SmartWool Merino Wool Midweight Hunting Socks (For Men and Women)

2nds, barely perceptible blemishes. The smart choice for every hunter, whether trekking the woods all day or waiting in a stand. These versatile SmartWool socks will keep your feet dry, thermally regulated, and odor free.

Average Rating based on 58 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 58 reviews
  • Reviewed by Billygoat from Smalltown, PA on Thursday, March 6, 2014
    As a past sock buyer for an outfitter, back in the day, Duke Designs (Smartwool) supplied me with samples to test out and to then be educated experientially with the product.

    I have used the hiking, trekking, and heavy weight sock as well as a dress casual sock. I love them all, including this one. This is a great addition to my arsenal when it's not so cold as to merit the heavy weights and I can combine it with a hiking boot for more versatility.

    When I got these, I wore the pair for three days, I didn't want to take them off, but knew I needed to clean them. With the six degree weather we were having, my feet were insulated and cushioned.

    Hats off to ya Smartwool!
  • Reviewed by Sandy from Ohio on Monday, April 22, 2013
    Love them. Very comfortable and soft.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Huntinfool247 from Redding, Ca on Saturday, August 18, 2012
    Smartwool socks are always great amd with Sierra Trading posts prices they are a great value as well.
    Thanks
    • Best Uses: Big Game Hunting, Bird Hunting, Cold Climate
    • Describe Yourself: Hunter
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike from Manitoba Canada on Friday, July 27, 2012
    These socks last and are very versatile.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Climate, Warm Climate, Work
    • Describe Yourself: Hunter
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, No smell after a full day, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Logan's Mom from Wales, WI on Thursday, July 26, 2012
    Husband and lots of relatives are hunters. Neice is in law enforcement. These socks will be very nice Christmas presents, some for his/her gifts where both hunt. Have owned Smartwool for years now and have paid a whole lot more elsewhere.
    • Best Uses: Big Game Hunting, Bird Hunting, Casual Wear, Cold Climate
    • Describe Yourself: Occasional Shooter
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by napt from NSW Australia on Friday, July 20, 2012
    Great for work boots
    • Best Uses: Work boots
    • Pros: Comfortable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ???? from Juneau AK on Monday, July 16, 2012
    These are not just for hunting, so the lack of ammo storage (geez, Sierra, your check boxes can be ridiculous) is not a deal breaker.

