SmartWool NTS Midweight Pattern Base Layer Top - Merino Wool, Crew Neck, Long Sleeve (For Women)

Closeouts. The exceptional versatility of SmartWool's NTS Midweight Pattern base layer top means this naturally thermal- and moisture-regulating piece is perfect for causal and athletic wear alike.

Average Rating based on 74 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 74 reviews
  • Reviewed by Carolyn P from the midwest on Monday, April 06, 2015
    I indulged myself with a this base layer top last fall, and used it through a cold winter (and now a rather cool spring!). I like the feel, and it definitely keeps me warm, although I recommend a windproof outer layer. It doesn't have a lot of stretch and is definitely a trim fit; I'm 5'4", 140lbs, 36C chest and the Large was right for me. The only improvement would be an inch or two of extra length (and I'm not long through the torso). I've washed it on cold and dried it on medium at least a half dozen times, and it still looks new.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tif from Illinois on Friday, December 26, 2014
    I absolutely love this top! Its very long which I love because you wont get drafty in the winter. Im 5'3 130 lbs and I bought a medium so I could wear it as a base layer or a regular shirt. The fit is perfect. Not too tight and not too loose just right. Very warm and feels thicker than earlier years versions of the same shirt. I love it and plan on buying more in new colors.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MtMama from Denver CO on Saturday, December 20, 2014
    This was the second one I've purchased. It's great for layering both in and out-of-doors. The colors are vibrant, yet well-toned. It's well-made and easy-care; true-to-size.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OutdoorThorman from Washington on Friday, December 12, 2014
    Next to skin for sure (skin tight) so be generous on the sizing if you don't like super snug. Love the warmth and the material is not scratchy at all and is comfy and stretchy. Would buy it again for sure!
  • Reviewed by PixiePoet from California on Thursday, December 11, 2014
    I purchased this thinking it would be warm, but it is too lightweight and I can feel the breeze from my room going through it.
    Why buy expensive wool underwear if it doesn't even keep you warm? I'm returning it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tamara Traveler from California on Tuesday, December 09, 2014
    I have bought this top before in other colors and am completely satisfied. These shirts are not thick, and yet provide a tremendous amount of warmth. They are perfect for layering or on their own. This is possibly the most comfortable shirt you will ever own. While traveling I wore this shirt over and over between washes and it does not start smelling after a day or two like my cotton shirts did. Also it dries incredibly quickly, and in a damp climate like Wales in winter these were the only shirts that I could get to dry completely without a dryer.
    I am thin, 5'5" and 110 pounds, and small breasted and both the small and the medium sizes are fine for me; so go with your size for snug or go up a size for more room or large breasts.
    The only negative with this shirt is the cost. I have purchased all of mine only when on sale of at least 40%, which is hard to find.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by marink9 from kentfield on Thursday, December 04, 2014
    Fits great, regular sizing. Looks very nice as outerlayer. Great price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SunnyGirl from North Carolina on Wednesday, December 03, 2014
    I ordered 2 of these, and they are just as nice as I was hoping! The sleeves are a perfect length, the fabric is very soft, and the keep me warm without getting too hot. SmartWool has great products. I ordered a small and the size is true.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tkln from Vermont on Tuesday, December 02, 2014
    So soft and warm, this shirt rocks. Buy it. That is all you need to know.
  • Reviewed by lisamamot from West of Boston, MA on Monday, December 01, 2014
    I am 5'9" size 8 with long arms and ordered this in my usual M; the quality is fantastic, weight is perfect, and the fit spot on for me - sleeves are long enough. I wouldn't knock it a star for this, but if I could change anything about the fit I would make the forearms just a bit narrower for layering purposes as I intend this as a base layer. Alternatively, I have enough room to put a thin layer underneath if I like.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Denise the walker. from Wisconsin on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    This is just what I wanted. It is a perfect midweight layer that fits well. I bought the gray pattern and it is very attractive.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Monique the Urban Crawler from Massachusetts on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    It's light, warm and very comfortable to wear. They are true to size and I find I lived in the same top and bottom I got a year ago so ordered another pair. They're perfect for the New England winters, especially close to the ocean where the wind can get strong in the winter time. These merino wool sets save me. They don't fall apart either with all the washings I put them through, since they tend to absorb moisture on your body as you sweat with all those layers on, which is a good thing keeping you dry as you travel around the city.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kym from Virginia on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    This top is wonderful. It's warm, soft, and pretty. I wear it with the matching leggings as an outfit. Fits and fits like outer wear. I haven't yet used them under clothing but I'm sure they're perfect.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elk Rapids from Michigan on Wednesday, November 26, 2014
    Keeps you warm. I'm glad I ordered an xl. I wear a 36d and needed the extra room.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LLBelle from Bend, Oregon on Monday, November 24, 2014
    This is a nice merino wool shirt. It is not scratchy and that was really important to me. It fit true to size. I can wear it as a base layer or a top layer. It looks nicer on than other merino wool shirts I have owned. I would purchase another one of these shirts in a different color. I love SmartWool products!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Galina from Russia on Monday, November 24, 2014
    SmartWool advised me to buy friends. And I'm not disappointed. This is the best I've had! Longsliv convenient, comfortable, soft and warm. Size S perfectly for bust 35.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Camper from Seattle on Sunday, November 23, 2014
    I absolutely love the feel of this base layer top. Extremely soft and keeps me warm. Body fits perfect (I am usually an XS at 5'3'' and 101lbs, and purchased an XS), however the arms are too short for my frame (I tend to have this problem, as my arms are long compared to my body). But with rolled up sleeves, it's still my new go to as the weather cools down.


