SmartWool Double Insignia Socks - Merino Wool (For Men)

2nds, barely perceptible blemishes. Underfoot cushion and enough length to wear with boots, SmartWool's Double Insignia socks make the perfect walking companions, and keep things fresh, cool and dry thanks to soft merino wool.

Average Rating based on 54 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 54 reviews
  • Reviewed by Blueribboncookies from Midwest on Thursday, April 3, 2014
    These, like so many SmartWool products, are just great socks. My whole family loves SmartWool. They are pricier than dept store socks, but so much more comfortable and long-lasting. And with great prices at Sierra Trading, we can affort to have several pairs. The only issue my husband and I have is some of the socks, these Double Insignia included, are too tight around the calf. My husband usually wears a large, but we thought that an XL might be less tight around the calf. Unfortunately no, so these had to go back. Colors are nice.
  • Reviewed by Allen J from Atlanta on Monday, March 17, 2014
    I really like the look, but I don't like having a hole to start with, even in 2nds. Not cool Smartwool and Sierra.
  • Reviewed by Wintergirl from Wisconsin on Wednesday, February 19, 2014
    My husband wears Smartwool all the time. This style works for dress or casual.
  • Reviewed by frankie from England on Monday, February 10, 2014
    A little thinner socks than expected, but overall the usual smart wool quality. Blemishes are not noticeable, and I looked very hard for them.
  • Reviewed by Kath from Brooklyn, NY on Thursday, February 6, 2014
    nice socks. not too heavy, but warm.
  • Reviewed by Missoula from Montana on Tuesday, February 4, 2014
    I'm to sexy for my socks...
  • Reviewed by Seattle Steve from Seattle, WA on Thursday, January 30, 2014
    Nice socks, the only issue is the large word "irregular" printed in white on each sock. otherwise would have given 5 stars
  • Reviewed by Sarah from Virginia on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    Gifted to a fellow who ended up hiking about in a snowstorm. Said these socks saved his feet.
  • Reviewed by Charva from SC on Monday, January 20, 2014
    These socks are subtle in color, both the blue and the grey. They're not too thick, but they do have a little extra padding on the bottom, which is perfect for work.
  • Reviewed by Bamaboy from Alabama on Saturday, January 18, 2014
    Perfect weight and great fit. Just what you would expect fromSmartWool.
  • Reviewed by Mark H from Tennessee on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    When spending 10+ hours a day on your feet, wearing the same pair of shoes, merino wool socks are the way to go. Not to be disgusting, but I have sweaty feet. Regular socks, after a full day, would be wet, and STINK! Which in turn caused my shoes to get funky. Smartwool made with merino wool naturally defends against such issues. Even after a long day, I can take my shoes off and be odor free! Add on to this the comfort these socks provide, I have 2 happy feet after every day!
  • Reviewed by Hacker Man from Franklin, TN on Sunday, January 12, 2014
    Looks cool and has nice comfort. Great Value at STP price. I would recommend.
  • Reviewed by Deceived from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, December 31, 2013
    Sierra Trading Post sells irregular products. In the description of these socks it says "barely predictable blemishes" which quite honestly I would be perfectly fine with. However, these socks and several others (that I ordered as Christmas gifts) came stamped "IRREGULARS" in big white print ON the socks. Not just on the packaging, ON the SOCKS. When I asked Sierra about why they don't inform their customers that they are purchasing branded ruined products the only response I received was that I was entitled to return them and the fact that they were "2nds" was disclosed. So buyers please beware "2nds" does NOT just mean "barely predictable blemishes" it means the socks are not only imperfect, but that they are stamped IRREGULARS in big bold print on the sock itself. I love SmartWool socks and will continue to be a buyer of them forever, but never again from Sierra.
  • Reviewed by Roger from New York on Friday, December 27, 2013
    I like the quality of SmartWool. Blue and black bands very subdued.
  • Reviewed by Barb in Roundtown from Ohio on Thursday, December 26, 2013
    No better socks than Smartwool! Best place I have found to purchase them. No more searching for the product, wasting gas, and then overpaying when I finally find them. Sierra also delivers very quickly! Thank you!
  • Reviewed by Joyce's Mom from Indiana on Monday, December 23, 2013
    Got these for my husband on sale and he's very pleased with them. No problem with the very minor blemishes.
  • Reviewed by ane from singapore on Friday, December 20, 2013
    nice, cute and comfortable! :-D
  • Reviewed by Tulip1 from Alaska on Tuesday, December 17, 2013
    Smartwool are the best socks out there. I buy several at a time to make up for shipping costs. They're well worth it and stay put once you put them on.
  • Reviewed by CATrekker from California on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    I use this a good amount of time, but after 2-3 months, its thinning at the bottom. Great for dress socks during that time though. Would not use for hiking or anything heavy duty.
  • Reviewed by me not you from north east on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    warm socks... if your feet sweat cause there hot you wont know it because there moisture wicking
  • Reviewed by Minnesota girl from Minnesota on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    got my three men each a pair of these socks
  • Reviewed by Mike the pirate from Omaha on Thursday, December 5, 2013
    these are great looking wool socks! warm and fashionable!
  • Reviewed by CATrekker from California on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    As much as i love the feel of it and the non smell of wool, after 3 months the bottom has started to wear down.. i got the black and grey color, but at the bottom, although cushioned and thicker than the rest of the sock.. its started to wear down. i give it 2-3 more months before theyre gone. thats just at the bottom. the rest of the sock is pretty good. i use these for hiking or normal wear or even business suit wear. gives it some kick.

    for smartwool, i expected something that'd last a bit longer... my smartwool phd is in better condition, but of course its thicker all around.
  • Reviewed by That Quiet[ish] Guy from Tokyo on Friday, November 29, 2013
    These might well be my favorite casual socks. I like the simplicity of the banding, and they're not overly prone to pilling. They're not overly thick, and wouldn't work well for a hiking sock. But for casual socks, they're pretty great.
  • Reviewed by Big Cat Bob from The North Coast on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    These socks are comfortable, stylish and a great price. What's not to like??

    Buy 'em!!
  • Reviewed by Sock Guru from Texas on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    My family likes smart wool socks--very comfortable and they don't itch like most wool socks!
  • Reviewed by Dogstars from Virginia MN on Friday, November 22, 2013
    I LOVE them. Wear them all the time winter and summer. I bought a bunch last winter and refreshed them just now. I LOVE smartwool socks. And after attempting to knit wool socks - I think they are a great bargain. Warm, wool, fit properly, stretchy, don't shrink. Love them. I like both the thin socks and the heavier ones depending on the day.
  • Reviewed by Concrete Pounder from Bay Area, California on Wednesday, November 13, 2013
    I work on my feet. They deserve the very best socks and shoes. Smartwool hikers are my go to sock. They last a long time. They are cool or warm and comfortable. I have over 20 pairs...some are years old.
  • Reviewed by Cyclingmama from Western MA on Thursday, November 7, 2013
    I have many pairs of SmartWool socks, and can't say enough good things about them. They are warm and comfortable, not itchy like some other wool socks can be, and they are very well made - their shape, color, and other attributes stand up after many many uses.

    This pair is no exception - it is an excellent pair of socks that I'm sure I'll wear many many times.

    (Just a note - I'm a woman who wears size 9 and these socks fit quite well. I bought a few pairs of SmartWool men's socks because I preferred the colors.)
  • Reviewed by winter willy from Vermont on Wednesday, November 6, 2013
    needed a pair of socks to slide over silk socks for cold Vermont winter mornings when out for a morning walk. these should be just the socks to fit the bill.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 54 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.