    Great socks. Great price. Makes me feel intellectual on the job site.
    • Cons: No Ammo Storage
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bobert from jacksonville on Monday, July 16, 2012
    Great hiking and work sock
    • Best Uses: Cold Climate, Hiking working, Warm Climate
    • Cons: Not Water Resistant
    • Pros: Breathable, Camo Design, Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ginger Bird from Boulder Colorado on Sunday, July 15, 2012
    Good quality sock that keeps its shape, keeps me warm in cold weather and not too hot for warmer weather.
    • Best Uses: Cold Climate, Hiking, Warm Climate
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BrdDgMn from Helena, MT on Wednesday, July 11, 2012
    These fit the foot OK, but they are clearly defective, and not just cosmetically blemished. There was apparently a problem with the yarns used. Many of the yarns are shedding large chunks, making the socks very thin, especially after wash. The poor yarns cause them to wear very quickly in the toe and heel.
    • Cons: Not Blemished Defective
    • Describe Yourself: Hunter
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mall Cop from Da UP on Friday, July 6, 2012
    Smartwool, what else needs said??! Great socks my husband wears no other brand of socks. Thanks SierraTradingPost for great prices.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Climate, Warm Climate
    • Describe Yourself: Hunter
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by beetle from Victoria, Australia on Tuesday, June 26, 2012
    Great socks! Worth shipping to Australia.
    • Best Uses: Cold Climate, Hiking
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Non-smelly, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wish I was in Forks chasing elk from Tumwater,WA on Wednesday, June 20, 2012
    Looking forward to putting these through long term use. Always been a Filson merino guy so we shall see how these compare.
    • Best Uses: Big Game Hunting, Bird Hunting, Casual Wear, Cold Climate
    • Describe Yourself: Hunter
    • Pros: Comfortable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels half size too big
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by vic from thomson, ga on Tuesday, June 19, 2012
    Very comfortable
    • Best Uses: Big Game Hunting, Bird Hunting, Casual Wear
    • Cons: None
    • Describe Yourself: Hunter
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Waterfall from Piedmont Area, NC on Sunday, February 19, 2012
    I love SmartWool socks. These are great for colder weather and keep my feet warm and comfortable while hiking; also great to wear around the house!
    • Best Uses: Hiking
    • Pros: Comfortable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ephs90 from Charlottesville, VA on Friday, January 20, 2012
    The entire smartwool line performs well.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking, Mountaineering
    • Cons: Causes Blisters
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Good Design
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sme from El Paso, TX on Tuesday, November 16, 2010
    I bought 4 different pairs of hiking socks recently and these are by far my favorite! They are so comfortable and well made! I have used them for hiking trips and they work great!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushy, Durable, Good Design
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by All day long from Hereford Zone on Wednesday, November 10, 2010
    These socks are so durable!
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Hiking
    • Cons: Bunches Up
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Durable, Regulates Temperature Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BunniesMom from North on Wednesday, November 10, 2010
    This is a great sock if you have wide feet and wide calfs. I have a difficult time finding women's socks that fit me because I have wide feet and muscular legs. These socks fit great and are very warm and comfortable. Highly recommend.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DockSully from Central Illinois on Tuesday, November 9, 2010
    Great socks for half the retail price (with additional discounts). They are very nice socks, and they are the first Smartwool socks I've purchased but I probably wouldn't pay the $17 retail price.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking, Hunting
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Regulates Temperature Well, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yankee Carpenter from New Hampshire on Tuesday, November 9, 2010
    Great socks- just bulky enough to float your feet all day. No slipping, no binding, no sweating- Just Right!
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim from Spokane, WA on Monday, November 8, 2010
    I have several pairs of other SmartWool socks which I wear for backpacking and hiking. I was thrilled when I saw these on STP for such a great price! They are the perfect weight - not too heavy but thick and warm enough for my uninsulated work boots. Am now using these for working outside all day in the 30's & 40's, and my feet are warm and comfy :)
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Hiking, working outside
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Regulates Temperature Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Don from Lincoln, CA on Monday, November 8, 2010
    I thought by looking at the photo that these socks had different cushioned sections inside, like a heavily cushioned section under the foot and lighter cushioning on top. But it's all the same, like an everyday pair of crew socks.
    I feel a bit duped.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wood man from Wisconsin on Sunday, November 7, 2010
    Used for hunting.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushy, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Buggs from Santa Fe New Mexico on Saturday, November 6, 2010
    Great for all purpose use
    • Fit: Feels true to size
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lidlekitty from California on Saturday, November 6, 2010
    The top band on these socks seemed too tight to me. It squeezed my calf too much. I was thinking the socks would be thicker. The foot part is nice but the tube part seemed to thin to me.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking
    • Cons: Thin, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Durable, Regulates Temperature Well, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by AdkCeltic from Upstate NY on Thursday, November 4, 2010
    What more can I say?? I live in the Adirondack Mountains, spend a lot of time outdoors, and cold, wet feet are NOT what you want. Smart Wool is the best in my book, and at Sierra's price...buy several!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking, In my chair with a book, Shoveling snow
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushy, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by COSkibum from Durango, CO on Thursday, November 4, 2010
    Smartwool makes great socks and these aren't any different quality wise than other Smartwool socks I've had in the past.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Stylish, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dman at IU from Bloomington, Indiana on Wednesday, November 3, 2010
    I have been incredibly pleased with the quality of these socks. SmartWool has a great reputation and now I see why.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushy, Regulates Temperature Well, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by writer from rhode island on Wednesday, November 3, 2010
    Good product
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Cushy, Durable, Regulates Temperature Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 58 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.