  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MAG from Maine on Monday, November 17, 2014
    I wear this to bed or as an underlayer for working out on cooler days.
    I love the way the wool fabric feels and handles. Machine washable, line dry.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by D Mo from Maine on Thursday, November 13, 2014
    I love this light blue turquoise color. I bought the XL because there was no L left and it fits like I would have imagined the L to fit so I'm glad I took the chance. It is a snug fit so you can get away with going up a size. However, I also have this same top in the zip neck pullover in L and that also fits.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ariel v. from Missoula on Thursday, November 13, 2014
    My favorite baselayer of all. I like Icebreaker's styles but their merino always itches just a little, but I'm on the sensitive end of the spectrum. This shirt just rocks in all possible ways.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by janet from washington on Saturday, November 01, 2014
    A little on the form fitting side compared to some smartwool midweight layers of the same size I have, but not too tight. Warm, breathable, great layer.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Svetlana from Salem on Friday, October 31, 2014
    I love it. Buy this top is not the first time. Ideal for walking and winter sports. I like the quality of all products of SmartWool's. The size and color of an application.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jenn from Portland, OR on Thursday, October 23, 2014
    Well worth the price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Judy from Vermont on Wednesday, October 22, 2014
    I wear size 8 top. Ordered a large. It fits great and is very comfy. Fabric is nice and thick. Color, teal, is beautiful.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SandyNH from NH on Wednesday, October 22, 2014
    I try not to pay full price for anything and when I need to add to my base layers I watch for SmartWool markdowns. This shirt does just what I want. It doesn't itch, it is long enough to tuck in, it is light enough to go under a flannel or fleece. I am expecting to wash and dry it like my other SmartWool pieces, like the rest of my wash and wear. I have tried some other brands but always come back to SmartWool.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Blikker from Jackson, WY on Friday, October 17, 2014
    These Smartwool tops are the greatest. Warm, soft and very comfortable. Perfect alone or under a cardigan or jacket. I got four of them and expect to enjoy them for years.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoorsy Student from Maine on Thursday, October 16, 2014
    Comfortable, warm, and totally worth it. i wore this with my synthetic jacket in 20 degree weather and was so comfortable and happy. Plus it looks pretty. I'm 5'5 and 125 and I got the small, fits perfect.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yolo from Eugene OR on Thursday, October 09, 2014
    I have now ordered 3 of these- 1 last year and 2 this year. It is warm, comfortable, and not at all itchy in my opinion. I do a lot of outdoor activities in it, and I must say that it does not hold up as well as a cotton or synthetic garment might against rock abrasions/ rubbing backpacks/ etc.(mine from last year has some holes already, and it didnt take that much to get them), but for this price and its comfort it is still well worth it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Patty from Philadelphia on Wednesday, October 08, 2014
    Not scratchy, fits well. Will wear it a lot.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BBillinghurst from Denver on Thursday, October 02, 2014
    Great, flattering fit and very warm
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 74 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #