SmartWool Outdoor Sport Socks - Merino Wool, Medium Cushion, Crew (For Women)

2nds. With enough cushion to accompany a serious hiking or backpacking boot and itch-free, temperature-regulating merino wool, SmartWool's Outdoor Sport socks are a cold-weather slam dunk.

Average Rating based on 71 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 3
  • 31-60 of 71 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kathy from Syracuse, NY on Sunday, November 04, 2012
    I have lots of SmartWool socks in different weights - these are great for everyday use in this cold fall weather (will see about deep winter later on) and around the house in slippers and shoes. They are not as bulky as some sock styles and the grey pattern is a versatile color. They are foot-hugging if that is important for an application. I wear them with a thin liner and they accommodate the liner in my normal size.
    • Best Uses: Cold Floors, Daily Use, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Versatile, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Winter wool fan from Chicago, IL on Tuesday, October 30, 2012
    I fold over the top band. The top is a little too snug for me if I don't fold it down.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by K4JHP from Nashville, TN on Monday, October 29, 2012
    Quick delivery
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Donna Dog from Wausau, WI on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    I like this hiking sock, but was really looking for a thin, dress sock of Smartwool that can be worn with heels, or mules, etc.
    • Best Uses: Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Regulates Temperature Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bean from CT on Tuesday, October 23, 2012
    Love these socks! Wish they were just a lttle bit taller on my leg.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Regulates Temperature Well, Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hiking Diane from Homebase Iowa, but all the world on Friday, October 19, 2012
    Smart wool socks are GREAT socks, especially for the active person. And purchased through Sierra they are a fantastic buy deal!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking, Running, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Durable, Good Design, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wildlife Watcher from Centennial, CO on Thursday, October 11, 2012
    I own these socks in a different color, so I knew what I was getting when I ordered. I've started needing better cushioning for foot comfort, and these socks are perfect! They would be bulky in close-fitting shoes, but they make my hiking shoes and boots infinitely more comfortable. I wore them in new hiking shoes while climbing Mt. Elbert recently and loved them. Moisture-wicking, non-itchy, highly recommended. Glad to find them at STP!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Stylish, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LP from Springfield,MO on Wednesday, October 10, 2012
    Returned; they felt too tight around the ankle and leg and were not comfortable
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Cons: Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MommaHelen from Gambier, OH on Tuesday, October 02, 2012
    I was looking for a sock that would keep me warm as I rode my recumbent bike to work in the winter. I trust SmartWool so was hopeful about these socks. They did well on the ride. By the end of the day at work, the top elastic was digging into my calf, the sock had slid down a little, and my feet were feeling hot and itchy. However, my feet weren't sweaty nor smelly--good wicking power. And they would probably work great hiking. They just won't work for my business day.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking, Mountaineering
    • Cons: Bulky, Bunches Up, Uncomfortable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by V from KCMO on Thursday, September 27, 2012
    These are the only socks I have worn for years. They are worth the money, and on Sierra Trading Post they are a great bargain.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by She Walks from Ann Arbor, MI on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    Love these socks! I've had a problem with past Smartwool socks wearing out, especially at the heels (or is it just that I am wearing them too much) so I hope these will last. Fingers crossed!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Suebean2 from Oregon on Wednesday, September 19, 2012
    I bought the charcoal gray. Lovely color, good length, with a pale aqua trim at the very top. Smartwool has on occasion not worn well for me. It remains to be seen how well these will wear.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking, Kayaking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Stylish, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sarah from Hydesville, CA on Tuesday, September 11, 2012
    SmartWool makes THE BEST socks out there, they tend to last for a very long time and these particular socks are plain great! You can never have enough SmartWool anything! :)
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Cycling, Daily Use, Hiking, Mountaineering, Running, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Stylish, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Boohoo from Cincinnati, OH on Tuesday, August 21, 2012
    Cushy, warm, great fit around large calves. Use for hiking, camping, or every day in winter. They don't itch (sometimes have reaction to wool).
