Slumberjack 0°F Big Timber Sleeping Bag - Synthetic, Long Rectangular

Closeouts. The Slumberjack Big Timber long sleeping bag is an extremely warm, rugged bag with Slumber Loft HQ premium synthetic insulation to fend off the cold.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Reviewed by Me from Illinois on Saturday, May 04, 2013
    I purchased this bag for use as a winter blanket. Unzipped, this rectangular bag covers the service of a large futon mattress. I would not want to take this bag on extended hikes. Would be good for campgrounds or roadtrips in cool/cold weather. This bag appears sturdy. The flanell lining is very cozy. I jammed this bag into a regular HE washing at home machine and the outcome was not good. Needs a large washing machine like one finds at a laundromat.
  • Reviewed by Montesa_VR from Minnesota on Monday, April 08, 2013
    This seems like a nice mid-price sleeping bag, with a light canvas outside and soft flannel inside. However, the long version is rated to be adequate for sleepers up to 78" tall, and at only 80" long, that just isn't feasible. There's no foot box, so size 14 feet use up a significant bit of that length, and a svelte 225 pound girth takes up some more. The end result is a tall person will struggle to cover his chin. I prefer to be able to lay my head inside the bag, so after a quick test-fit I sent it back. I'll look for a true 90" bag like the Gander Mountain Rifle River or one of several models from Cabelas.
  • Reviewed by Gyrogeerloose from SoCal on Tuesday, March 12, 2013
    Nice bag, commodious but heavy. Good for car camping but you wouldn't want to backpack with it unless you're in training for the Ironman. Warm enough, although the 0 °F rating is wildly optimistic. Probably good down into the forties Nice bag, commodious but heavy. Good for car camping but you wouldn't want to backpack with it unless you're in training for the Ironman. Warm enough, although the 0 °F rating is wildly optimistic. Probably good into the forties if you sleep unclothed, possibly down to freezing if you put on a pair of long underwear but I wouldn't count on it being adequate for anything below that. One big problem: the way the zipper is sewn on leaves the cloth tape free to catch in the slider. Nothing irritates me more than having the zipper on a sleeping bag jam while I'm trying to close it on a cold night in a small tent. This is almost a deal-killer for me and if it wasn't for the fact that every bag I've ever owned did the same thing, I'd advise against buying the bag just for that. if you sleep unclothed, possibly down to freezing if you put on a pair of long underwear but I wouldn't count on it being adequate for anything below that.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by just for fun from Boise, Id on Monday, October 22, 2012
    Bought it for large tent camping, reminded me of when I was a kid sleeping in an adult bag, which is why I bought it.
    • Best Uses: Car Camping, Cold Conditions
    • Cons: Heavy / Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Roomy, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LB from NW Montana on Thursday, October 18, 2012
    We haven't used the bags yet but the look nice and warm
    • Best Uses: 4 Season camping, Car Camping
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Stella from Boston on Friday, May 14, 2010
    I have an air mattress that I use frequently but am always cold on it. I've had to use multiple blankets under me which is a pain. This bag is great! I just throw this over the air mattress and no more cold back! EXCELLENT
    You wouldn't want to carry it far, it's too heavy. If space is an issue, it's a bit bulky. For my use it's perfect.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Car Camping, Cold Conditions, Fabulous for air mattress, Great for camping
    • Cons: No cons for me
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Great width, Nice liner, Plenty long, Roomy, Warm
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tmac from BC. Canada on Thursday, May 06, 2010
    Very well made and very comfortable. The perfect bag for a cott or sleeping in the back of a pick up. Not for backpacking! Great price as usual with STP.
    • Best Uses: 3 Season Camping, Car Camping, Cold Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Comfortable, Roomy, Warm
    • What Is Your Gear Style: Comfort Driven
  • Reviewed by overnighter from foothills of Catskill Mountians NY on Saturday, April 24, 2010
    This is about half the price that I was going to spend at the Eureka Outlet for their similar offering. I wanted a flannel lined heavy rectangular bag, with my wife and 2 kids we have more than 100 years of cumulative camping (includes tons of kids sleepovers) and many sleeping bags with tears in the outer nylon covers. It is heavy and bulky but fine for car camping.

    The reason for the 4 stars and not 5 is like every other temperature rated product I have ever owned there is exaggeration in the low temperature
    rating. I tested the bag last night in 32 degrees, sleeping on a thin pad and some cold came up through the bottom. A thicker or insulating foam pad should alleviate this, but 10 degrees would never be tolerable in this sleeping bag.
    • Best Uses: Motorized camping
    • Cons: HUGE it is a long bag, Not ykk zipper
    • Pros: Construction, durability, MATERIALS
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.