SmartWool NTS Midweight Base Layer Hoodie Sweatshirt - Merino Wool, Zip Neck (For Men)

Closeouts. From the Next-to-Skin line up, SmartWool's NTS midweight hoodie sweatshirt puts you on the fast track to insulating warmth, with coverage from head to extended cuffs and hem. Wear it as a base layer or on it's own -- this merino wool is layer perfect for just about every cold-weather activity you get into this season.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews 4.666666 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by pjj1951 from Virginia on Thursday, June 27, 2013
    Hood should work well with helmet. Hood could have been a tad tighter fitting. Love the Canyon color: deep orange/red.
  • Reviewed by Hiker dude from Montana on Tuesday, May 21, 2013
    soft, comfortable, and warm.
  • Reviewed by Kegrun from Chicago on Saturday, May 4, 2013
    Sleeves are the perfect length for thumb holes. Hood seems a little big, but not an issue. Just bought the other two colors !!
  • Reviewed by stpfanshopper from Michigan on Thursday, April 25, 2013
    This is the first time I have tried a Smartwool NTS (Next-To-Skin) product and it definitely is skin-friendly. It is as comfortable as cotton feels on the skin. As designed, not a stand-alone product for very cold weather but definitely an essential part of layering in cold weather. This is much warmer than the SmartWool NTS Light Base Layer - almost too warm to wear indoors. The hoodie part is snug - sort of looks like what the ice speed skaters wear. So, if you don't like your hair being compacted, you most likely won't want to put it on.
  • Reviewed by Carlos from Oklahoma on Wednesday, April 24, 2013
    Very soft material and by that I mean it is really itch free. It is true to size but if you rather not feel to tight then just order a size up, either way the fit is perfect.
  • Reviewed by JM from New Hampshire on Friday, April 12, 2013
    Hood fits nice. Sleeves are long enough so that the thumb holes are useful and not over tight. Not going to keep out much wind but I plan to wear this as a layer for moving fast and I always carry a shell. I am 5'11'' and 165 and the medium fits great. This is my first smartwool shirt and I like it more than my icebreakers so far.....I'll have to see how it wears.
  • Reviewed by BlacksburgBrad from Virginia on Sunday, March 31, 2013
    This is my 5th merino piece. 3 of them are Icebreaker. Decided to try Smartwool and I am impressed. Different fit, though. In Icebreaker gear, I wear an XL. I am 5'11", 190, broad shoulders. I bought the SW in a large - glad I did. It cut differently - longer sleeves and a longer torso. They claim it will draw up slightly after washing. Not too worried though, I like the fit just fine. Love the hood, too! I got the green; it stands out from all the blacks and greys in the world. We'll see how it holds up to washing and how much pilling occurs.
  • Reviewed by east coast from CT on Saturday, March 30, 2013
    Well cut and well made, this base layer is spec-ed for cold to very cold temps when used in active endeavors. Also good as a mid layer in cool temps when you don't need wind protection. The hood extends the temperature Range and lets you leave the beanie at home.. It's 250 weight, so heavier than the more usual 150 and 200 merino wool garments.
  • Reviewed by MTtrailrunner from MT on Tuesday, February 19, 2013
    I see Smartwool has really started making versatile hoody pieces, everything from lightweight up to pseudo-softshell type heavy. I have this midweight piece, and it's a nice compromise, kind of a thermal underwear type weight. Fit and finish is nice. 5'11 185lb and bought the lg..I have another Smartwool shirt in large and this fits very much the same..slightly big, but a medium would be very form fitting and somewhat limit it to base layer only. THis in size L for me allows me to wear it comfortably in public without looking to techy or belly stretched. Skinny, flat bellies might want to order on the smaller size as their shirts run slightly big IMHO. I also like 'em slightly big as I do not always pamper them in the wash and inevitably should see some shrink over numerous washings, and, yes, some pilling. I've found my other smartwool shirt gets a bit more pilly on the surface than my similar merinos from Icebreaker, etc., but I still love 'em. This is very simlar type creature to a patagonia R1 type creature..pretty good warmth to weight in a baselayer. R1 gridfleece a tad warmer I'd say, and the smartwool a bit better looking. All in all a nice addition to my woolen wear layers since this is the only one I own that has a hood..adds some nice versatility. I've really liked it up in the mountains with some wind blowing..neck zipped up but hood down makes for a comfy neck gaiter. Unless you are really exerting, you'll need some kind of outer piece, even a windbreaker type thing, if there's any real kind of weather or wind. On its own the smarwool doesn't offer much protection from elements - its meant for a comfy insulating layer, and as that I give it a solid 4 stars.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #