Uses: Hiking
    • Pros: Good windbreaker, Lightweight, Pitzips, Waterproof
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Skilift John from Laramie, WY on Wednesday, April 25, 2012
    This product is lightweight and packs down well for a great addition to the backpack supplies. Wears well and I get comments on the style..... although I have never been a "style guy", it does look and feel good to wear. The jacket has great pit zips and breathes well for a rain jacket, keeping the moisture on the outside.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Fishing, Hiking, Town Cycling
    • Pros: BREATHES WELL, Light Weight, Looks good, Sturdy Pocket Zips
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wingnutsglory from Seattle, WA on Monday, March 19, 2012
    I returned this, so can't comment on its performance, but the fit was somewhat chunky and oversized. To be fair, I'm particular with fit (like tailored fit), but this really seemed oddly proportioned.
    • Best Uses: Springsummer rainjacket
    • Cons: Strange fit
    • Pros: Well made lightweight
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2