SmartWool Hiking Socks - Merino Wool, Crew (For Men and Women)

2nds. Performance-oriented merino wool wicks moisture, absorbs odor and controls temperature, so it's no wonder the smartest sock company on earth, SmartWool, incorporates it into SmartWool Hiking socks, made with a hefty dose of good stuff and a cushioned, comfy design.

Average Rating based on 48 reviews 4.520833 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 48 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Old Guy from Hill Country Texas on Sunday, September 6, 2015
    I prefer wool socks for hiking, biking and every day use. These socks are lighter (thinner) than normal hiking socks but are very comfortable and can be used for everyday activities.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jdog from SoCal on Thursday, August 27, 2015
    This are high quality, but are definitely a very light cushion sock!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ed from Lookout Mountain, GA on Monday, August 24, 2015
    Great hiking sock! Thought ordering light weight but got ultra-light instead. Nevermind, still well cushioned and comfortable. Excellent wicking.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SLBE Dave from Michigan's west coast on Saturday, August 22, 2015
    Wore two different pairs of these socks while helping to clear trees and limbs downed in the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lake Shore due to an early August wind storm. The weather was warm and the work was warmer. Smartwool controlled temperature and wicked moisture to keep my feet comfortable through several hours of effort, even while wearing goretex-lined boots. My socks were listed as "lightly cushioned", but they provided plenty of padding throughout the effort.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Phil from Charlotte on Thursday, July 23, 2015
    Smartwool has several models, these are the ultralight weave great for walking and short hikes in hot weather or everyday wear in the Summer months. They are rated as 2nds, but I was unable to find any outstanding blemishes that effected the socks look or performance. They keep your feet cool and dry in the most severe weather. This a great sock for those looking to upgrade from cotton whities to merino wool. Highly recommend.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Shawn from NH on Monday, July 6, 2015
    Nothing fancy just solid substantial hiking socks.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Siberian Husky from ATL on Thursday, April 23, 2015
    Just what I was looking for. Lightweight wool socks. I still don't understand why these are 2nds.
  • Reviewed by The Wife from Delmarva Peninsula on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    These are warm and fit nicely into my favorite shoes and boots. I like the way they look. They stay up without being too tight. Yay!
  • Reviewed by mtnbkr from Black Hills, SD on Monday, December 9, 2013
    Nice fit. Don't bag out. Very warm in sub zero weather.
  • Reviewed by Summitdog from Vail, CO on Thursday, December 5, 2013
    First off, the socks delivered were not the color indicated on the Sierra Trading Post website. Despite the incorrect color I decided to keep the socks anyway. Unfortunately after only 2 wearings and washes the materials are already beginning to pile and become 'frizzy'. I've had other Smartwool socks with a years worth of wear and washes that don't look as bad as this new pair. The sock was listed as midweight and felt light, unlike other midweight Smartwools I've purchased. I should have sent them back when they first arrived and were the wrong color.
  • Reviewed by Randall T from Virginia on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    A great hiking/everyday cool weather sock. Warm and good cushion, but still thin enough to wear with my everyday shoes. Exactly what I was looking for.
  • Reviewed by Trail mom from Virginia Beach on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    Smartwool clothing is some of my favorite, and these socks are no exception. The heel and toe areas are padded, but not so much that I can't get my casual shoes to fit while wearing them. They do have "irregular" stamped on the sides, and I tried my best to see what the issue was, and didn't find anything other than a band of yarn that's slightly darker than the rest.
  • Reviewed by Dennis from Ohio on Friday, October 18, 2013
    I love wool and these SmartWool socks do not disappoint. Soft, warm and good cushion. My only regret is that I didn't buy more pairs.
  • Reviewed by Cee Cee from Wisconsin on Friday, October 18, 2013
    SmartWool socks, even as 2nds, are always a good investment. I would never pay full price. Love my SmartWool!!
  • Reviewed by C Gray from Colorado on Thursday, September 26, 2013
    Good fit, warm and comfy socks.
  • Reviewed by Katie from CA on Tuesday, September 17, 2013
    I bought them for my sister. She likes them and hikes often, so they will get worn out quickly,
  • Reviewed by George Gates from New York on Monday, September 2, 2013
    Size was as indicated, very comfortable, good support, breathable, cannot ask for a more comfortable sock. I own a horse farm, am on my feet 14 hrs a day, will be ordering more of these socks.
  • Reviewed by Jane Warren from New York on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    SmartWool socks are the absolute greatest! I buy them all the time. This purchase is for Christmas stocking gifts!....and of course, ME!
    I love them. They are comfortable....warm and wear exceptionally well, and Derailed's prices are unbeatable. Wouldn't go without them...or Derailed!! What a great web site, so glad I found you!!

  • Reviewed by Randy Randy from ohio on Saturday, April 13, 2013
    Size not actual
  • Reviewed by longdriver19 from Kentucky on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    The footbed has a nice thickness and the material is good quality wool but the instep is on the thin side and will not provide enough cushion with my work boots. I wear heavy weight merino socks religously in all seasons and insist on the thickest weight available. They eventually get thinner with wash and wear. Wigwam and goodhew are among the best I've found.
  • Reviewed by Easy On from MD on Tuesday, March 19, 2013
    Feel thin but are quite warm with 75% merino wool. Quality excellent. No blemishes found. What a great sock for the price!
  • Reviewed by Slim from Wiscaaansin on Thursday, March 14, 2013
    They are smartwool socks at an good price, what else can I say? They fit true to size, breathe well and have the perfect amount of cushion. Be aware however that the socks I got are branded as irregulars, I may have missed that in the description, but still for the price I am happy
  • Reviewed by Jane Warren from New York on Tuesday, March 5, 2013
    Great...warm...wonderful!! Can't say enough about SmartWool socks! Our whole family loves them!!
  • Reviewed by Peter from Pennsylvania on Tuesday, March 5, 2013
    The socks feel like rugged and have a good grip on feet. It has an arch support (little). It's comfortable for me to wear while staying around in my home. I haven't took a chance to hike with those socks. I had a plum-sized look-like horse shoe discolored area on one of the socks hence it got irregular stamped under the socks. I ain't complaining about its looks, those socks are meant to 'work'.
  • Reviewed by wlipman from Pawling, NY on Tuesday, March 5, 2013
    Some times, I think that Sierra Trading Post is there solely for me to buy these fine, light wool socks. 2nds? Don't know why. And, my 91 year old father just loves how they feel, so I bought 8 pair and told him he could have as many as he wanted. He took 4 pair from me. A double-home-run here, Sierra!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by no nicks from Chicago, IL on Wednesday, February 27, 2013
    Smartwook 2nds are marked irregular but I can't find anything that makes them less than regular new socks. So much warmer than cotton. I've been increasing my collection of these to replace old cotton socks
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Rog from Alexandria, VA. on Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    The tight weave provides an excellent fit and feel. Keeps the foot cozy, not hot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Slick from Havana, FL on Monday, February 25, 2013
    I discovered SmartWool socks about 5 years ago, and I have bought nothing else since then. They are by far the most comfortable and durable socks I have ever owned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Retired from Rapid City, SD on Monday, February 18, 2013
    SmartWool the only way to go.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nate the Great from Brunswick, ME on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    Most of my socks are from Smartwool, and I haven't been disappointed yet. These particular socks are very good... warm, comfortable and of good quality despite a stamp on them stating they are "seconds". They are called hiking socks, but I think they are a bit too thin for that purpose. I wear them for daily use for office/casual purposes and they are great. And as always, a great deal from Sierra Trading Post!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 48 reviews