Customer Reviews Of:
SmartWool NTS Base Layer Top - Merino Wool, Midweight, Crew Neck (For Women)

Closeouts. From SmartWool's NTS (Next to Skin) collection, SmartWool's NTS base layer crew top features the undeniably soft, performance-ready power of pure merino wool with a midweight, insulating design that keeps you cozy for cold-weather layering.

Average Rating based on 58 reviews 4.672413 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6
  • Reviewed by Kate from northern Illinois on Friday, February 26, 2016
    Love this mid weight base layer! I normally wear a 14/16 in shirts, am a 38B and the L fit just fine, body hugging but not too tight. It's opaque enough to wear on it's own, but I I wanted it as a first layer (otherwise I would have ordered the XL). I'm 5'8" and the torso was just long enough (inch or two below my hipbones). I'd guess this is 26 inches in length. The arms were also long enough, fully covered my wrists. This runs true to Smartwool's size chart. I would prefer an extra inch or two in length for the torso, but I tucked it in and it didn't creep up. I wish Smartwool offered tall sizes. I own a number of merino wool tops and bottoms and the Smartwool brand is my favorite.

    Wore this on a hike in 20 degree weather with a brisk wind on open terrain, and was plenty warm, without overheating. Layered it with a fleece and a light winter jacket (and of course merino wool socks ). I prefer layering instead of a heavy down parka or heavy winter jacket, I tend to overheat then.

    I always turn my merino wool inside out before washing (prevents pilling). Use Woolite and the delicate cycle and air dry. Don't use fabric softener, it diminishes the wool's insulating properties.
  • Reviewed by Jena from Pennsylvania on Monday, February 15, 2016
    I purchased one of these base layers in October and loved it so much I had to get another top in December. I am 5'5'' 150 lbs and the large is a perfect fit. It is slightly loose (not skin tight) but still layers well under other clothing. I think it looks fine as a normal shirt and will frequently wear it on its own. I love how comfortable it keeps me when sitting around the house at 70 but also keeps me warm when out and about at 30 and colder with additional layers. I typically wear it all week without it smelling which is awesome! Great product!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by VTmama from Vermont on Saturday, January 23, 2016
    Great smartwool quality, but I probably would have ordered a size up from normal if I had realized how fitted it is. It is probably warmer due to the snugness, but definitely a base layer that I will not be wearing without a second layer to hide the middle-age tummy. If you are nice and sleek like the model, no worries! Warm and cozy with none of the stink of the synthetic material when you sweat, even without washing every time. I highly recommend this product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Erin M from Bozeman, MT on Tuesday, December 22, 2015
    So far I have worn this shirt cross country skiing several times. It dries quickly which is great. I hate the sizing though. They run a full size smaller than other brands so size up!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mesalady from Washington State on Tuesday, December 15, 2015
    size is a little large but soft fell, very comfortable base layer.
  • Reviewed by yoopermom from Upper Michigan on Tuesday, December 15, 2015
    I ordered this for myself for Christmas, as I needed some midweight thin layers for winter activies. I LOVE it and can't wait to be able to wear it. It is SO soft and cozy feeling. Love my SmartWool socks, hope I love this just as much. Love the beautiful purple color too!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cricket from Virginia on Monday, November 23, 2015
    I use this shirt as a base layer for running and hiking in cold weather. It keeps me warm and dry. I love the fit so much after I received it and wore it for a week I ordered two more. If you need a good cold weather base layer this shirt will work for you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by M from Idaho on Thursday, November 5, 2015
    I got two of these and I'm very happy with the purchase. They fit well, are very comfortable, and have been keeping me toasty warm in 30º weather. I'm 5'4", 115 lbs and I got a size XS. I prefer a snug fit but I think a size S would also work for someone my size. Only complaint is that the sleeves are a tiny bit short. Otherwise these shirts are fantastic!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Montanagal from Montana on Wednesday, September 30, 2015
    I love baselayer wool shirts, but this one dissapointed me. I sized up to a Large and it was still VERY form fitting. The way the shirt is sewn on the shoulders makes it look like a shirt you wouldn't wear alone. Nice color. The fabric wasn't quite up to Smartwool quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Absentmuse from Colorado on Saturday, September 5, 2015
    This large fits wonderfully. I'm five ten with a size "d" chest, it fits close but not snug. The colour is a rich, dark purple.
    The overall quality seems excellent.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 6