SmartWool NTS Panties - Bikini Briefs, Merino Wool (For Women)

2nds. Soft, fine merino wool is the superstar of SmartWool's NTS bikini underwear, a lightweight, comfortable design with the superior performance of premium, stretchy fibers.

Average Rating based on 36 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 36 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maylaya from South Dakota on Friday, July 25, 2014
    Definitely a good buy! I ordered a medium size (weighs 115) and fits perfectly. The material dries quickly and soft to skin.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RamonaOnABike from France on Sunday, June 29, 2014
    Love merino everything, so of course I'll buy merino panties when they're on sale. They're so expensive, but worth it. Super soft, easy wash, dry fast. Great for bike touring (which is what I like to do).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yoga girl from Seattle on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    I got one pair of these underwear to try out and liked them so much bought two more. I wear them on hiking/biking trips and they dry quicker/smell better/are less irritating overall than cotton. But are super thin and comfortable (when I first thought of wool underwear it sounded like a terrible idea!). Not sure how long they will last but they are worth it as long as they do hold up.
  • Reviewed by Boston mom from Boston, MA on Monday, June 23, 2014
    I admit that I am picky about underpants. I do not think I should have to pick wedgies in public. These underpants, for any woman with anything other than a flat backside, are a guaranteed wedgie machine. I typically wear cotton bikinis, and ride-up is not a problem. Pantylines are not a usual worry for me. I am currently wearing these on a long trip through Italy (able to drip dry in the worst of conditions) and cannot WAIT to rip them off once I arrive stateside. The positives are that the fabric is great and they are comfortable in the 90 or so degree heat in Rome. The problem is that they are all but unwearable because of the wedgie situation. If you see an American in Italy with a major wedgie this summer, you'll know it's me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by La Peregrina from Asheville, NC on Monday, June 9, 2014
    Very comfortable material and fit. I have been using exofficio underwear on long (hot) hikes recently, but they somehow always trapped in sweat and odor. This product is the complete opposite- it's definitely breathable, odor resistant. It also dries quickly. I bought two more pair and have convinced friends to also invest. I cannot recommend enough!
  • Reviewed by Nomad from White Salmon, WA on Tuesday, June 3, 2014
    I agree with other reviewers that there is too little coverage in the back. I much prefer the fit of the Icebreaker hipkini, which is made of fine merino wool and doesn't ride up or show panty lines. These are going back.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sallie from Oregon on Wednesday, May 28, 2014
    The fabric and construction of these panties is very nice, however there is just too little fabric on the backside to cover the derriere to my liking. I wear size 2 pants and size 5 in department store undies and the size small in the smartwool bikini had about half as much coverage of my backside as I would like. I don't know whether sizing up to a medium would solve the problem but might be worth a try because of the overall quality otherwise.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cindy from WA on Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    They were very soft, dry and odor resistant as described. Wore during strenuous day of work and working out. Size seemed a little small for a medium. I wear size 8-10 pants and size 6-7 underwear and the M was a little small. Fit around no problem but the cut in the back was a little skimpy for me. Probably not a problem for most women. I still like them in spite of that, and would buy several more if they weren't so expensive.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by values comfort from California on Friday, April 18, 2014
    These panties are comfortable and cut just right.
  • Reviewed by SRobel from Colorado & Alaska on Thursday, April 3, 2014
    These are my first SmartWool undies and they won't be my last. Very comfortable and perfect fit. These will be great for hiking, camping, and overall adventuring!
  • Reviewed by silverrider@ureach.com from elmerbev1 on Thursday, March 27, 2014
    Bought these to go camping. Typically wear between a small and medium. Medium fit better.. went back and bought more.
    Light, easy to dry. Great panties for camping.
  • Reviewed by dollie from berkeley on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    i have owned 4 pairs of these, as i am a fiend for wool clothing. compared to Ibex's seamless wool underwear, these smartwools shredded at the seams after only a few uses. the fabric is so thin it doesn't really stay in place very well. but, as for the wool, completely itch-free, and they are cute looking. wool is great to wear if you are active . i am a professional landscaper and i feel dry and comfortable after a long day's work. wool is the BEST ! i hope smartwool keeps trying to perfect their underwear.
  • Reviewed by Elizabeth from Wolf Point on Tuesday, March 11, 2014
    So comfy, and easy for travel! I want more
  • Reviewed by monkeydevil from Connecticut on Monday, February 24, 2014
    I am a big SmartWool fan - I only wear their socks year-round - but this is the first time I've tried their underwear. I bought a pair to take on a week long ski trip and found it very comfortable. No itch and the fabric is is very light and sheer - takes up no space when packing! Can be hand-washed in a sink , rolled up in a towel then tossed over a shower rod and it is dry and ready to wear in the morning. Wish they had it in black; if they do offer it in the future I will be ordering. I am 5'5", 145lbs, 37-29-39 and ordered a medium and it fit perfectly.
