SmartWool 2013 PhD Ski Ultralight Socks - Merino Wool, Over-the-Calf (For Men and Women)

2nds. SmartWool's PhD ultralight ski socks offer the all-day performance of moisture-wicking merino wool, and add medium weight cushioning in the shin and throughout the foot for shock-absorbing comfort that lasts from the first run to last chair.

Average Rating based on 7 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-7 of 7 reviews
  • Reviewed by Nillion from Minnesota on Monday, June 23, 2014
    I recently ordered two different colors of these socks and contrary to the negative reviews, neither of them have "irregular" or any other markings or fit issues that would differentiate them from the numerous other SmartWool socks I already own. I haven't worn them for skiing yet as it is summer right now, but I have no reason to believe they won't live up to the same quality I've come to expect from this brand of wonderful socks.
  • Reviewed by ABC from USA on Monday, May 5, 2014
    Be aware of the intentionally unnoticeable "2nds" that leads the description for these socks on Sierra Trading Post's website. That is important because these are not retail grade socks. These are irregulars which the manufacturer deemed unsuitable for retail sale.

    Normally I wouldn't care too much because the imperfections are usually too minor to be a concern. HOWEVER, every one of these Smartwool "2nds" socks comes with a HUGE "IRREGULARS" stamp on the side of the sock, surrounded by a box. This stamp is intentionally BOLD by Smartwool, but Sierra Trading Post does not state anywhere in their description that these socks have this obnoxious stamp on them. The stamp is in fact 2.5" x .5"in size and VERY NOTICEABLE.

    If you will never take off your shoes in front of others, then no worries. If you do ever plan to wear these socks with no shoes in front of others, they will definitely see this label.
  • Reviewed by Adam from Omaha, NE on Tuesday, March 4, 2014
    These are much better than the picture shows. The picture makes it look like the calfs are really wide, and in reality they are a straight line up. It also makes the foot area look whitish, or easily stretched out, which it's not. These are awesome socks for cold weather. Not just skiing, but all situations. I wore them to a funeral as dress socks, I wear them hiking in 0 degree temps, I wear them relaxing on the couch. In short, very versatile & a valuable piece of equipment.
  • Reviewed by BMW from Columbus Ohio on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    As advertised. Quality but considering most all the SmartWool socks are 2nds even at STP special sale prices I wouldn't consider them a "super bargain" price. Still, since I can't afford 1st prices I'll buy 2nds for less.
  • Reviewed by Virginia from Virginia on Monday, January 27, 2014
    My husband works outside and came home with warm, comfortable, happy feet after wearing these during the "polar vortex" cold weather we recently had! He also refs high school football and is already telling his ref buddies about these socks!
  • Reviewed by Lindalb from PA on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    The word " irregular" is written on the socks I received.
    I bought these to give as a gift. Obviously I cannot give them to anyone as a gift.
    I am very, very disappointed.
    I will definitely be more careful with any other order.
  • Reviewed by BBp from Northwest on Wednesday, January 15, 2014
    All of the other irregular smartwool socks I have purchased have fit fine and there was no noticeable difference. But these ones are definitely different. They run really small and the foot part is really short. It isn't so bad that it wouldn't fit someone with smaller feet, but someone with large feet may not find much luck with these. If they fit, they are a good price however.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-7 of 7 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.