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Monkey1 from Golden, CO on Saturday, June 16, 2012
    I prefer this brand over others for durability and ability to regulate temperature consistently, whether I'm in clogs or fashion boots. These heavier weight outdoor socks are no different. They keep my feet dry and very comfortable in my hiking boots, even in hot summer weather.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Regulates Temperature Well, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MiddMom from VT on Monday, June 04, 2012
    Comfortable
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Warm socks fan from Milwaukee, WI on Thursday, May 31, 2012
    After work I put these on. They make my feet feel great. They stay up and the wider band at the top keeps them secure without being tight on my legs. I love them!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Stylish, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bel from Australia on Wednesday, May 30, 2012
    Excellent warm durable socks
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking, Mountaineering
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by tonya from san diego, CA on Tuesday, May 29, 2012
    This was my first pair of Smartwool socks and it will not be my last. They are really the comfortable and well cushioned. I purchased a couple others for my upcoming trip to central america and I'll sure they will perform well. These socks did slide down my leg a little during the day, but not a big deal. I think these would make wonderful gifts but some of the other smartwool socks I purchased have "irregular" printed on them. It would be nice to know which item has the printing.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Regulates Temperature Well, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Urban Walker from San Francisco, CA on Tuesday, May 29, 2012
    I wear these socks a lot around the house and walking around town and parks. I am not a serious hiker. I find these socks a little bulky around the leg. I think it is because of the different thicknesses of different parts of the socks. The heels, toes, and legs are the thickest. The areas of the flower designs are very thin. The arch, back side of the ankle, and band around leg are an in between weight. I would prefer that the thickness around the leg was not there.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Hiking
    • Cons: Bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sea kayaker from Arizona on Thursday, May 24, 2012
    Nice fit!
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking, Mountaineering, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dressage girl from Northern Wisconsin on Thursday, May 03, 2012
    I love smatwool socks. I can wear them to work because the designs are lovely and yet they are warm and cozy.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Daily Use, Hiking, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Good Design, Stylish, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Catlop from Canberra, Australia on Tuesday, May 01, 2012
    Smart wool socks are the only ones that as advertised, keep you warm in those winter days.
    • Best Uses: Hiking, Travel
    • Cons: Wears Out Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Regulates Temperature Well, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ralphie's mom from Wilmington, DE on Monday, March 26, 2012
    As usual, smartwool makes amazing socks. They are the only sock I will wear and I have also convereted my mom, two brothers and husband into smartwool groupies.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Describe Yourself: Environmentalist
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Cushy, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Stylish, Warm, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lorac from Ypsilanti, MI on Saturday, November 26, 2011
    I love smartwool, but recently have found they are not holding up quite like they used to, but better than most. They are soft, comfortable and great color.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Cons: Wears Quickly
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Design, Stylish, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mommy2 from Maryland on Thursday, November 17, 2011
    The quality is excellent. They feel really nice and soft on my feet. They work best in colder weather.
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Stylish, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by karen from oregon on Wednesday, November 16, 2011
    These are excellent socks but a little bulkier than the SmartWool PhD. I recommend them however as all SmartWool socks are excellent.
    • Best Uses: Daily Use, Hiking, Team Sports, Travel
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Wicks Away Moisture
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Freezing feet from St. Paul, MN on Tuesday, March 01, 2011
    Smartwool socks are consistently fabulous, particularly in the brutal MN winter.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cold Feet No More from Grosse Pointe Park, MI on Sunday, February 27, 2011
    I love SmartWool except some of their designs are pretty garish. These are very tame which is a plus!
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by clydesmom from Indiana on Sunday, February 27, 2011
    Got these to wear in the winter. Have an old house that is a bit drafty - socks are quite toasty and very comfortable!
    • Best Uses: Daily Use
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Design, Regulates Temperature Well
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 3
  • 31-60 of 71 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.