  • Reviewed by Carly from Santa Fe, NM on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    Fits well. Bought them for winter activities but I think they will work well for summer time activities as well
  • Reviewed by frankie from Arkansas on Tuesday, February 11, 2014
    Pricey, but worth every cent. I have finally found a panty that is comfortable, doesn't show panty lines, and is breathable. I'm throwing all others away and investing in this essential piece.
  • Reviewed by pyxichick from Minnesota on Thursday, February 6, 2014
    The usual good quality of Smartwool products, however, their sizing seems inconsistent. I can wear a small in a skirt, with even a little room to spare, but a medium in the underwear or tights barely fits me. If you are between sizes, go larger in these.
  • Reviewed by MountainView from Boston, MA on Monday, January 27, 2014
    Very thin fabric, but oh so comfortable--they don't ride up, and I don't even feel that I have them on. I usually wear size 6 in regular panty sizes and the medium in these fit like a dream. If you wear a 5 or smaller in regular panty sizes, you should probably go with a small. Highly recommend.
  • Reviewed by C.C. the professor from South Carolina on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    I love these--they are really comfortable and sleek. The thing is, I don't wear a large in any other style of underwear. But the mediums were uncomfortably tight. So consider ordering a size up.
  • Reviewed by Spiderzak from Utah on Tuesday, January 14, 2014
    This underwear is very light weight and flimsy, did not hold up well and did not fit me well. I have other wool undies that I prefer for hiking/backpacking such as the Icebreaker Siren.
  • Reviewed by olivia from north carolina on Monday, January 13, 2014
    best underwear ever known to womankind. super soft, lightweight, feels like youre wearing nothing. wool, undyed so it feels even more natural and wont show under white clothes. true to size, im petite 4 and got a small, they are perfect. medium fits ok too just a little loose. high quality. at $12 a pop these are not only the best but also the best value.
  • Reviewed by wa customer from washington on Tuesday, January 7, 2014
    Finely constructed in merino wool, these are super comfortable. More elegant than some other merino wool alternatives, they fit well and don't have any excess bulk. Great product and a great buy if you can get them at a bit of a discount.
  • Reviewed by klwest from Chico on Saturday, December 21, 2013
    So far I have purchased 6 pairs of these. They fit great and do not tend to ride up. They do not leave 'panty lines' like most and are barely noticeable. I originally purchased these for hiking and they do not cause chafing but like them so much, I wear almost daily. They are not too high cut and do not tend to show in a low to mid rise jean (I hate when my undies show!). I am approx. a size 4 womens with a good sized tush :-) and the medium fit great.
  • Reviewed by 3dvizwiz from Boulder CO on Thursday, December 12, 2013
    I found this to fit all right (size-wise, at least), but the style didn't want to stay put. I went with the Icebreaker/RedRam boyshort instead, and returned these.
  • Reviewed by woodswoman from NC on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    Really nice! A little more low-cut than I usually buy (I usually like a higher-cut leg), but flattering and lightweight and comfortable.
  • Reviewed by Nurse in Virginia from Virginia on Tuesday, December 3, 2013
    These are as advertised - bikinis. I was hoping they would fit me more like hipsters.
    They are keepers for backpacking/hiking but not as everyday undies as I am more comfortable in the hipster style.
  • Reviewed by Yolo from Eugene OR on Monday, December 2, 2013
    These are wonderful for all that you might expect from wool underwear, comfortable, very breathable, and more odor resistant than other types of material. Be aware that they are very thin however. This makes the comfortable and light and breathable, but I expect them to last less time than my regular old cheapy cotton ones, which may be a consideration when paying this much for underwear. I plan to keep them for backpacking and longer-term trips only, versus everyday wear.
  • Reviewed by SeaGreenLove from Madison, Wisconsin on Tuesday, November 26, 2013
    I have another style of SmartWool underwear and it's held up very well for over a year now, so I thought I'd try these. I had to send back my first attempt because they were too small, but I ordered the next size up and they fit very nicely. I think SmartWool is so comfortable and the original pair had always become the go-to pair to grab as soon as they were through the wash, so I was happy to add another pair to the pile.
  • Reviewed by SeattleShopper from seattle, wa on Thursday, November 21, 2013
    fit well, soft. overdye wonderfully to a nice pink with fabric dye. note to smartwool, please make hipsters (about 4" on the side instead of 2") great product
  • Reviewed by MuchaKoda from Colorado Mtns. on Monday, November 18, 2013
    I usually wear a size L, so I ordered my regular size and they fit small, but I thought not so small that they were unusable. So, I washed them and hang-dried, and wore them again and then decided they were definitely too small for to wear under clothing for every day activities. Not tiny around the waist, but for me the seat of them is too narrow and they tend to ride up and generally don't stay put. I have the matching cami tank top for these, and I really like the top, but these undies don't fit as well. Now I just wear them to bed, since I wear the cami to bed also, so it's a matching pair lol. The material is very soft, but thin, and the beige is somewhat see-thru.

    Also this material really takes on color from the wash. Nothing else was affected in the load I recently did except these undies, they absorbed color and now they look tye-dye, so they definitely need to be in a light-colored load! Overall I'm not happy with them, but not hating them either, just wish they fit a bit better. Price was good tho.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 36 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.